gms | German Medical Science

25th Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

Short-term development of visual acuity after intensified therapy of retinal vein occlusions

Meeting Abstract

  • Anna Täumer - Klinik für Augenheilkunde des Rhön Klinikums Frankfurt/Oder
  • A.M. Hoang - Klinik für Augenheilkunde des Rhön Klinikums Frankfurt/Oder
  • A. Just - Klinik für Augenheilkunde des Rhön Klinikums Frankfurt/Oder
  • C. Wirbelauer - Klinik für Augenheilkunde des Rhön Klinikums Frankfurt/Oder

German Retina Society. 25th Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg02

doi: 10.3205/12rg02, urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg024

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2012/12rg02.shtml

Published: May 30, 2012

© 2012 Täumer et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Background: VEGF-inhibitors are succesfully used for the treatment of macular edema in various vascular diseases. In our clinical trial we estimated the efficacy of Bevacizumab as a VEGF-inhibitor in retinal vein occlusions with macular involvement.

Methods: 25 patients with retinal vein occlusion and resulting macular edema were involved in the study. All patients were treated with an intravitreal Avastin-injection plus an isovolemic hemodilution. 80% of the patients were medicated in addition with the platelet aggregation inhibitor ASS 100 and 44% with an highly dosed intravenous Prednisolon treatment for 3 days. After 4 to 6 weeks the patients were examined using OCT and fluorescein angiography.

Results: The averaged visual acuity increased statistically significantly from preoperative 0.13 to postoperative 0.20 (p=0.001). After 4 to 6 weeks visual acuity stabilised to 0.21 in average. After 6 postoperative weeks the OCT showed significant decrease of the central retinal thickness by 167 µm (32%) from preoperative averaged 520 µm to 353 µm (p=0.002).

Conclusion: After intravitreal Avastin-Injections in patients with macular edema after retinal vein occlusions a significant morphologic decrease in central retinal thickness could be shown. An initial increase in visual acuity could be seen directly after the intervention. Also after 6 weeks the increase in visual acuity was stabilised. On the long-term the development of macular edema must be further clinically observed.

gms | German Medical Science

25. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

01.06. - 02.06.2012, Münster

Kurzfristige Visusentwicklung nach intensivierter Therapie bei venösen Gefäßverschlüssen

Kongressabstract

Suche in Medline nach

  • Anna Täumer - Klinik für Augenheilkunde des Rhön Klinikums Frankfurt/Oder
  • A.M. Hoang - Klinik für Augenheilkunde des Rhön Klinikums Frankfurt/Oder
  • A. Just - Klinik für Augenheilkunde des Rhön Klinikums Frankfurt/Oder
  • C. Wirbelauer - Klinik für Augenheilkunde des Rhön Klinikums Frankfurt/Oder

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 25. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Münster, 01.-02.06.2012. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2012. Doc12rg02

doi: 10.3205/12rg02, urn:nbn:de:0183-12rg024

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2012/12rg02.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 30. Mai 2012

© 2012 Täumer et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: VEGF-Hemmer werden zur Therapie des Makulaödems unterschiedlicher vaskulärer Genese erfolgreich eingesetzt. In unserer klinischen Untersuchung wurde die Wirksamkeit des VEGF-Inhibitors Bevacizumab bei retinalem Venenverschluss mit Makulabeteiligung beurteilt.

Methoden: 25 Patienten mit einem venösen Verschluss und daraus resultierendem Makulaödem wurden untersucht. Bei allen Patienten wurden eine intravitreale Avastin-Injektion sowie eine isovolämische Hämodilution durchgeführt. 80% der Patienten erhielten zusätzlich einen Thrombozytenaggregationshemmer (ASS 100) und 44% eine dreitägige hochdosierte intravenöse Prednisolon-Gabe. Nach 4 bis 6 Wochen erfolgte die ambulante Wiedervorstellung mittels OCT- und FAG-Kontrolle.

Ergebnisse: Der durchschnittliche Visus stieg signifikant von präoperativ 0,13 auf postoperativ 0,20 (p=0,001). Nach 4 bis 6 Wochen zeigte sich der Visus stabil bei im Mittel 0,21. Die zentrale Netzhautdicke im OCT verringerte sich innerhalb der 6 postoperativen Wochen signifikant um 167 µm (32%) von präoperativ durchschnittlichen 520 µm auf 353 µm (p=0,002).

Schlussfolgerungen: Nach intravitrealer Injektion von Avastin bei Makulaödem nach venösen Verschlüssen zeigt sich eine deutliche morphologische Abnahme der zentralen Netzhautschichtdicke. Eine initiale Visusverbesserung war direkt postoperativ zu verzeichnen. Auch nach 6 Wochen zeigte sich diese Visusverbesserung stabil. Die Ödemsituation muss im weiteren Verlauf beurteilt werden.