gms | German Medical Science

24rd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

17.06. - 18.06.2011, Aachen

Transcorneal electrical stimulation for patients with retinitis pigmentosa – a randomized, partially-blinded, Sham-controlled pilot study

Meeting Abstract

  • Lubka Naycheva - Universitäts-Augenklinik Tübingen
  • A. Schatz - Universitäts-Augenklinik Tübingen
  • T. Röck - Universitäts-Augenklinik Tübingen
  • G. Willmann - Universitäts-Augenklinik Tübingen
  • K.U. Bartz-Schmidt - Universitäts-Augenklinik Tübingen
  • E. Zrenner - Universitäts-Augenklinik Tübingen
  • F. Gekeler - Universitäts-Augenklinik Tübingen

German Retina Society. 24th Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Aachen, 17.-18.06.2011. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2011. Doc11rg60

DOI: 10.3205/11rg60, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-11rg602

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2011/11rg60.shtml

Published: June 15, 2011

© 2011 Naycheva et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Background: Electrical stimulation using low currents was shown to be beneficial for various retinal degenerations in animal models and humans. Aim of this study was the assessment of efficacy of transcorneal electrical stimulation (TES) in patients suffering from retinitis pigmentosa (RP).

Methods: Twenty-four RP-patients in this prospective, randomized, partially blinded, good-clinical-practice conform study received TES (5+5 ms biphasic pulses; 20Hz; DTL electrodes) 30 minutes per week for 6 consecutive weeks. Patients were randomly assigned to one of three groups: sham, 66%, or 150% of individual electrical phosphene threshold (EPT). All 9 visits within 17 weeks included full ophthalmological examination (visual acuity, slit-lamp, funduscopy, intraocular pressure) and assessment of the individual EPT at 3Hz, 6Hz, 9Hz, 20Hz, 40Hz, 60Hz and 80Hz. During 4 visits (1st, 5th , 9th and 17th week) visual field (VF; kinetic, static) and electroretinography (Ganzfeld, multifocal) measurements were completed additionally.

Results: TES was well tolerated. Two patients reported foreign body sensation, no other side effects were observed. Statistically significant improvements of kinetic VF area (P<0.001) and of the scotopic b-wave amplitude (P<0.027) was shown in the 150%-group. Other parameters in the 150%-group exhibited a positive tendency, however not reaching significant values. No changes were observed in the 66%-group.

Conclusions: We found TES in RP patients to be safe. After 6 sessions TES at 150% EPT significant improvements of kinetic VF area and scotopic b-wave amplitude were found. Future studies including larger sample sizes and longer duration are needed to confirm findings and to define optimal stimulation parameters.

gms | German Medical Science

24. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

17.06. - 18.06.2011, Aachen

Transkorneale Elektrostimulation für Patienten mit Retinitis pigmentosa – eine randomisierte, verblindete, Sham-kontrollierte Pilotstudie

Kongressabstract

  • Lubka Naycheva - Universitäts-Augenklinik Tübingen
  • A. Schatz - Universitäts-Augenklinik Tübingen
  • T. Röck - Universitäts-Augenklinik Tübingen
  • G. Willmann - Universitäts-Augenklinik Tübingen
  • K.U. Bartz-Schmidt - Universitäts-Augenklinik Tübingen
  • E. Zrenner - Universitäts-Augenklinik Tübingen
  • F. Gekeler - Universitäts-Augenklinik Tübingen

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 24. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Aachen, 17.-18.06.2011. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2011. Doc11rg60

DOI: 10.3205/11rg60, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-11rg602

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2011/11rg60.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 15. Juni 2011

© 2011 Naycheva et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Stimulation mit niedrigen elektrischen Strömen hat nachgewiesenermaßen einen positiven therapeutischen Effekt bei zahlreichen Degenerationen im Tiermodell als auch beim Menschen. Ziel dieser Studie war, die Wirkung transkornealer Elektrostimulation (TES) bei Patienten mit Retinitis pigmentosa (RP) zu erfassen.

Methoden: 24 Patienten mit RP erhielten in dieser prospektiven, randomisierten, verblindeten, nach Good Clinical Practice durchgeführten Studie TES (5+5 ms biphasische Pulse, 20Hz; DTL-Elektroden) für 30 Minuten einmal wöchentlich in 6 aufeinanderfolgenden Wochen. Die Patienten wurden in 3 Gruppen nach individueller Phosphenschwelle bei 20Hz (66%, 150% oder 0 mA) aufgeteilt. Alle 9 Visiten innerhalb 17 Wochen beinhalteten eine ophthalmologische Untersuchung (Visus, Spaltlampe, Funduskopie, Augeninnendruckmessung) und eine Bestimmung der individuellen Phosphenschwelle bei 3Hz, 6Hz, 9Hz, 20Hz, 40Hz, 60Hz und 80 Hz. Bei 4 Visiten (1., 5., 9. und 17.Woche) erfolgten kinetische und statische Perimetrie sowie Ganzfeld- und multifokal - Elektroretinographie.

Ergebnisse: TES wurde hervorragend toleriert. Zwei Patienten berichteten über Fremdkörpergefühl, ansonsten wurden keine Nebenwirkungen beobachtet. In der 150%-stimulierten Gruppe wurden statistisch signifikante Verbesserungen der Fläche der kinetischen Perimetrie (P<0.001) sowie der Amplitude der skotopischen b-Welle (P<0.027) festgestellt. Andere Parameter in der 150%-Gruppe zeigten Tendenzen zur Verbesserung ohne Signifikanz-Niveau. In der 66%-stimulierten Gruppe wurden keine Veränderungen festgestellt.

Schlussfolgerungen: TES bei Patienten mit RP ist sicher. Nach 6-maliger Stimulation mit 150% der individuellen Phosphenschwelle wurden signifikante Verbesserungen der Fläche der kinetischen Perimetrie sowie der Amplituden der skotopischen b-Welle festgestellt. Zukünftige Studien mit größeren Patientenzahlen und längerer Dauer sollen die Stimulationsparameter optimieren und weitere Effekte klären.