gms | German Medical Science

24th Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

17.06. - 18.06.2011, Aachen

Efficient and stable PEDF gene delivery into primary pigment epithelial cells mediated by the Sleeping Beauty Transposition

Meeting Abstract

  • Sandra Johnen - IZKF der RWTH Aachen
  • Z. Izsvak - Max-Delbrück-Centrum für Molekulare Medizin, Berlin
  • P. Walter - Universitäts-Augenklinik der RWTH Aachen
  • G. Thumann - IZKF der RWTH Aachen; Universitäts-Augenklinik der RWTH Aachen

German Retina Society. 24th Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Aachen, 17.-18.06.2011. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2011. Doc11rg59

doi: 10.3205/11rg59, urn:nbn:de:0183-11rg592

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2011/11rg59.shtml

Published: June 15, 2011

© 2011 Johnen et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Purpose: The treatment of retinal degenerations using subretinal pigment epithelial cell transplantation has resulted in very limited success. One reason may be that the transplanted cells did not secrete necessary factors to maintain a healthy environment. Here, we detail a protocol for the efficient and stable transfection of primary pigment epithelial cells with pigment epithelium-derived factor (PEDF) using the hyperactive Sleeping Beauty (SB100X) transposon system. Transplantation of these cells would engender an anti-angiogenic and neuroprotective subretinal microenvironment.

Methods: Using electroporation, ARPE-19 and primary pigment epithelial cells were transfected with a control or a PEDF encoding plasmid, controlled either by a CMV or a CAG promoter. Transfection efficiency and protein expression stability were evaluated by flow cytometry and Western blot analysis.

Results: SB100X-based gene delivery resulted in efficiencies of 100% with the control and 40% with the PEDF encoding plasmid. Subsequent sorting enabled establishment of populations containing 99% PEDF-transfected cells. PEDF secretion was maintained in all cell types for the 8 months the cells have been followed. However, PEDF secretion was higher under the control of the CMV than the CAG promoter.

Conclusions: We have shown that SB100X-mediated gene transfer ensured the stable expression and continuous secretion of PEDF in primary pigment epithelial cells. Transfection with the SB100X system results in the transgene integration into the host cell’s genome without potential complications of retroviral mediated gene delivery and is therefore an important step in the development of a cell-based, non-viral gene addition therapy for retinal degenerative diseases.

gms | German Medical Science

24. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

17.06. - 18.06.2011, Aachen

Effizienter und Stabiler PEDF Gentransfer in primäre Pigmentepithelzellen mittels Sleeping Beauty Transposition

Kongressabstract

Suche in Medline nach

  • Sandra Johnen - IZKF der RWTH Aachen
  • Z. Izsvak - Max-Delbrück-Centrum für Molekulare Medizin, Berlin
  • P. Walter - Universitäts-Augenklinik der RWTH Aachen
  • G. Thumann - IZKF der RWTH Aachen; Universitäts-Augenklinik der RWTH Aachen

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 24. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Aachen, 17.-18.06.2011. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2011. Doc11rg59

doi: 10.3205/11rg59, urn:nbn:de:0183-11rg592

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2011/11rg59.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 15. Juni 2011

© 2011 Johnen et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Die subretinale Transplantation von Pigmentepithelzellen zur Behandlung degenerativer Netzhauterkrankungen erzielte keine funktionelle Verbesserung. Ein möglicher Erklärungsansatz besteht darin, dass die transplantierten Zellen zu geringe Konzentrationen entsprechender Wachstumsfaktoren sezernieren, die für den Erhalt einer gesunden Umgebung wichtig sind. Aus diesem Grund haben wir den nicht-viralen Transfer des anti-angiogen und neurotroph wirkenden Faktors PEDF entwickelt, wobei das PEDF Gen mit Hilfe des hyperaktiven Sleeping Beauty (SB100X) Transposonsystems, das eine effiziente und stabile Insertion ermöglicht, in primäre Pigmentepithelzellen eingebracht wurde.

Methoden: Mittels Elektroporation wurden ARPE-19 und primäre Pigmentepithelzellen mit einem Kontroll- oder einem PEDF-kodierenden Plasmid transfiziert, die entweder unter der Kontrolle eines CMV oder CAG Promotors standen. Die Transfektionseffizienz und die Stabilität der Proteinexpression wurden mittels Durchflusszytometrie und durch Immunoblots nachgewiesen.

Ergebnisse: Die SB100X-basierte Transposition resultierte in Effizienzen von 100% mit dem Kontrollplasmid und 40% mit dem PEDF-kodierenden Plasmid. Die nachfolgende Sortierung der PEDF-transfizierten Zellen ermöglichte die Etablierung von annähernd reinen Population positiver Zellen. In allen Zelltypen wird die PEDF Sezernierung bis zum jetzigen Zeitpunkt für 8 Monate gehalten; jedoch resultierte die CAG-kontrollierte Expression in einer niedrigeren PEDF Sezernierung als die des entsprechenden CMV-kontrollierten Plasmids.

Schlussfolgerungen: Mit Hilfe des SB100X Systems konnte der bislang limitierte nicht-virale Transfer für den gentherapeutischen Einsatz verbessert werden. Wir haben gezeigt, dass der SB100X-basierte Gentransfer die stabile Expression und kontinuierliche PEDF Sezernierung in Primärpigmentepithelzellen gewährleistet. Diese, im Gegensatz zum retroviralen Gentransfer, komplikationsfreie Transgenintegration ins Zellgenom ist ein wichtiger Schritt für die Entwicklung einer zellbasierten, nicht-viralen Genadditionstherapie zur Behandlung degenerativer Netzhauterkrankungen.