gms | German Medical Science

24rd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

17.06. - 18.06.2011, Aachen

Retinal debate: Is bevacizumab superior to laser coagulation in retinopathy of preamturity? – The CONs

Meeting Abstract

Search Medline for

  • Andreas Stahl - Universitäts-Augenklinik Freiburg
  • W. Lagrèze - Universitäts-Augenklinik Freiburg
  • H. Agostini - Universitäts-Augenklinik Freiburg

German Retina Society. 24th Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Aachen, 17.-18.06.2011. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2011. Doc11rg57

DOI: 10.3205/11rg57, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-11rg577

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2011/11rg57.shtml

Published: June 15, 2011

© 2011 Stahl et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Background: Despite improved screening and treatment, retinopathy of prematurity (ROP) still represents one of the main reasons for acquired vision loss in children. It is thus imperative to further refine existing treatment protocols and explore new therapeutic approaches. In particular intravitreal VEGF inhibition has recently received growing attention.

Methods: The pathomechanistic principle of anti-VEGF treatment in ROP is investigated in the mouse model of oxygen-induced retinopathy (OIR) with regard to its effects on both retinal vessels as well as the developing neuronal tissue. The available clinical studies on VEGF-inhibtion in ROP are critically reviewed with regard to both treatment outcome and side effects.

Results: Intravitreal anti-VEGF treatment attenuates proliferative retinopathy both in animal models and human patients. The first clinical studies on anti-VEGF therapy in ROP are encouraging. However, based on the largest trial to date, the BEAT-ROP study, anti-VEGF treatment is superior to laser treatment only in cases of ROP stage 3+ zone I. Very little is known on the potential longterm side effects of VEGF inhibition in a developing eye.

Conclusion: VEGF inhibition in the proliferative stages of ROP is a pathomechanistically sensible concept. The question of possible longterm side effects, however, has not been addressed sufficiently. A possible superiority over laser treatment has only been found for defined stages and zones of ROP. Panretinal laser coagulation in conjunction with tight screening protocols thus still forms the foundation of ROP management. Pharmacological approaches, however, have the potential to develop into sensible treatment alternatives for select ROP patients.

gms | German Medical Science

24. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

17.06. - 18.06.2011, Aachen

Debatte zu neuen Therapieansätzen bei Frühgeborenenretinopathie: Ist Bevacizumab der Laserkoagulation überlegen? – Argumente CONTRA

Kongressabstract

Suche in Medline nach

  • Andreas Stahl - Universitäts-Augenklinik Freiburg
  • W. Lagrèze - Universitäts-Augenklinik Freiburg
  • H. Agostini - Universitäts-Augenklinik Freiburg

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 24. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Aachen, 17.-18.06.2011. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2011. Doc11rg57

doi: 10.3205/11rg57, urn:nbn:de:0183-11rg577

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2011/11rg57.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 15. Juni 2011

© 2011 Stahl et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Die Frühgeborenenretinopathie (ROP) stellt trotz intensiven screenings und verbesserter Behandlungsmethoden immer noch eine der wesentlichen Ursachen schwerer Sehminderung im Kindesalter dar. Es besteht daher die Notwendigkeit, bestehende Therapieansätze weiterzuentwickeln und neue Therapieoptionen zu prüfen. In den letzten Jahren rückten hierbei zunehmend pharmakologische Behandlungsansätze, vor allem die intravitreale Inhibition von VEGF, in den Vordergrund.

Methoden: Die pathomechanistischen Grundlagen einer VEGF-Inhibition bei ROP werden anhand des Mausmodells der sauerstoff-induzierten Retinopathie untersucht. In diesem Zusammenhang werden auch Nebenwirkungen einer VEGF-Inhibition auf das sich entwickelnde neuronale Gewebe der Netzhaut beleuchtet. Die derzeit verfügbaren Kasuistiken und klinischen Fallserien zur VEGF-Inhibition bei ROP werden kritisch bezüglich Behandlungseffekt und aufgetretener Nebenwirkungen ausgewertet.

Ergebnisse: VEGF-Inhibition induziert sowohl im Tiermodell als auch beim Menschen einen schnellen Rückgang proliferativer Netzhautveränderungen. Die ersten Fallserien zur intravitrealen anti-VEGF Therapie sind ermutigend, allerdings besteht derzeit basierend auf den Ergebnissen der BEAT-ROP Studie nur für ROP Grad 3+ in Zone I ein ausreichendes Evidenzniveau bezüglich einer möglichen Überlegenheit der Bevacizumabtherapie gegenüber Laserkoagulation. Derzeit bestehen noch wenig Erkenntnisse über potentielle Nebenwirkungen sowie mögliche Langzeitfolgen einer anti-VEGF Therapie.

Schlussfolgerung: VEGF-Inhibition bei ROP beruht auf einem pathomechanistisch sinnvollen Konzept. Allerdings ist die Frage nach Nebenwirkungen einer VEGF-Inhibition in einem sich entwickelnden Auge noch nicht in Langzeituntersuchungen geklärt. Eine Überlegenheit gegenüber Laserkoagulation scheint nur in bestimmten Stadien und Zonen der ROP gegeben zu sein. Die panretinale Laserkoagulation stellt daher weiterhin gemeinsam mit einem verbindlich festgelegten Screeningverfahren die wichtigste Säule im Management der Frühgeborenenretinopahtie dar. Pharmakologische Ansätze haben aber das Potential in bestimmten Fällen erfolgsversprechende Therapiealternativen zu werden.