gms | German Medical Science

24rd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

17.06. - 18.06.2011, Aachen

Improved revascularization of avascular retina through modulation of retinal semaphorin

Meeting Abstract

  • Anima Bühler - Universitäts-Augenklinik Freiburg
  • N. Sittaras - University of Montreal, Kanada
  • J.S. Joyal - Harvard Medical School, Boston, USA
  • G. Martin - Universitäts-Augenklinik Freiburg
  • S. Chemtob - University of Montreal, Kanada
  • M. Klagsbrun - Harvard Medical School, Boston, USA
  • L.E.H. Smith - Harvard Medical School, Boston, USA
  • H. Agostini - Universitäts-Augenklinik Freiburg
  • P. Sapieha - University of Montreal, Kanada
  • A. Stahl - Universitäts-Augenklinik Freiburg

German Retina Society. 24th Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Aachen, 17.-18.06.2011. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2011. Doc11rg53

DOI: 10.3205/11rg53, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-11rg538

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2011/11rg53.shtml

Published: June 15, 2011

© 2011 Bühler et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Background: Proliferative retinopathies such as retinopathy of prematurity (ROP) and diabetic retinopathy (DR) are leading causes for acquired blindness in children and middle aged patients. Beyond the age of 65, age related macular degeneration (AMD) represents a major cause for severe vision loss. In all three entities, the angiorepulsive effect of semaphorins may have important angiomodulatory functions.

Methods: Semaphorin expression was analyzed in murine retina during normal development as well as oxygen-induced retinopathy (OIR) using laser-capture microdissection and qPCR. Results were confirmed using Western Blot and immunohistochemistry. Functional experiments were carried out using an in vitro model of endothelial sprouting angiogenesis as well as lentiviral, shRNA-mediated knockdown of semaphorins in the OIR mouse model.

Results: Semaphorins were found to display differential expression patterns in murine retina. Sema3A is primarily expressed in retinal ganglion cells and is significantly upregulated during retinal hypoxia. In vitro, semaphorins potently inhibit endothelial sprouting angiogenesis. Lentiviral knockdown of angiorepulsive Sema3A in the OIR model significantly improves retinal revascularization of avascular retinal areas, thus reducing the severity of subsequent proliferative retinopathy.

Conclusion: Semaphorins appear to have important angiomodulatory roles in neovascular eye disease. During proliferative retinopathy, Sema3A exerts angiorepulsive effects that prevent an efficient revascularization of avascular retina. Modulation of semaphorins may thus potentially be used to improve revascularization of avascular retina, an approach upstream of current anti-VEGF therapies which target the subsequent proliferative changes.

gms | German Medical Science

24. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

17.06. - 18.06.2011, Aachen

Beschleunigte Revaskularisierung avaskulärer Netzhaut durch Modulation retinaler Semaphorinexpression

Kongressabstract

  • Anima Bühler - Universitäts-Augenklinik Freiburg
  • N. Sittaras - University of Montreal, Kanada
  • J.S. Joyal - Harvard Medical School, Boston, USA
  • G. Martin - Universitäts-Augenklinik Freiburg
  • S. Chemtob - University of Montreal, Kanada
  • M. Klagsbrun - Harvard Medical School, Boston, USA
  • L.E.H. Smith - Harvard Medical School, Boston, USA
  • H. Agostini - Universitäts-Augenklinik Freiburg
  • P. Sapieha - University of Montreal, Kanada
  • A. Stahl - Universitäts-Augenklinik Freiburg

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 24. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Aachen, 17.-18.06.2011. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2011. Doc11rg53

doi: 10.3205/11rg53, urn:nbn:de:0183-11rg538

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2011/11rg53.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 15. Juni 2011

© 2011 Bühler et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Proliferative Retinopathien wie Frühgeborenenretinopathie und diabetische Retinopathie sind wichtige Ursachen massiver Sehverschlechterung bei Kindern und Menschen mittleren Lebensalters. Jenseits des 65. Lebensjahres stellt die altersabhängige Makuladegeneration (AMD) eine Hauptursache für schweren Sehverlust dar. Bei allen drei Erkrankungen könnte der angiorepulsive Effekt der Semaphorine eine pathomechanistisch wichtige Rolle spielen.

Methoden: Sowohl während physiologischer Entwicklung als auch im Mausmodell der sauerstoff-induzierten Retinopathie (oxygen-induced retinopathy; OIR) wurde die retinale Expression verschiedener Semaphorine mittels Laser-capture Mikrodissektion und qPCR untersucht. Die Ergebnisse wurden mittels Western-Blot und immunhistochemischer Färbung überprüft. Funktionelle Experimente wurden in einem in vitro Angiogenesemodell als auch mittels lentiviral vermitteltem knockdown von Semaphorinen im OIR Mausmodell durchgeführt.

Ergebnisse: Unterschiedliche Semaphorine zeigen verschiedene Expressionsmuster in der murinen Netzhaut. Sema3A wird hauptsächlich in der Ganglienzellschicht exprimiert und zeigt eine starke Heraufregulation in Phasen retinaler Hypoxie. In vitro zeigen Semaphorine einen stark anti-angiogenen Effekt. Lentiviraler knockdown des angiorepulsiven Sema3A im OIR Mausmodell bewirkt eine deutlich verbesserte Revaskularisierung avaskulärer Netzhautareale und vermindert so die sekundär auftretende, hypoxiegetriebene Ausbildung präretinaler Proliferationen.

Schlussfolgerung: Semaphorine könnten eine wichtige pathomechanistische Rolle bei der Entstehung angioproliferativer Augenerkrankungen spielen. Im OIR Mausmodell übt Sema3A einen stark angiorepulsiven Effekt aus, der eine effektive Revaskularisierung avaskulärer Netzhautareale verhindert. Eine Modulation dieser Semaphorinwirkung könnte möglicherweise genutzt werden, um eine verbesserte Reavaskularisierung avaskulärer Netzhaut zu erreichen. Dieser Behandlungsansatz würde upstream der derzeit verfügbaren anti-VEGF Therapien ansetzen, welche erst wirksam werden können, wenn bereits hypoxiebedingte Veränderungen vorliegen.