gms | German Medical Science

24rd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

17.06. - 18.06.2011, Aachen

Variant retinal phenotyps in murine models of neuronal ceroid lipofuszinose

Meeting Abstract

  • R. Michael Dutescu - Augenklinik der Charité, CVK, Berlin
  • I. Semkova - Augenklinik der Charité, CVK, Berlin
  • N. Kociok - Augenklinik der Charité, CVK, Berlin
  • A.M. Joussen - Augenklinik der Charité, CVK, Berlin

German Retina Society. 24th Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Aachen, 17.-18.06.2011. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2011. Doc11rg21

DOI: 10.3205/11rg21, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-11rg219

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2011/11rg21.shtml

Published: June 15, 2011

© 2011 Dutescu et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Background: Neuronal Ceroid Lipofuscinosis (NCL) is a group of severe inherited neurodegenerative disorders. Causative mutations in nine different genes have been described (CLN1–9) while their functions so far remain unclear. Visual disturbance is typically the first clinical sign characterized by lysosomal lipofuscin-like intracellular inclusions with subsequent neurodegeneration. The aim of this study was to determine whether signs of disease are accompanied by inflammatory and retino-vascular changes in different animal models.

Methods: Mouse models harbouring mutations of the CLN1, NCL3 and NCL6-gene with background genotype mice were raised. Fluorescein-angiograms were recorded before eyes were embedded in paraffin for histology. Histopathological features were demonstrated by periodic shift staining of different immunhistochemical markers (GFAP, CD 31, Amyloid β, Isolectin IB4).

Results: In CLN1 and CLN6 mice presence of PAS positiv inclusions are shown in retinal cell layers. Retinovascular occlusions are demonstrated in flat mounted retinas of CLN6 mice stained with Isolecitin-B4. Angiography revealed mild hypofluorescent retinas of CLN 1 and CLN 3 mice while angiograms of CKN 6 mice showed a pronounced vascular hypofluorescence.

Discussion: Murine models of NCL show a variant retinal pathology with a mutation dependent vascular pathology, retinal neurodegeneration and gliosis. Futher phenotyping of these murine models could provide a better understanding of CLN-gene related retinal function and vascular structure.

gms | German Medical Science

24. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

17.06. - 18.06.2011, Aachen

Variationen des retinalen Phänotyps in Modellen der neuronalen Zeroidlipofuszinose

Kongressabstract

  • R. Michael Dutescu - Augenklinik der Charité, CVK, Berlin
  • I. Semkova - Augenklinik der Charité, CVK, Berlin
  • N. Kociok - Augenklinik der Charité, CVK, Berlin
  • A.M. Joussen - Augenklinik der Charité, CVK, Berlin

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 24. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Aachen, 17.-18.06.2011. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2011. Doc11rg21

DOI: 10.3205/11rg21, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-11rg219

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2011/11rg21.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 15. Juni 2011

© 2011 Dutescu et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Die Neuronale Zeroidlipofuszinose (NCL) ist eine Gruppe von schweren erblichen neurodegenerativen Erkrankungen. Zugrundeliegende Mutationen in neun verschiedenen Genen (CLN1–9) wurden beschrieben, wobei letztlich wenig über deren Funktion bekannt ist. Eine meist im Frühstadium der Erkrankung auftretende Retinopathie ist durch lipofuszinartige, intrazelluläre Einschlüsse mit einhergehender Neurodegeneration gekennzeichnet. Hier soll nun geklärt werden, inwieweit auch inflammatorische und retinovaskuläre Veränderungen in unterschiedlichen Krankheitsmodellen vorliegen.

Methoden: Mausmodelle mit bekannten Mutationen der Neuronalen Zeroidlipofuszinose, CLN1, NCL3, NCL6 und jeweilige Wildtyp-Hintergrundmäuse wurden gezüchtet. Fluoreszein-Angiographien wurden erstellt. Paraffin fixierte Augen sind für histologische Untersuchungen herangezogen worden. Neben PAS-Färbungen dienten immunhistochemische Färbungen (GFAP, CD 31, Amyloid β, Isolectin IB4) der Charakterisierung retinaler Strukturen.

Ergebnisse: CLN1 und CLN6 Mäuse zeigen eine Anreicherung von PAS-positivem Material in retinalen Zellschichten. Mittels Isolecitin-4 Endothelzell- Färbung zeigt sich eine Okklusion der Kapillaren im CLN6-Modell bei regelrechtem Endothel der CLN-1 und CLN3 Modelle. Angiographisch stellt sich eine milde vaskuläre Hypofluoreszenz der Gefäße in CLN-1 und CLN3 Mausmodellen bei ausgeprägter Hypofluoresenz in CLN6-Mäusen dar.

Schlussfolgerungen: Die untersuchten Mausmodelle zeigen eine mutationsabhängige, retinale Pathologie mit teils ausgeprägten vaskulären Veränderungen, retinaler Neurodegeneration und Gliose. Eine weitere Phänotypisierung dieser Mausmodelle könnte uns ein besseres Verständnis der Rolle der CLN-Gene für die Netzhautfunktion und Gefäßstruktur erbringen.