gms | German Medical Science

24th Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

17.06. - 18.06.2011, Aachen

Ranibizumab (Lucentis®) as adjuvant for rubeosis and neovascular glaucoma

Meeting Abstract

Search Medline for

  • Matthias Lüke - Universitäts-Augenklinik Schleswig-Holstein, Lübeck
  • S. Grisanti - Universitäts-Augenklinik Schleswig-Holstein, Lübeck
  • J. Lüke - Universitäts-Augenklinik Schleswig-Holstein, Lübeck

German Retina Society. 24th Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Aachen, 17.-18.06.2011. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2011. Doc11rg18

doi: 10.3205/11rg18, urn:nbn:de:0183-11rg182

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2011/11rg18.shtml

Published: June 15, 2011

© 2011 Lüke et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Purpose: To evaluate prospectively the effect of intraocular ranibizumab (Lucentis®) as adjuvant treatment in patients with rubeosis (R) and secondary neovascular glaucoma (NG).

Methods: Ten eyes with NG and 10 eyes with rubeosis due to proliferative diabetic retinopathy (n=9) and ischemic central retinal vein occlusion (n=11) were treated with adjuvant Lucentis® injections (0.5 mg/0.05 ml). The main outcome measure was the change in degree of rubeosis at the 12 months follow-up (FU). Secondary outcomes included intraocular pressure (IOP), best corrected visual acuity (BCVA), numbers of additional interventions or antiglaucoma medications, the gonioscopical status of the anterior chamber angle and safety.

Results: In the R-group 3.6 injections (mean) and in the NG-group 2.5 injections of Lucentis® were administered. Additional treatments were photocoagulation (n=18 eyes), cyclodestructive procedures (n=9), cryopexy (n=3), and vitrectomy (n=1). A significant reduction of rubeosis was evident in both groups. The mean stage of rubeosis was 3.3±0.7 in the R-group and 3.56±0.88 in the NG-group at baseline and decreased significantly to 0.22±0.44 (R-group) and 0.89±1.17 (NG-group) after 9 months (p<0.05), respectively. In the NG-group the mean IOP was 42.1±14.0 mmHg at baseline which decreased rapidly (18.4±13.0 mmHg at day 14, p<0.05). At month-9 mean IOP was 13.8±4.9 mmHg (p<0.05). BCVA of this group (1.69, logMAR) was non-significantly improved accounting for 1.4 (logMAR) at month-9 (p>0.05). In the R-group no significant change of IOP was observed (p>0.05). Mean baseline BCVA (0.83, logMAR) was significantly improved after 6 months (0.63, logMAR) and was stabilized at this level (p<0.05).

Conclusions: Lucentis® is beneficial as adjuvant treatment in neovascular glaucoma and rubeosis due to ist anti-angiogenic properties and ist ability to prevent progression/establishment of angular obstruction.

gms | German Medical Science

24. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

17.06. - 18.06.2011, Aachen

Ranibizumab (Lucentis®) als Adjuvans in der Behandlung der Rubeosis iridis und des Neovaskularisationsglaukoms

Kongressabstract

Suche in Medline nach

  • Matthias Lüke - Universitäts-Augenklinik Schleswig-Holstein, Lübeck
  • S. Grisanti - Universitäts-Augenklinik Schleswig-Holstein, Lübeck
  • J. Lüke - Universitäts-Augenklinik Schleswig-Holstein, Lübeck

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 24. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Aachen, 17.-18.06.2011. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2011. Doc11rg18

DOI: 10.3205/11rg18, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-11rg182

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2011/11rg18.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 15. Juni 2011

© 2011 Lüke et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Um die Effekte von intraokularem Ranibizumab (Lucentis®) als adjuvante Behandlung bei an Rubeosis iridis (R) bzw. an sekundärem Neovaskularisationsglaukom (NG) erkrankten Patienten prospektiv zu beurteilen.

Methoden: 10 Augen mit NG und 10 Augen mit R, welche durch eine proliferative diabetische Retinopathie (n=9) oder eine ischämische Zentralvenenthrombose (n=11) verursacht waren, wurden mit adjuvanten Injektionen mit Lucentis® (0,5 mg/0,05 ml) behandelt. Primärer Endpunkt war die Veränderung der R nach einem Jahr follow-up (FU). Sekundäre Endpunkte beinhalteten die Entwicklung des intraokularen Druckes (IOP), die bestkorrigierte Sehschärfe (BCVA), die Anzahl zusätzlicher Behandlungen oder Antiglaukomatosa, der gonioskopische Status des Kammerwinkels sowie die Medikamentensicherheit.

Ergebnisse: In der R-Gruppe waren im Durchschnitt 3,6 Injektionen sowie in der NG-Gruppe 2,5 Injektionen erforderlich. Zusätzliche Behandlungen waren die Photokoagulation (n=18), zyklodestruktive Eingriffe (n=9), Kryopexie (n=3) und eine Vitrektomie (n=1). Eine signifikante Abnahme der R konnte in beiden Gruppen gefunden werden. Dabei nahm die Schwere der R von 3,3±0,7 in der R-Gruppe bzw. 3,56±0,88 in der NG-Gruppe signifikant nach 9 Monaten (p<0.05) ab auf 0,22±0,44 (R-Gruppe) und 0,89±1,17 (NG-Gruppe). In der NG-Gruppe nahm der durchschnittliche IOP von 42,1±14,0 mmHg zügig ab (18,4±13,0 mmHg nach 14 Tagen, p<0.05), wobei nach 9 Monaten dieser auf 13,8±4,9 mmHg (p<0.05) fiel. Der BCVA der NG-Gruppe (initial 1,69, logMAR) war nicht signifikant verbessert (1,4, logMAR) nach 9 Monaten (p>0.05). In der R-Gruppe zeigte sich der IOP unverändert (p>0.05). Der BCVA (0,83, logMAR) war signifikant verbessert nach 6 Monaten (0,63, logMAR) und stabilisierte sich auf diesem Niveau (p<0.05).

Schlussfolgerungen: Lucentis® erwies sich in der adjuvanten Behandlung des NG und R infolge seiner antiangiogenen Eigenschaften als effektiv und konnte eine Progression bzw. die Entstehung einer Kammerwinkelobstruktion verhindern.