gms | German Medical Science

24th Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

17.06. - 18.06.2011, Aachen

Therapy for pediatric rhegmatogenous retinal detachment: Is there room for improvement?

Meeting Abstract

Search Medline for

  • Silvia Bopp - Augenklinik Universitätsallee, Bremen
  • A. Schüler - Augenklinik Universitätsallee, Bremen
  • K. Lucke - Augenklinik Universitätsallee, Bremen

German Retina Society. 24th Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Aachen, 17.-18.06.2011. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2011. Doc11rg16

doi: 10.3205/11rg16, urn:nbn:de:0183-11rg164

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2011/11rg16.shtml

Published: June 15, 2011

© 2011 Bopp et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Background: To show current data on the etiology, treatment and surgical outcomes of rhegmatogenous retinal detachment (RRD) in children and adolescents (up to 18 years) and to highlight the specific features that are different from adult RRD.

Methods/patients: Retrospective chart review of 55 eyes (50 patients) with rhegmatogenous retinal detachment (RRD) between 2000 and 2010.

Results:

1.
Only 10 eyes showed RRD without any identifiable risk factor (idiopathic). The remainder 82% had either ocular risk factors (ocular trauma, myopia, lattice degeneration, history of ROP, previous lens surgery), ocular developmental anomalies (Wagner syndrome, anterior PFS, coloboma) or systemic risk factors (Marfan and Down syndrome, Down, autism). Almost half of the eyes had more than one disposing factor.
2.
At initial presentation, 16,4% had already advanced PVR. Major hole types were ora dialysis (29%), atrophic hole (25%) and giant tear (9%). In 19% no causative retinal defect could be identified, especially in eyes with long-standing RRD and PVR.
3.
Dependent on the clinical situation, 72% of eyes with RRD/no PVR had buckling surgery and 28% had primarily vitreous surgery. All eyes with PVR underwent vitrectomy/silicone oil tamponade. Primary success rates of the subgroups were 70%, 15.4% and 33%, respectively, final success 100%, 92% and 75%. In 6 eyes with primary or secondary silicone oil tamponade, the tamponade agent stayed in situ.
4.
Significant visual improvement was achieved in eyes with 1° success, function was stabilized on a low level in eyes that were reattached after revision surgeries.

Conclusions: Pediatric RRDs differ from adult RRD in many respects: they show a heterogeneity of etiologies, special types of holes and a high rate of primary and postoperative PVR. Furthermore, anatomic success and functional outcomes are less favorable, in particular when reattachment could not be achieved with single surgery. Delayed initial presentation due to young age or disability, long-standing macula-off RRD, complex anatomic situations as a result of ocular and systemic co-morbidities and the juvenile vitreous are crucial points that affect the postoperative outcomes.

gms | German Medical Science

24. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

17.06. - 18.06.2011, Aachen

Rhegmatogene Ablatio bei Kindern und Jugendlichen: Gibt es Verbesserungsansätze?

Kongressabstract

Suche in Medline nach

  • Silvia Bopp - Augenklinik Universitätsallee, Bremen
  • A. Schüler - Augenklinik Universitätsallee, Bremen
  • K. Lucke - Augenklinik Universitätsallee, Bremen

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 24. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Aachen, 17.-18.06.2011. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2011. Doc11rg16

DOI: 10.3205/11rg16, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-11rg164

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2011/11rg16.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 15. Juni 2011

© 2011 Bopp et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Analyse aktueller Daten zu Ätiologie, Therapie und Ergebnissen von rhegmatogenen Netzhautablösungen bei Kindern und Jugendlichen (bis 18 J.) und Herausarbeitung der Unterschiede zur Ablatio bei Erwachsenen.

Methode/Patienten: Retrospektive, konsekutive Analyse der klinischen Daten von Kindern/Jugendlichen mit rhegmatogener Amotio (50 Patienten, 55 Augen) im Zeitraum 2000–2010.

Ergebnisse:

1.
In 82% der Augen bestanden Risikofaktoren für eine Netzhautablösung: okulär (Bulbustrauma, Myopie, Lattice Degeneration, ehem. ROP, vorangegangene Linsenchirurgie), Entwicklungsanomalien (Wagner Syndrom, anteriores PFS, Kolobom) und systemische Faktoren (Marfan, Down Syndrom, Autismus). Die Hälfte der Kinder hatten mehr als einen disponierenden Faktor. Nur 10 Augen wiesen eine „idiopathische“ Ablatio auf.
2.
Bei Erstvorstellung hatten 16,4% bereits ein fortgeschrittenes PVR. In diesen Augen wurde oft kein verursachendes Foramen gefunden. Die übrigen zeigten eine frische oder ältere Netzhautablösung, die im Wesentlichen durch eine Oradialyse (29%), atrophe Foramina (25%) oder einen Riesenriss (9%) verursacht wurden.
3.
72% der Augen mit Ablatio ohne PVR wurden initial durch Buckelchirurgie, 28% durch primäre Vitrektomie behandelt. Bei PVR-Augen erfolgte eine Vitrektomie mit Silikonöltamponade. Die primären Erfolgsraten betrugen in den 3 Subgruppen 70%, 85% und 55,5% – die finale Wiederanlegungsrate lag bei 100%, 92% und 75%, wobei 6 Augen mit primärem oder sekundärer PVR eine Silikonöl-Dauertamponade hatten.
4.
Eine Visusverbesserung konnte in allen Augen mit primärem Operationserfolg erzielt werden. Bei denen mit Revisionschirurgie konnte die Funktion auf niedrigem Niveau stabilisiert werden.

Schlussfolgerungen: Kinder und Jugendliche mit rhegmatogener Ablatio unterscheiden sich in mehrfacher Hinsicht von der adulten Ablatio: sie sind eine ätiologisch heterogene Gruppe, zeigen spezielle Lochtypen und häufiger ein primäres PVR. Die verspätete Diagnosestellung, komplexe Ausgangssituation bei congenitalen und Entwicklungsanomalien sowie die spezielle Glaskörperpathologie tragen zu den vergleichsweise schlechteren anatomischen und funktionellen Ergebnissen bei. Die Therapie muss diesen Umständen gerecht werden und ggf. individuelle Behandlungskonzepte erarbeitet werden.