gms | German Medical Science

24th Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

17.06. - 18.06.2011, Aachen

Intraoperative OCT (iOCT) for posterior segment surgery

Meeting Abstract

  • Maya Müller - Universitäts-Augenklinik Schleswig-Holstein, Lübeck
  • P. Steven - Universitäts-Augenklinik Schleswig-Holstein, Lübeck
  • E. Lankenau - Institut für Biomedizinische Optik, Universität Lübeck; OPTOMEDICAL TECHNOLOGIES, Lübeck
  • M. Krug - Institut für Biomedizinische Optik, Universität Lübeck
  • E. Acidereli - Institut für Biomedizinische Optik, Universität Lübeck
  • S. Oelkers - Moeller-Wedel GmbH, Wedel
  • R. Birngruber - Institut für Biomedizinische Optik, Universität Lübeck
  • S. Grisanti - Universitäts-Augenklinik Schleswig-Holstein, Lübeck
  • G. Hüttmann - Institut für Biomedizinische Optik, Universität Lübeck
  • Lübecker OCT Studiengruppe

German Retina Society. 24th Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Aachen, 17.-18.06.2011. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2011. Doc11rg13

doi: 10.3205/11rg13, urn:nbn:de:0183-11rg133

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2011/11rg13.shtml

Published: June 15, 2011

© 2011 Müller et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Purpose: To evaluate intraoperative diagnosis and assistence of microscope-mounted OCT-camera.

Patients and Methods: With the new developed OCT-Camera (MOELLER-WEDEL, Wedel, Germany in cooperation with OPTOMEDICAL TECHNOLOGIES, Luebeck, Germany), which was mounted on a surgical microscope (Hi-R 900, MOELLER-WEDEL) and equipped with microscope external display (MEDIS, MOELLER-WEDEL) 42 patients where evaluated during their routine posterior segment surgery. For posterior segment viewing a non-contact 90D lens (EIBOS, MOELLER-WEDEL) and contact vitrectomy flat lens (DORC; Zuidland, Netherlands) was used. The OCT-Camera consisted of a central wavelength of 840 nm, with a measuring depth of 5.2 mm and a measuring with dependant on the zoom of the microscope with a minimum of 5 mm at maximal zoom. Acquisition time was 10,000 A-scans/s. Image stacks, en-face OCT and 2D-real time imaging with additional volume scans of the procedures were recorded.

Results: With inraoperative OCT (iOCT) visualisation of posterior segment in spectral domain quality was feasible. Retinal membranes were analyzed in real-time and reconstructed in 3D and 2D over time. Pathologies such as epiretinal membranes, macular holes and vitreomacular tractions could be visualized in high-resolution prior and during surgical removal. Surgical instruments could be localized during manipulation according to the posterior extinction and backscattering of the OCT-laser.

Conclusion: iOCT with OCT-Camera enables high-resolution imaging of posterior segment procedures. It offers of delicate structures and tissue and offers intraopeartive control of the intended simplifies localization of instruments in relation to ocular structures and enables a direct intraoperative control of the intended therapy. iOCT has the potential to become a new technological intraoperative tool in ocular surgery.

Supported by the Medical Faculty Technology Transfer of the University of Luebeck.

gms | German Medical Science

24. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

17.06. - 18.06.2011, Aachen

Intraoperative OCT (iOCT) für den hinteren Augenabschnitt

Kongressabstract

  • Maya Müller - Universitäts-Augenklinik Schleswig-Holstein, Lübeck
  • P. Steven - Universitäts-Augenklinik Schleswig-Holstein, Lübeck
  • E. Lankenau - Institut für Biomedizinische Optik, Universität Lübeck; OPTOMEDICAL TECHNOLOGIES, Lübeck
  • M. Krug - Institut für Biomedizinische Optik, Universität Lübeck
  • E. Acidereli - Institut für Biomedizinische Optik, Universität Lübeck
  • S. Oelkers - Moeller-Wedel GmbH, Wedel
  • R. Birngruber - Institut für Biomedizinische Optik, Universität Lübeck
  • S. Grisanti - Universitäts-Augenklinik Schleswig-Holstein, Lübeck
  • G. Hüttmann - Institut für Biomedizinische Optik, Universität Lübeck
  • Lübecker OCT Studiengruppe

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 24. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Aachen, 17.-18.06.2011. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2011. Doc11rg13

doi: 10.3205/11rg13, urn:nbn:de:0183-11rg133

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2011/11rg13.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 15. Juni 2011

© 2011 Müller et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Zielsetzung: Evaluation einer operationsmikroskopsintegrierten OCT-Kamera zur intraoperativen Diagnostik und Assistenz.

Patienten und Methode: Mit der neu entwickelten OCT-Kamera (MOELLER-WEDEL, Wedel, in Kooperation mit OPTOMEDICAL TECHNOLOGIES, Lübeck, Germany), welche in dem Operationsmikroskop (Hi-R 900, MOELLER-WEDEL) adaptiert ist und mit externem Display (MEDIS, MOELLER-WEDEL) ausgestattet ist, konnten 42 Patienten bei Routineeingriffen des hinteren Augenabschnittes evaluiert werden. Zur Visualisierung des hinteren Abschnittes wurde eine non-contact 90D Linse (EIBOS, MOELLER-WEDEL) und eine 0 Grad Linse (DORC; Zuidland, Niederlande) verwendet. Die OCT-Kamera verfügt über eine zentrale Wellenlänge von 840 nm, bei einer Meßtiefe von 5,2 mm und einer zoomabhängigen Meßbreite von 5 mm bei maximaler Vergrößerung. Die Akquisitionszeit beträgt 10.000 A-scans/s. Image stacks, en-face OCT und 2D-real time Aufnahmen mit zusätzlichen Volumenmessungen wurden aufgenommen.

Ergebnisse: Mittels intraoperativer OCT (iOCT) kann eine Darstellung des hinteren Augenabschnittes in spectral domain Qualität erstellt werden. Retinale Membranstrukturen wurden in Echtzeit und als Rekonstruktion in 2D und 3D erfasst. Pathologien wie epiretinale Membranen, Maculaforamina und vitreomaculäre Traktionssyndrome konnten intraoperativ in hoher Auflösung visualisiert werden und während des chirurgischen Manövers dargestellt werden. Instrumente können lokalisiert und als Auslöschphänomem des Lasers dargestellt werden.

Schlussfolgerung: Die iOCT erlaubt intraoperative high-resolution OCT Bildgebung von Prozeduren des hinteren Augenabschnittes. Sie eröffnet eine Tiefendarstellung von delikaten Gewebestrukturen und ermöglicht eine intraoperative Kontrolle der intendierten Maßnahmen. Damit kann die iOCT zum neuen technologischen intraoperativen Werkzeug in der Augenchirurgie werden.

Unterstützt durch den Medizin-Technologie-Transfer der Universität zu Lübeck.