gms | German Medical Science

24rd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

17.06. - 18.06.2011, Aachen

Has experience an effect on the success of retinal detachment surgery?

Meeting Abstract

  • Babac A. E. Mazinani - Universitätsaugenklinik RWTH Aachen
  • A. Rajendram - Universitätsaugenklinik RWTH Aachen
  • P. Walter - Universitätsaugenklinik RWTH Aachen
  • G.F. Roessler - Universitätsaugenklinik RWTH Aachen

German Retina Society. 24th Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Aachen, 17.-18.06.2011. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2011. Doc11rg12

DOI: 10.3205/11rg12, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-11rg126

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2011/11rg12.shtml

Published: June 15, 2011

© 2011 Mazinani et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Purpose: To examine the relationship between surgeon experience and success rates in retinal detachment surgery.

Methods: Success rates during a follow-up of 11 months of eight surgeons who performed in total 375 retinal detachment procedures ranging from 14 to 115 cases between December 1997 and January 2002 where correlated to the total number of vitreoretinal procedures ranging between 176 and 2,587. All patients received either scleral buckling or vitrectomy, complicated cases were excluded.

Results: Mean final success rates were 0.69±0.14 for scleral buckling and 0.9±0.05 for primary vitrectomy (p<0.05). The final success rates did not correlate to the number of vitreoretinal procedures. 7 of the 8 surgeons showed an intraindividual learning effect with better success rates in the second vs. the first half of the observed procedures. The learning effect was correlated to the total number of procedures with a higher effect in unexperienced surgeons.

Conclusion: An intraindividual learning effect that was higher in inexperienced surgeons could be demonstrated. The learning effect was reduced by half after 500 vitreoretinal procedures while the final success rates were not correlated to the number of vitreoretinal procedures.

gms | German Medical Science

24. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

17.06. - 18.06.2011, Aachen

Der Effekt von Erfahrung auf Operationsergebnisse bei der Chirurgie der Netzhautablösung

Kongressabstract

  • Babac A. E. Mazinani - Universitätsaugenklinik RWTH Aachen
  • A. Rajendram - Universitätsaugenklinik RWTH Aachen
  • P. Walter - Universitätsaugenklinik RWTH Aachen
  • G.F. Roessler - Universitätsaugenklinik RWTH Aachen

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 24. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Aachen, 17.-18.06.2011. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2011. Doc11rg12

doi: 10.3205/11rg12, urn:nbn:de:0183-11rg126

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2011/11rg12.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 15. Juni 2011

© 2011 Mazinani et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Anlass der Studie war die Fragestellung, ob Erfahrung einen Einfluss auf Operationsergebnisse bei der Chirurgie der Netzhautablösung hat.

Methoden: Bei acht Netzhautchirurgen, die während eines Beobachtungszeitraumes zwischen Dezember 1997 und Januar 2002 jeweils zwischen 14 und 115, insgesamt 375 operative Behandlungen einer Netzhautablösung durchführten, wurden die Erfolgsraten dieser Eingriffe mit der Gesamtzahl der bisher durchgeführten vitreoretinalen Eingriffe dieser Operateure, die zwischen 176 und 2.587 lag, korreliert. Bei allen Patienten wurde entweder ein eindellender Eingriff oder eine Vitrektomie durchgeführt, komplizierte Fälle wurden ausgeschlossen.

Ergebnisse: Die mittleren Erfolgsraten waren 0,69±0,14 (eindellende Eingriffe) und 0,9±0,05 (Vitrektomien) (p<0.05). Im interindividuellen Vergleich korrelierte die Erfolgsrate nicht mit der Zahl der durchgeführten vitreoretinalen Eingriffe. 7 der 8 Operateure zeigten einen intraindividuellen Lerneffekt mit besseren Erfolgsraten in der zweiten als in der ersten Hälfte der beobachteten Eingriffe. Der Lerneffekt war abhängig von der Zahl der durchgeführten vitreoretinalen Eingriffe und größer bei unerfahrenen Operateuren.

Schlussfolgerungen: Es konnte ein intraindividueller Lerneffekt gezeigt werden, der bei unerfahreren Operateuren größer war. Der Lerneffekt halbierte sich nach etwa 500 durchgeführten vitreoretinalen Eingriffen. Die Erfolgsrate war interindividuell nicht mit der Zahl der vitreoretinalen Eingriffe korreliert.