gms | German Medical Science

24th Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

17.06. - 18.06.2011, Aachen

Compatibility of co-applied rtPA and bevacizumab for neovascular AMD with submacular hemorrhage

Meeting Abstract

  • Jost Hillenkamp - Universitäts-Augenklinik Schleswig-Holstein, Kiel
  • S. Puls - Universitäts-Augenklinik Schleswig-Holstein, Kiel
  • A. Klettner - Universitäts-Augenklinik Schleswig-Holstein, Kiel
  • F. Treumer - Universitäts-Augenklinik Schleswig-Holstein, Kiel
  • J. Roider - Universitäts-Augenklinik Schleswig-Holstein, Kiel

German Retina Society. 24th Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Aachen, 17.-18.06.2011. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2011. Doc11rg10

doi: 10.3205/11rg10, urn:nbn:de:0183-11rg107

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2011/11rg10.shtml

Published: June 15, 2011

© 2011 Hillenkamp et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Purpose: To investigate the compatibility of rtPA and bevacizumab in-vitro because intraoperatively rtPA, or rtPA-induced plasmin may cleave and inactivate bevacizumab.

Methods: To simulate the intraoperative range of mixing ratios of rtPA, bevacizumab, and subretinal blood we calculated the volumes of 12 submacular hemorrhages (SMH) with a spherical cap formula using measurements derived from fundus photographs and spectralis OCT images. Bevacizumab was incubated with rtPA or plasmin before gel-electrophoresis with Coomassie Blue and silver staining. The anti-angiogenetic activity of bevacizumab in the presence of rtPA, plasmin, or clotted human blood was quantified by VEGF-Elisa after incubation with the supernatant of primary RPE cell cultures.

Results: The volumes of SMH were 28.6, 24.7, 6.2–94.6 µl (mean, standard deviation, range). In electrophoresis with Coomassie Blue single and double chain fragments of rtPA alone migrated at 69 to 36 kDa, plasmin alone migrated at 46 to 64 kDa, and light and heavy chains of bevacizumab alone migrated at 28 to 147 kDa. Silver staining revealed additional rtPA and bevacizumab fragments between 27 and 34 kDa. All detected fragments remained unchanged in co-application of bevacizumab with either rtPA or plasmin. The anti-angiogenetic activity of bevacizumab quantified by VEGF-Elisa remained unchanged in co-application with plasmin. Corresponding results with rtPA and clotted blood are pending.

Conclusion: We demonstrate the absence of cleavage of bevacizumab by rtPA and plasmin and the absence of inactivation of bevacizumab by plasmin. In clinical practice, rtPA and bevacizumab can be co-applied to simultaneously clear subretinal hemorrhage and reduce choroidal new vessel activity.

gms | German Medical Science

24. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

17.06. - 18.06.2011, Aachen

Kompatibilität von rtPA und Bevacizumab bei neovaskulärer AMD mit submakulärer Blutung

Kongressabstract

  • Jost Hillenkamp - Universitäts-Augenklinik Schleswig-Holstein, Kiel
  • S. Puls - Universitäts-Augenklinik Schleswig-Holstein, Kiel
  • A. Klettner - Universitäts-Augenklinik Schleswig-Holstein, Kiel
  • F. Treumer - Universitäts-Augenklinik Schleswig-Holstein, Kiel
  • J. Roider - Universitäts-Augenklinik Schleswig-Holstein, Kiel

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 24. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Aachen, 17.-18.06.2011. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2011. Doc11rg10

DOI: 10.3205/11rg10, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-11rg107

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2011/11rg10.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 15. Juni 2011

© 2011 Hillenkamp et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Ziel: Die Untersuchung der Kompatibilität von rtPA und Bevacizumab in-vitro weil intraoperativ rtPA oder rtPA-induziertes Plasmin Bevacizumab spalten und inaktivieren könnte.

Methoden: Um experimentell die intraoperativen Mischverhältnisse von rtPA, Bevacizumab und subretinalem Blut zu simulieren, wurde das Volumen von 12 submakulären Blutungen (SMH) mit einer Kugelkappen-Formel aus Fundus-Fotos und Spektralis-OCT-Bildern berechnet. Bevacizumab wurde vor Gel-Elektrophorese mit Coomassie Blau- und Silberfärbung mit rtPA oder Plasmin inkubiert. Die anti-angiogenetische Wirksamkeit von Bevacizumab zusammen mit rtPA, Plasmin oder geronnenem humanem Blut wurde nach Inkubation mit Kulturmedium primärer RPE-Zellkulturen mit VEGF-Elisa quantifiziert.

Ergebnisse: Das Volumen von SMH betrug 28,6, 24,7, 6,2–94,6 µl (Mittelwert, Standardabweichung, Range). In der Elektrophorese mit Coomassie Blau lagen Einfach- und Doppelkettenfragmente von rtPA allein bei 69 bis 36 kDa. Plasmin allein lag bei 46 bis 64 kDa. Leichte und schwere Ketten von Bevacizumab allein lagen bei 28 bis 147 kDa. Die Silberfärbung zeigte weitere rtPA- und Bevacizumab-Fragmente zwischen 27 und 34 kDa. Alle Fragmente waren in Ko-Applikation von Bevacizumab mit rtPA oder Plasmin unverändert. Die anti-angiogenetische Wirksamkeit von Bevacizumab war im VEGF-Elisa in Ko-Applikation mit Plasmin unverändert. Entsprechende Ergebnisse mit rtPA und geronnenem Blut stehen noch aus.

Schlußfolgerung: Bevacizumab wird nicht von rtPA oder Plasmin gespalten. Bevacizumab wird nicht von Plasmin funktionell inaktiviert. rtPA und Bevacizumab können intraoperativ zusammen appliziert werden, um zu einem möglichst frühen Zeitpunkt gleichzeitig submakuläre Blutungen aufzulösen und die Aktivität choroidaler Neovaskularisationen zu vermindern.