gms | German Medical Science

24rd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

17.06. - 18.06.2011, Aachen

Subjective treatment success and subjective recurrence detection after ranibizumab treatment in exsudative AMD

Meeting Abstract

  • Philipp S. Muether - Universitäts-Augenklinik Köln
  • R. Hörster - Universitäts-Augenklinik Köln
  • K. Koch - Universitäts-Augenklinik Köln
  • M.M. Hermann - Universitäts-Augenklinik Köln
  • B. Kirchhof - Universitäts-Augenklinik Köln
  • S. Fauser - Universitäts-Augenklinik Köln

German Retina Society. 24th Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Aachen, 17.-18.06.2011. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2011. Doc11rg07

DOI: 10.3205/11rg07, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-11rg075

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2011/11rg07.shtml

Published: June 15, 2011

© 2011 Muether et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Background: Ranibizumab therapy of exsudative AMD is cost intensive and invasive. European drug approval requires time intense follow-ups for justification of retreatment upon recurrence of choroidal neovascularization (CNV). We have studied whether 1.) ranibizumab therapy resulted in clinically relevant improvement for the patient, and 2.) have tested the sensitivity of patient self control, Amsler grid, visual acuity assessment, fundus examination and SD-OCT in detecting CNV recurrence.

Methods: ETDRS visual acuity (VA), Radner reading VA, reading speed (words per minute, wpm), Amsler, subjective impression, funduscopy and SD-OCT were performed in 74 patients before and after initial ranibizumab treatment series. Objective and subjective functional changes were correlated. After CNV involution, monthly controls were conducted in 40 patients. Upon appearance of SD-OCT-confirmed novel fluid, classified as morphologic recurrence, sensitivity of objective and subjective functional deterioration were compared to OCT.

Results: ETDRS VA improved from 55+13.6, gaining 3.2+12.0 (p=0.026), reading speed of 54+26 wpm gained 20.7+44 wpm (p<0.001). 68% (n=50) of patients perceived improvement, 21% (n=16) no change and 11% (n=8) deterioration. Subjective impression and objective functions correlated for each group (p=0.002, p<0.001, p=0.043). Regression analysis confirmed correlation between objective VA change and subjective perception (p=0.001). Subjective perception was independent of better or worse eye treated (p=0.826). Proportion of recurrence detection compared to 40 OCT-morphologic recurrences (100%): subjective deterioration 6 (15%); increase of metamorphopsia 12 (30%); ETDRS- and/or Radner VA loss of > one line 11 (28%); funduscopic 10 (25%); cumulative sensitivity 27 (67.5%).

Conclusion: Ranibizumab treatment success in AMD is not only statistically significant, but despite intensity and invasiveness clinically relevant for the patient. Regarding recurrence detection, SD-OCT outclasses all other psycho/physic examination methods. Morphologic recurrences can be detected prior to functional deterioration.

gms | German Medical Science

24. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

17.06. - 18.06.2011, Aachen

Subjektiver Therapie-Erfolg und subjektive Rezidiv-Erkennung nach Ranibizumab-Therapie bei exsudativer AMD

Kongressabstract

  • Philipp S. Muether - Universitäts-Augenklinik Köln
  • R. Hörster - Universitäts-Augenklinik Köln
  • K. Koch - Universitäts-Augenklinik Köln
  • M.M. Hermann - Universitäts-Augenklinik Köln
  • B. Kirchhof - Universitäts-Augenklinik Köln
  • S. Fauser - Universitäts-Augenklinik Köln

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 24. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Aachen, 17.-18.06.2011. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2011. Doc11rg07

DOI: 10.3205/11rg07, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-11rg075

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2011/11rg07.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 15. Juni 2011

© 2011 Muether et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Die Ranibizumab-Therapie der exsudativen AMD ist kostenintensiv und invasiv. Die europäische Zulassung fordert zeitaufwändige Kontrollen für die Rechtfertigung einer erneuten Therapie bei choroidalen Neovaskularisations (CNV)-Rezidiven. Wir haben untersucht, ob 1.) die Ranibizumab-Therapie für die Patienten klinisch relevante Verbesserungen erbringt, und 2.) welche Sensitivität subjektiver Eindruck, Amsler, Visus-Prüfung, Funduskopie und SD-OCT bei der Diagnose eines CNV-Rezidives erbringen.

Methoden: ETDRS-Fernvisus, Radner-Lesevisus, Lese-Geschwindigkeit (Wörter pro Minute, wpm), Amsler, subjektiver Eindruck, Funduskopie und SD-OCT wurden bei 74 Patienten vor und nach der ersten Ranibizumab-Therapie-Serie durchgeführt. Die objektiven und subjektiven Funktionsveränderungen wurden korreliert. Nach CNV-Involution wurden bei 40 Patienten monatliche Kontrollen durchgeführt. Bei Auftreten neuer Flüssigkeit im SD-OCT, klassifiziert als morphologisches Rezidiv, wurde die Sensitivität objektiver und subjektiver Funktionseinbußen hiermit verglichen.

Ergebnisse: Der Ausgangs-ETDRS stieg von 55+13,6 um 3,2+12,0 (p=0.026), die Lesegeschwindigkeit von 54+26 wpm um 20,7+44 wpm (p<0.001). 68% (n=50) der Patienten nahmen Verbesserung wahr, 21% (n=16) keine Veränderung und 11% (n=8) Verschlechterung. Subjektiver Eindruck und objektive Funktionsänderung korrelierten für jede Gruppe (p=0.002, p<0.001, p=0.043). Regressionsanalytisch bestätigte sich die Korrelation zwischen objektiver Visusänderung und subjektiver Empfindung (p=0.001). Die subjektive Wahrnehmung war unabhängig von der Therapie des besseren bzw. schlechteren Auges (p=0.826). Anteile der Rezidiv-Erkennung verglichen mit 40 OCT-morphologischen Rezidiven (100%): subjektive Verschlechterung 6 (15%); Zunahme von Metamorphopsien 12 (30%); ETDRS- und/oder Radner-Visusverlust von > einer Visus-Zeile 11 (28%); funduskopisch 10 (25%); kumulative Sensitivität 27 (67.5%).

Schlussfolgerungen: Der Erfolg der Ranibizumab-Therapie ist nicht nur statistisch signifikant, sondern trotz ihrer Intensität und Invasivität für den Patienten klinisch relevant. Bezüglich der Rezidiv-Erkennung ist das SD-OCT sämtlichen psycho/physischen Untersuchungsmethoden deutlich überlegen.