gms | German Medical Science

24rd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

17.06. - 18.06.2011, Aachen

Imaging modalities in an experimental mouse model of choroidal neovascularization

Meeting Abstract

Search Medline for

  • Anne Friederike Alex - Universitäts-Augenklinik Münster
  • P. Heiduschka - Universitäts-Augenklinik Münster
  • N. Eter - Universitäts-Augenklinik Münster

German Retina Society. 24th Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Aachen, 17.-18.06.2011. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2011. Doc11rg05

DOI: 10.3205/11rg05, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-11rg055

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2011/11rg05.shtml

Published: June 15, 2011

© 2011 Alex et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Background: The aim of the study was to evaluate new imaging modalities of the fundus in a model of choroidal neovascularization in mice which enable long term in-vivo monitoring.

Methods: Using a slit lamp adaptor, six to ten laser spots (200 mW, 0,1 second duration) were positioned in between the large retinal blood vessels in the fundus of wild-type mice, thus retinal pigment epithelium (RPE) and Bruchs membrane were ruptured. One, two and three weeks after laser, near infrared-, SD-OCT- and fluorescein angiography images were obtained. Afterwards, eyes were enucleated for histological examination.

Results: The laserspots were well defined in near infrared imaging. Degeneration of the RPE in laserspots could be well determined in SD-OCT. The near infrared imaging detected hyperreflective rimbs, which displayed enlargement over time. These rimbs showed thickend inner and outer retina in SD-OCT. Increased autofluorescence was first detectable after three weeks. On fluorescein angiography, increasing hyperfluorescent areas over time could be detected in and around the laserspots, representing leckage.

Conclusion: In-vivo monitoring of the development of choroidal neovascularization in the laser-induced mouse model is feasible. The described imaging modalities enable in-vivo montoring of new therapeutic approaches of choroidal neovascularization in mice and reduce the number of animals to be sacrified for histology.

gms | German Medical Science

24. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

17.06. - 18.06.2011, Aachen

Bildgebende Verfahren bei einem experimentellen Mausmodell der choroidalen Neovaskularisation

Kongressabstract

Suche in Medline nach

  • Anne Friederike Alex - Universitäts-Augenklinik Münster
  • P. Heiduschka - Universitäts-Augenklinik Münster
  • N. Eter - Universitäts-Augenklinik Münster

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 24. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Aachen, 17.-18.06.2011. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2011. Doc11rg05

doi: 10.3205/11rg05, urn:nbn:de:0183-11rg055

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2011/11rg05.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 15. Juni 2011

© 2011 Alex et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Das Ziel der Studie ist es, bei einem Modell der laserinduzierten choroidalen Neovaskularisation bei der Maus neue bildgebende Verfahren des Augenhintergrundes zu etablieren. Damit sollen Verlaufskontrollen in-vivo ermöglicht werden.

Methoden: Am Augenhintergrund von Wildtyp-Mäusen wurden mittels Spaltlampenapplikator sechs bis zehn Laserspots (200 mW und 0,1 Sekunden Dauer) zwischen die großen retinalen Blutgefäße gesetzt. Dabei wurden das retinale Pigmentepithel (RPE) und die Bruchsche Membran rupturiert. Nach einer, zwei und drei Wochen wurden Fundus-Nahinfrarot-, OCT- und Fluoreszenzangiographie (FA)-Aufnahmen von den Augen angefertigt. Anschließend wurden die Augen für histologische Untersuchungen entnommen.

Ergebnisse: Die Laserherde waren im Nahinfrarotbild der Netzhaut sehr gut abgrenzbar. In den OCT-Bildern war die Degeneration im Bereich des RPE in den Laserherden gut zu erkennen. Um die Laserherde herum befanden sich im Nahinfrarotbild hyperreflektive Areale, die sich im Laufe der Zeit vergrößerten und sich im OCT-Bild als Verdickungen darstellten. Eine Autofluoreszenz war erst nach drei Wochen detektierbar. In der FA zeigten sich über den Beobachtungszeitraum zunehmende hyperfluoreszente Bereiche im Gebiet der Laserherde und unter den retinalen Blutgefäßen, die von Leckagen herrühren.

Schlußfolgerungen: Ein in-vivo-Monitoring zur Verlaufskontrolle von Veränderungen am Augenhintergrund der Maus nach einer Laserbehandlung ist mit den eingesetzten bildgebenden Verfahren gut möglich. Die oben genannten Techniken eröffnen neue Untersuchungsmöglichkeiten im Hinblick auf die Wirksamkeit therapeutischer Ansätze auf die Vorgänge bei laserinduzierter CNV im Mausmodell. Zudem lässt sich die Anzahl der benötigten Versuchstiere reduzieren.