gms | German Medical Science

24rd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

17.06. - 18.06.2011, Aachen

Configuration and topography of geographic atrophy secondary to age-related macular degeneration

Meeting Abstract

  • Steffen Schmitz-Valckenberg - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • M. Mauschitz - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • P. Chang - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • G.J. Jaffe - Duke University Eye Center, Durham, NC, USA
  • Arno P. Göbel - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • M. Fleckenstein - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • F.G. Holz - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • GAP-Studiengruppe

German Retina Society. 24th Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Aachen, 17.-18.06.2011. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2011. Doc11rg03

DOI: 10.3205/11rg03, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-11rg035

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2011/11rg03.shtml

Published: June 15, 2011

© 2011 Schmitz-Valckenberg et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Purpose: To determine the topographic distribution and configuration of atrophic patches in patients with geographic atrophy (GA) secondary to age-related macular degeneration.

Methods: Fundus autofluorescence images of 413 GA eyes of 413 patients were analyzed. The macula was divided in ten different sector using a grid in order to determine the local presence of GA. In addition, the prevalence and configuration of peripapillary atrophy (PPA) was evaluated. Determination of linear dimension and regression of the buffer zone (shortest distance between PPA and central atrophy) was performed in a subset of eyes (n=42, 18 months follow-up).

Results: Sector analysis showed atrophy involvement within 600 microns from the foveal center to be present in 95% of eyes. The parafovea (circle of 1800 microns) showed GA more frequently (99%) when compared to the outer macula (circle of 3600 microns; 80%). A total of 357 of 413 (86%) eyes showed additional PPA that was non-confluent to central GA in 328 eyes. In the 4 out of 42 eyes that converted into confluent atrophy within 18 months, the mean puffer zone with 147 µm (Range 79–175 µm) was significantly smaller in comparison to the 38 eyes (Mean puffer zone 1481 µm, range 158–3117 µm) that stayed non-confluent (p<0.0002).

Conclusions: The results indicate an eccentricity-dependent development and an asymmetric topographic distribution of GA in relation to the foveal center. The additional presence of PPA is a common phenomenon in GA. However, PPA is seldom confluent to central atrophy. Refined analyses of topographic distribution and directional spread of GA is important both for the understanding of the natural history of the disease as well as for the design and outcome measures for interventional clinical trials.

gms | German Medical Science

24. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

17.06. - 18.06.2011, Aachen

Konfiguration und Topographie der geographischen Atrophie bei altersabhängiger Makuladegeneration

Kongressabstract

  • Steffen Schmitz-Valckenberg - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • M. Mauschitz - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • P. Chang - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • G.J. Jaffe - Duke University Eye Center, Durham, NC, USA
  • Arno P. Göbel - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • M. Fleckenstein - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • F.G. Holz - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • GAP-Studiengruppe

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 24. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Aachen, 17.-18.06.2011. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2011. Doc11rg03

doi: 10.3205/11rg03, urn:nbn:de:0183-11rg035

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2011/11rg03.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 15. Juni 2011

© 2011 Schmitz-Valckenberg et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Ziel der Studie ist die Untersuchung der topographischen Verteilung und Konfiguration von Atrophie-Arealen bei geographischer Atrophie (GA) im Rahmen der altersabhängigen Makuladegeneration.

Methoden: Fundusautofluoreszenz-Aufnahmen wurden von 413 GA Augen von 413 Patienten ausgewertet. Zur Bestimmung des lokalen Vorkommens von GA wurde die Makula mittels einer Schablone in 10 verschiedene Sektoren unterteilt. Zusätzlich wurde die Prävalenz und die Konfiguration von peripapillärer Atrophie (PPA) analysiert. In einer Untergruppe von 42 Augen (Beobachtungszeitraum 18 Monate) wurde die minimale lineare Strecke zwischen PPA und zentraler Atrophie sowie deren Abnahme über die Zeit erfasst.

Ergebnisse: In 95% der Augen zeigte sich ein GA Vorkommen innerhalb 600 µm von der Fovea. Die Parafovea (innerhalb 1800 µm) war in 99% der Augen häufiger als periphere Areale (1800–3600 µm) mit 80% betroffen. Insgesamt wiesen 357 von 413 (86%) Augen eine PPA auf. Diese war in 328 Augen nicht konfluierend zur zentralen Atrophie. In den 4 von 42 Augen, die innerhalb 18 Monaten sich zu einer konfluierenden Atrophie entwickelten, war die mittlere minimale lineare Strecke mit 147 µm (Streuung 79–175 µm) signifikant kleiner als im Vergleich zu den 38 Augen (Mittlere Strecke 1481 µm, Streuung 158–3117 µm), die eine konstante nicht-konfluierende Atrophie zeigten (p<0.0002).

Schlussfolgerungen: Die Ergebnisse deuten auf eine asymmetrische Verteilung von Atrophie-Arealen hin. Das zusätzliche Vorkommen einer PPA stellt ein häufiges Phänomen bei GA dar. Jedoch ist diese nur selten konfluierend zur zentralen Atrophie. Diese Erkenntnisse sind wichtig für das Verständnis des natürlichen Verlaufs und das Design von interventionellen Studien bei GA Patienten.