gms | German Medical Science

24rd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

17.06. - 18.06.2011, Aachen

SD-OCT documentation of changes in pigment epithelial detachment after intravitreal ranibizumab therapy: six-month results of a prospective randomized study

Meeting Abstract

  • Christoph R. Clemens - Universitäts-Augenklinik Münster
  • F. Alten - Universitäts-Augenklinik Münster
  • C. Milojcic - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • N. Eter - Universitäts-Augenklinik Münster

German Retina Society. 24th Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Aachen, 17.-18.06.2011. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2011. Doc11rg02

DOI: 10.3205/11rg02, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-11rg024

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2011/11rg02.shtml

Published: June 15, 2011

© 2011 Clemens et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Purpose: To report the effect of intravitreal injections of ranibizumab on various features of pigment epithelial detachment (PED).

Methods: 15 patients with PED associated with AMD received injections of 0.5 mg ranibizumab monthly. All subjects underwent a standardized ophthalmic evaluation monthly, consisting of visual acuity (VA) measurement using ETDRS charts, and imaging with optical coherence tomography evaluating changes in thickness of PED. Fluorescein angiography (FA) was performed at baseline and every 3 months afterwards.

Results: Mean central PED thickness decreased from 624.7 (±350.8 microns) at baseline to 332.5 (±158 microns) at the 6-month follow up (P=0.005). Mean ETDRS VA remained stable from 56.1 (±14.6) letters score at baseline to 58.6 (±15.7) letters score at the 6-month follow up (P=0.64). Subretinal fluid (SRF) disappeared in 8 patients (53.3%), 6 eyes (40%) showed a decreased in SRF and 1 eye developed an increase of SRF. In 11 eyes, OCT showed hyperreflective mass and optically clear space underneath the retinal pigment epithelium. The hyperreflective mass correlates with the border irregularity and inhomogeneous hyperfluorescence, whereas the optically clear space presents a homogeneous pooling. For 10 patients a complete regression of the optically clear space occurred after 6 injections. The hyperreflective mass flattened and in consequence a distinct decrease of hyperfluorescence within the FLA had been noted.

Conclusions: By means of SD-OCT and FLA, different reaction of the tissue after injection of ranibizumab were detected, which could only partly be attributed to preoperative PED characteristics. The prognostic relevance of these features is currently being evaluated further.

gms | German Medical Science

24. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

17.06. - 18.06.2011, Aachen

SD-OCT dokumentierte Veränderungen bei Pigmentepithelabhebung nach Ranibizumab Therapie: Sechs-Monatsergebnisse einer prospektiv randomisierten Studie

Kongressabstract

Suche in Medline nach

  • Christoph R. Clemens - Universitäts-Augenklinik Münster
  • F. Alten - Universitäts-Augenklinik Münster
  • C. Milojcic - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • N. Eter - Universitäts-Augenklinik Münster

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 24. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Aachen, 17.-18.06.2011. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2011. Doc11rg02

doi: 10.3205/11rg02, urn:nbn:de:0183-11rg024

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2011/11rg02.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 15. Juni 2011

© 2011 Clemens et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Untersuchung der Auswirkung intravitrealer Injektionen von Ranibizumab auf verschiedene Merkmale bei Pigmentepithelabhebung (PEA).

Methode: Untersucht wurden 15 Augen mit PEA bei AMD. Therapiert wurde monatlich mit Ranibizumab 0,05 mg intravitreal. Die Patienten wurden im 4-wöchigen Abstand mit Fernvisus (ETDRS-Tafel) und SD-OCT sowie alle 3 Monate mithilfe Fluoreszenzangiographie (FLA) kontrolliert.

Ergebnisse: Nach 6 Monaten nahm die zentrale Netzhautdicke von 624,7±350,8 µm auf 332,5±158 µm (P=0,005) ab. Der mittlere Visus blieb nach 6 Monaten 58,6±15,7 ETDRS-Buchstaben (P=0,648 Augen) im Vergleich zur Basisuntersuchung (56,1±14,6 ETDRS-Buchstaben) stabil. 8 Augen (53,3%) zeigten eine komplette Regression subretinaler Flüssigkeit (SRF), bei 6 Augen (40%) reduzierte sich die SRF und bei 1 Auge nahm die SRF zu. Die SD-OCT Untersuchung von 11 Augen ergab bei der Basisuntersuchung subpigmentepithelial neben einem optisch leeren Raum eine scharf abgrenzbare hyperreflektive Masse, die mit einer inhomogenen Hyperfluoreszenz in der FLA korreliert, während der optisch leere Raum ein Poolingphänomen zeigte. Bei 10 Patienten stellten wir nach 6 Injektionen eine komplette Regression des optisch leeren Raums fest, sowie eine Abnahme der hyperreflektiven Masse. Dies korreliert mit einer Abnahme der Hyperfluoreszenz in der FLA.

Schlussfolgerung: Durch SD-OCT und FLA konnten im Rahmen dieser prospektiven Studie unterschiedliche Reaktionen des Gewebes auf Injektionen mit Ranibizumab festgestellt werden, die sich nur zum Teil präoperativen PEA-Charakteristika zuordnen liessen. Die prognostische Relevanz dieser Merkmale wird derzeit weiter evaluiert.