gms | German Medical Science

23rd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

24.09. - 25.09.2010, Freiburg

Ocular mediators of inflammation and neovascularization in retinal vein occlusion and diabetic retinopathy

Meeting Abstract

  • Bastian Grundel - University Eye Clinic Freiburg i. Br.
  • D. Michels - University Eye Clinic Freiburg i. Br.
  • G. Martin - University Eye Clinic Freiburg i. Br.
  • H. Agostini - University Eye Clinic Freiburg i. Br.

German Retina Society. 23rd Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Freiburg i. Br., 24.-25.09.2010. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2010. Doc10rg73

doi: 10.3205/10rg73, urn:nbn:de:0183-10rg738

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2010/10rg73.shtml

Published: September 21, 2010

© 2010 Grundel et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Background: Vitreous samples from patients with retinal vein occlusion showed changes in the concentration of the proteins CCL7, PPBP, CXCL11, ADIPOQ, OPG, TNFRSF18, IL18BP, and VEGFA165b compared to the control group (macular hole, macular pucker). This raised the questions whether these proteins are expressed in ocular tissue and whether they are characteristic of vein occlusion.

Methods: The expression patterns were investigated by immunohistochemistry on specimens with diagnosis for retinal vein occlusion or diabetic retinopathy.

Results: The proteins CCL7, CXCL11, ADIPOQ, OPG, IL18BP, and VEGFA165b were produced by different cells in ocular tissue. In contrast, PPBP and TNFRSF18 were detected in serum only. Obviously, they are expressed anywhere else and transported to the eye in a second step. No differences between eyes from patients with retinal vein occlusion or diabetic retinopathy were found.

Conclusion: The investigated proteins are general mediators of inflammation and neovascularization. Predominantly, they are produced by ocular tissues indicating local inflammation. They are not specific for retinal vein occlusion, although they are expressed at higher levels in this condition.

gms | German Medical Science

23. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

24.09. - 25.09.2010, Freiburg

Okuläre Entzündungs- und Gefäßneubildungsmediatoren bei Venenverschlüssen und diabetischer Retinopathie

Kongressabstract

Suche in Medline nach

  • Bastian Grundel - Universitäts-Augenklinik Freiburg i. Br.
  • D. Michels - Universitäts-Augenklinik Freiburg i. Br.
  • G. Martin - Universitäts-Augenklinik Freiburg i. Br.
  • H. Agostini - Universitäts-Augenklinik Freiburg i. Br.

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 23. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Freiburg i. Br., 24.-25.09.2010. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2010. Doc10rg73

DOI: 10.3205/10rg73, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-10rg738

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2010/10rg73.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 21. September 2010

© 2010 Grundel et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Die Proteine CCL7, PPBP, CXCL11, ADIPOQ, OPG, TNFRSF18, IL18BP und VEGFA165b zeigten in einem vorangegangenen Mikroarray-Experiment mit Glaskörperproben bei Augen mit Venenverschlüssen eindeutige Konzentrationsänderungen im Vergleich zur Kontrollgruppe (Makulaforamen, epiretinale Gliose). Es stellte sich die Frage, ob diese Proteine im Auge exprimiert werden und typisch für Venenverschlüsse sind.

Methoden: Die Expressionsmuster der jeweiligen Proteine wurden immunhistochemisch (AP-Färbung und Immunfluoreszenz) auf Paraffinschnitten verglichen. Bei den untersuchten Augen wurde vor der Enukleation die Diagnose „Venenverschluss“ oder „Diabetische Retinopathie“ gestellt.

Ergebnisse: Die Proteine CCL7, CXCL11, ADIPOQ, OPG, IL18BP und VEGFA165b wurden in verschiedenen Zellen des Auges exprimiert, haben also ihren Ursprung (u.a.) im Auge selbst. Dagegen wurden PPBP und TNFRSF18 nur im Plasma gefunden, d.h. sie wurden wahrscheinlich sekundär ins Auge transportiert. Zwischen den Präparaten „Diabetes“ und „Venenverschluss“ zeigten die ausgewählten Proteine keine Unterschiede im Expressionsmuster.

Schlussfolgerung: Die untersuchten Proteine sind allgemeine Entzündungs- und Gefäßneubildungsmediatoren, die überwiegend im Auge selbst gebildet werden. Sie sind nicht spezifisch für Venenverschlüsse, werden aber bei diesen verstärkt exprimiert.