gms | German Medical Science

23rd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

24.09. - 25.09.2010, Freiburg

Expression and localisation of VEGFA165b in eyes with retinal vein occlusion

Meeting Abstract

  • Christoph Ehlken - University Eye Clinic Freiburg i. Br.
  • E.S. Rennel - University Eye Clinic Freiburg i. Br.
  • D. Michels - University Eye Clinic Freiburg i. Br.
  • B. Grundel - University Eye Clinic Freiburg i. Br.
  • A. Pielen - University Eye Clinic Freiburg i. Br.
  • B. Junker - University Eye Clinic Freiburg i. Br.
  • A. Stahl - University Eye Clinic Freiburg i. Br.
  • L.L. Hansen - University Eye Clinic Freiburg i. Br.
  • N. Feltgen - University Eye Clinic Freiburg i. Br.
  • H. Agostini - University Eye Clinic Freiburg i. Br.
  • G. Martin - University Eye Clinic Freiburg i. Br.

German Retina Society. 23rd Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Freiburg i. Br., 24.-25.09.2010. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2010. Doc10rg72

DOI: 10.3205/10rg72, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-10rg726

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2010/10rg72.shtml

Published: September 21, 2010

© 2010 Ehlken et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Background: In contrast to its splice variant VEGFA165, VEGFA165b acts as an anti-proliferative agent. The balance of VEGFA165b to VEGFA165 is shifted towards a proangiogenic state in angioproliferative diseases, such as proliferative diabetic retinopathy. The aim of our study was to examine the expression and localisation of VEGFA165b in the eye with a special focus on retinal vein occlusion.

Methods: Vitreous samples of patients with branch or central retinal vein occlusion (BRVO, resp. CRVO) were examined for the expression of VEGFA165b by means of ELISA and were compared to samples of patients with macular pucker as controls. The localisation of VEGFA165b in the eye was determined by immunohistological staining in eyes with different diseases, such as retinal vein occlusion or tumors.

Results: The balance of VEGFA165b to VEGFA165 was shifted towards VEGFA165 in patients with RVO. The effect was more pronounced in CRVO than in BRVO. In immunohistological stainings, VEGFA165b could be detected in the tunica media of arteries and retinal arterioles, as well as in inflamed areas and neural or glial cells.

Conclusions: The balance of VEGFA165b to VEGFA165 is shifted towards a proangiogenic state in vitreous samples of patients with RVO. The localisation of VEGFA165b resembles that of VEGFA165. Influencing the balance of VEGFA165b to VEGFA165 might be a feasible approach in patients with angioproliferative disease.

gms | German Medical Science

23. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

24.09. - 25.09.2010, Freiburg

Expression und Lokalisation von VEGFA 165b im Auge bei retinalen Venenverschlüssen

Kongressabstract

  • Christoph Ehlken - Universitäts-Augenklinik Freiburg i. Br.
  • E.S. Rennel - Universitäts-Augenklinik Freiburg i. Br.
  • D. Michels - Universitäts-Augenklinik Freiburg i. Br.
  • B. Grundel - Universitäts-Augenklinik Freiburg i. Br.
  • A. Pielen - Universitäts-Augenklinik Freiburg i. Br.
  • B. Junker - Universitäts-Augenklinik Freiburg i. Br.
  • A. Stahl - Universitäts-Augenklinik Freiburg i. Br.
  • L.L. Hansen - Universitäts-Augenklinik Freiburg i. Br.
  • N. Feltgen - Universitäts-Augenklinik Freiburg i. Br.
  • H. Agostini - Universitäts-Augenklinik Freiburg i. Br.
  • G. Martin - Universitäts-Augenklinik Freiburg i. Br.

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 23. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Freiburg i. Br., 24.-25.09.2010. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2010. Doc10rg72

doi: 10.3205/10rg72, urn:nbn:de:0183-10rg726

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2010/10rg72.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 21. September 2010

© 2010 Ehlken et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: VEGFA165b wirkt im Gegensatz zu seiner splice-Variante VEGFA165 anti-angioproliferativ. Das Gleichgewicht von VEGFA165b zu VEGFA165 ist in angioproliferativen Erkrankungen wie der proliferativen diabetischen Retinopathie im Glaskörper zugunsten von VEGFA165 verschoben. Das Ziel unserer retrospektiven Studie war es, die Expression bei Patienten mit retinalen Venenverschlüssen und Lokalisation von VEGFA165b im Auge zu untersuchen.

Methoden: Glaskörperproben von Patienten mit Venenast- oder Zentralvenenverschluss wurden mittels ELISA auf die Expression von VEGFA165b untersucht und mit Proben von Patienten mit epiretinaler Gliose verglichen. Die Lokalisation von VEGFA165b im Auge wurde mittels immunhistologischer Färbungen an Augen mit unterschiedlichen Erkankungen (retinaler Gefäßverschlüsse, Malignome) untersucht.

Ergebnisse: In Patienten mit retinalen Gefäßverschlüssen zeigte sich, bei Zentralvenenverschlüssen deutlicher als in Venenastverschlüssen, ein zu Gunsten von VEGFA165 verschobenes Verhältnis von VEGFA165b zu VEGFA165. In den immunhistochemischen Färbungen konnte VEGFA165b vor allem in der Tunica media von Arterien und in retinalen Arteriolen, aber auch in entzündeten Arealen sowie in Nervenzellen oder in Glia nachgewiesen werden.

Schlussfolgerungen: Das Verhältnis von VEGFA165b zu VEGFA165 ist bei Patienten mit retinalen Venenverschlüssen in Richtung eines angioproliferativen Zustandes verschoben. Die Lokalisation von VEGFA165b im Auge entspricht weitgehend der von VEGFA165. Eine Einflussnahme auf das Verhältnis VEGFA165b zu VEGFA165 stellt einen möglichen Ansatzpunkt einer Therapie bei Patienten mit angioproliferativen Erkrankungen dar.