gms | German Medical Science

23rd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

24.09. - 25.09.2010, Freiburg

Questionnaire initiated by IFDA concerning diabetic retinopathy and ophthalmologic screening examination

Meeting Abstract

  • Georg Spital - Department of Ophthalmology, St.Franziskus-Hospital Münster
  • A. Abeler - Institute of Epidemiology and Social Medicine WWU Münster
  • D. Pauleikhoff - Department of Ophthalmology, St.Franziskus-Hospital Münster
  • B. Bertram - Aachen
  • M. Ulbig - Clinic of the LMU Munich
  • L. Rose - Diabetological specialized medical practice, St.Franziskus-Hospital Münster
  • H. Hense - Institute of Epidemiology and Social Medicine WWU Münster

German Retina Society. 23rd Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Freiburg i. Br., 24.-25.09.2010. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2010. Doc10rg70

doi: 10.3205/10rg70, urn:nbn:de:0183-10rg707

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2010/10rg70.shtml

Published: September 21, 2010

© 2010 Spital et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Purpose: The knowledge of diabetic patients about diabetic retinopathy (DR), DR prophylaxis and therapy, as well as their experience with retinopathy screening examinations are barely examined. For the improvement of the ophthalmologic care of diabetics as well as for the success of DR-prophylaxis and screening, these are important points. Therefore the “Initiativgruppe Früherkennung diabetischer Augenerkrankungen” (IFDA) initiated a patient interrogation.

Methods: Questionnaire in offices of general practitioners in the city of Münster. The questions concerned anamnesis of diabetes, knowledge of DR and source of informations, estimation of personal risk of DR and experiences with ophthalmologic screening examinations.

Results: 315 participant diabetics of 18 general practitioner offices in Münster (>85% type2 DM; Ĝ67ys.; 68%<10ys. diabetes duration; 12.9% dagnosis of DR) 65% felt well informed about DR. Only 44% knew, that examination of retina is important in DR-Screening. Therapeutic options against DR were known in ~50%. >70% were aware of the role of glycemic control in DR-prophylaxis, whereas the importance of bp was not known in >40%. 23% did not know the HBA1c-value. Over 90% estimated screening of DR to be important and ~ 2/3 were afraid of DR. Performance of screening examination and medical informations by the opthalmologist were well appreciated in >80%. 26% mentioned pupil dilatation as very distracting.

Conclusion: Diabetics in general practioner offices in Münster showed a good awareness of the riscs of DR. Most of them reported on mostly positive experiences with ophthalmologic DR screening examination. There was a lack of information concerning prophylaxis and details of dr-disease, as well as on therapeutic options. Suitable information campaigns appear to be indicated. The information demand all over germany seems to be even more distinct, because “non-compliant” diabetics and rural areas were not included in this questionnaire.

gms | German Medical Science

23. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

24.09. - 25.09.2010, Freiburg

Von der IFDA initiierte Patientenbefragung zur diabetischen Retinopathie und ophthalmologischem Screening

Kongressabstract

  • Georg Spital - Augenabteilung am St.Franziskus-Hospital Münster
  • A. Abeler - Institut für Epidemiologie und Sozialmedizin WWU Münster
  • D. Pauleikhoff - Augenabteilung am St.Franziskus-Hospital Münster
  • B. Bertram - Aachen
  • M. Ulbig - Augenklinik der LMU München
  • L. Rose - Diabetologische Schwerpunktpraxis am St.Franziskus-Hospital Münster
  • H. Hense - Institut für Epidemiologie und Sozialmedizin WWU Münster

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 23. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Freiburg i. Br., 24.-25.09.2010. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2010. Doc10rg70

DOI: 10.3205/10rg70, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-10rg707

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2010/10rg70.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 21. September 2010

© 2010 Spital et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Der Wissensstand von Diabetikern zur diabetischen Retinopathie (DR), ihrer Prophylaxe und Therapie, sowie Probleme und Einstellungen der Betroffenen bezüglich augenärztlichem DR-Screening sind wenig untersucht. Für eine Verbesserung der ophthalmologischen Versorgung der Diabetiker und den Erfolg von Prophylaxe und Screening sind diese Fragen wesentlich. Die Initiativgruppe Früherkennung diabetischer Augenerkrankungen (IFDA) initiierte daher eine orientierende Patientenbefragung.

Methoden: Fragebogengestützte anonymisierte Umfrage in Hausarztpraxen der Region Münster. Fragen betrafen Diabetesanamnese, Kenntnisse zur DR, Informationsvermittlung sowie Einschätzung persönlichen DR-Risikos und Erfahrungen/Einstellungen zur ophthalmologischen Untersuchung.

Ergebnisse: Teilnahme: 315 Diabetiker in 18 Hausarztpraxen in Münster (>85% Typ2 DM; Ø67J.; 68%<10J. Diabetesdauer; 12,9% Diagnose DR) 65% fühlten sich gut über DR informiert. Nur 44% wussten, dass Netzhautuntersuchung beim DR-Screening wesentlich ist. Augenärztl. Therapiemöglichkeit der DR war nur ~50% bekannt. Die Rolle der BZ-Einstellung zur DR-Prophylaxe war >70% bewusst, die der RR-Einstellung >40% nicht bekannt. Der HBA1c-Wert war 23% unbekannt. >90% halten ophthamolog. Screening f. wichtig und ~ 2/3 haben Angst vor DR. Terminvergabe, Wartezeit und Information beim Augenarzt wurden >80% positiv beurteilt. Mydriasis in 26% als besonders störend bei der Untersuchung angegeben.

Schlußfolgerungen: Unter hausärztlich versorgten Diabetikern im städtischen Bereich Münsters war ein hohes Problembewusstsein bezüglich DR und überwiegend positive Erfahrungen mit der augenärztlichen Screening-Untersuchung erkennbar. Über Prophylaxe einer DR, Erkrankungsdetails sowie augenärztliche Therapiemöglichkeiten besteht ein Informationsdefizit. Hier scheinen Informationskampagnen sinnvoll. Deutschlandweit dürfte der Informationsbedarf relativ hierzu deutlich größer sein, da „non-compliante“ Diabetiker und ländliche Regionen nicht erfasst wurden.