gms | German Medical Science

23rd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

24.09. - 25.09.2010, Freiburg

Diagnostic vitrectomy in unclear intraocular inflammatory diseases

Meeting Abstract

  • Veronique Kitiratschky - University Eye Clinic Tübingen
  • K. U. Bartz-Schmidt - University Eye Clinic Tübingen
  • P. Szurman - University Eye Clinic Tübingen

German Retina Society. 23rd Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Freiburg i. Br., 24.-25.09.2010. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2010. Doc10rg65

DOI: 10.3205/10rg65, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-10rg655

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2010/10rg65.shtml

Published: September 21, 2010

© 2010 Kitiratschky et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Background: To assess the diagnostic value of air vitrectomy in severe intraocular inflammatory diseases of unknown origin.

Patients and Methods: Records of patients who underwent diagnostic vitrectomy were retrospectively reviewed. 86 patients with 1. clinical suspicion of vision or life threatening intraocular disease like viral retinitis, endogenous fungal endophthalmitis or intraocular lymphoma, or 2. atypical course of intraocular inflammation or inadequate response to empirical therapy were included. Exclusion criteria were immunosuppression, purulent infections of the anterior segment, and history of an intraocular foreign body or intraocular surgery during the last 7 days. To obtain a sufficient amount of undiluted vitreous specimen (>3 ml) vitrectomy was performed under air infusion. In selected cases an additional retinal biopsy was done. Specimen were sent for microbiological, virological and pathological analysis.

Results: By vitrectomy alone or in combination with retinal biopsy an intraocular lymphoma was diagnosed in 5 of 86 patients and suspected in another 2 patients. Infectious causes were identified in 28 of 86 patients with viruses of the human herpes group as the most prevalent cause (21 of 86). The most precise clinical diagnosis was achieved in patients with viral retinitis, while patients with unclear panuveitis and clinical suspicion of intraocular lymphoma were tested less often positive.

Conclusion: Diagnostic vitrectomy is a safe and useful procedure in the clinical management of possibly vision or life threatening inflammatory eye diseases. Air vitrectomy assures a large amount of undiluted vitreous specimen.

gms | German Medical Science

23. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

24.09. - 25.09.2010, Freiburg

Diagnostische Luftvitrektomie in der Abklärung unklarer intraokularer Entzündungen

Kongressabstract

  • Veronique Kitiratschky - Universitäts-Augenklinik Tübingen
  • K. U. Bartz-Schmidt - Universitäts-Augenklinik Tübingen
  • P. Szurman - Universitäts-Augenklinik Tübingen

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 23. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Freiburg i. Br., 24.-25.09.2010. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2010. Doc10rg65

doi: 10.3205/10rg65, urn:nbn:de:0183-10rg655

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2010/10rg65.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 21. September 2010

© 2010 Kitiratschky et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Ziel der Studie war die Evaluierung der Luftvitrektomie bei intraokularen Entzündungen unklarer Genese.

Patienten und Methoden: Es wurde eine retrospektive Analyse der diagnostischen Luftvitrektomie an unserer Klinik durchgeführt. Eingeschlossen wurden 86 Patienten mit klinischem Verdacht auf 1. eine visus- oder lebensbedrohende intraokulare Entzündung wie Virusretinitis, endogene Pilzendophthalmitis oder intraokulares Lymphom, oder 2. atypischen Verlauf einer intraokularen Entzündung oder ausbleibendem Ansprechen auf eine empirische Therapie. Ausschlusskriterien waren Immunosuppression, purulente Infektion des vorderen Augenabschnitts sowie positive Fremdkörperanamnese oder eine intraokulare Operation in den letzten 7 Tagen. Zur Gewinnung einer unverdünnten und ausreichenden Glaskörperprobe (>3 ml) wurde die Vitrektomie unter Luftinfusion („Luftvitrektomie“) durchgeführt. Befundabhängig erfolgte eine Netzhautbiopsie. Die Glaskörperproben wurden einer mikrobiologischen, virologischen sowie pathologischen Untersuchung unterzogen.

Ergebnisse: Durch die Vitrektomie alleine oder in Verbindung mit einer Netzhautbiopsie wurde bei 5 von 86 Patienten ein intraokulares Lymphom diagnostiziert. Bei 2 weiteren Patienten bestand nach pathologischer Diagnostik der starke Verdacht auf ein Lymphom. Eine infektiöse Ursache wurde bei 28 von 86 Patienten gefunden, wobei am häufigsten humane Herpesviren nachgewiesen wurden (21 von 86 Patienten). Der klinische Verdacht einer Virusretinitis wurde am häufigsten bestätigt, während bei Patienten mit unklarer Panuveitis oder dem klinischen Verdacht eines intraokularen Lymphoms weniger häufig eine Ursache identifiziert werden konnte.

Schlussfolgerungen: Die diagnostische Luftvitrektomie ist eine sichere und nützliche Ergänzung der diagnostischen Möglichkeiten bei visus- und lebensbedrohenden intraokularen Entzündungen. Mittels Luftvitrektomie kann eine ausreichende Menge unverdünnten Glaskörpes gewonnen werden.