gms | German Medical Science

23rd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

24.09. - 25.09.2010, Freiburg

A new Forceps for One Step Valve Free 23G Vitrectomy

Meeting Abstract

  • Martin S. Spitzer - University Eye Clinic Tübingen
  • M.A. Leitritz - University Eye Clinic Tübingen
  • K.U. Bartz-Schmidt - University Eye Clinic Tübingen

German Retina Society. 23rd Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Freiburg i. Br., 24.-25.09.2010. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2010. Doc10rg60

doi: 10.3205/10rg60, urn:nbn:de:0183-10rg602

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2010/10rg60.shtml

Published: September 21, 2010

© 2010 Spitzer et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Background: During valve free 23G vitrectomy frequently manipulation of the trocars with forceps is required.

Methods: A new forceps that has been specially customized for one step valve free 23G vitrectomy will be presented. The teeth of this forceps are ideal for external and internal stabilisation of 23 trocars.

Advantages: This new forceps allows atraumatic manipulation of the conjunctiva and stabilisation of the globe during insertion of the first trocar. During introduction of the second and the third trocar the forceps is ideally customized for rotation and fixation of the globe through insertion of the forceps into trocars that previously have been placed. Thus, the safety of trocar insertion and of introduction of the infusion cannula can be increased. Dislocated trocars can be re-positioned more safely. During fluid-air or air-gas exchange the globe can be pressurized more easily and more dynamically according to the surgeon’s needs and preferences (“dynamic valve”). Furthermore, reflux during trocar removal may be prevented by introduction of the specially designed forceps teeth into the trocar openings.

gms | German Medical Science

23. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

24.09. - 25.09.2010, Freiburg

Eine neue Trokarpinzette für die One Step Valve Free 23G Vitrektomie

Kongressabstract

  • Martin S. Spitzer - Universitäts-Augenklinik Tübingen
  • M.A. Leitritz - Universitäts-Augenklinik Tübingen
  • K.U. Bartz-Schmidt - Universitäts-Augenklinik Tübingen

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 23. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Freiburg i. Br., 24.-25.09.2010. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2010. Doc10rg60

doi: 10.3205/10rg60, urn:nbn:de:0183-10rg602

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2010/10rg60.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 21. September 2010

© 2010 Spitzer et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Bei der Valve Free 23G Vitrektomie sind im Operationsverlauf oftmals Manipulationen mit einer Pinzette an den Trokaren erforderlich.

Methode: Eine speziell für die One Step Valve Free 23 G Vitrektomie angepasste Trokarpinzette wird vorgestellt. Die „Zähne“ dieser Pinzette sind sowohl zu äußeren als auch zur inneren Stabilisierung von 23G Trokaren ideal angepasst.

Vorteile: Mit dieser Pinzette kann man beim Einbringen des ersten Trokars die Bindehaut atraumatisch verschieben und den Bulbus fixieren. Beim Einstechen der folgenden Trokare kann der Bulbus unter Zuhilfenahme der Pinzette mittels der bereits gestochenen Trokare schonend rotiert und fixiert werden, wodurch das Einbringen der Trokare sowie das Aufstecken der Infusion einfacher und sicherer wird. Dislozierte Trokare können leichter wieder in Position gebracht werden. Im Rahmen des Flüssigkeits-Luftaustausch bzw. bei der Gasfüllung kann der Operateur mit der vorgestellten Pinzette den Bulbus leichter geformt und tonisiert halten (dynamischer Ventilmechanismus). Durch Eingehen mit den Pinzettenenden in das Lumen der Trokare, können diese blockiert werden, wodurch beim Entfernen der Trokare Reflux vermieden werden kann.