gms | German Medical Science

23rd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

24.09. - 25.09.2010, Freiburg

Retinal vascular pathology in a model of familial Alzheimer's disease

Meeting Abstract

  • R. Michael Dutescu - Charité, University School of Medicine Berlin, University Eye Clinic, Campus Virchow Clinic, Berlin
  • M. Baier - Robert Koch Institute, Berlin
  • I. Semkova - Charité, University School of Medicine Berlin, University Eye Clinic, Campus Virchow Clinic, Berlin
  • S. Skosyrski - Charité, University School of Medicine Berlin, University Eye Clinic, Campus Virchow Clinic, Berlin
  • N. Kociok - Charité, University School of Medicine Berlin, University Eye Clinic, Campus Virchow Clinic, Berlin
  • K.W. Rüther - Charité, University School of Medicine Berlin, University Eye Clinic, Campus Virchow Clinic, Berlin

German Retina Society. 23rd Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Freiburg i. Br., 24.-25.09.2010. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2010. Doc10rg55

DOI: 10.3205/10rg55, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-10rg559

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2010/10rg55.shtml

Published: September 21, 2010

© 2010 Dutescu et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Background: Mutations of the Presenilin and Amyloid precursor protein genes are known to cause familiar Alzheimer's disease (FAD). Animal models harbouring those genes have been raised featuring the histopathological hallmarks of Alzheimer’s disease (AD) such as amyloid plaques formation, neurofibrillary tangles and neuronal loss. AD is also accompanied with vascular pathology often described as an early finding in disease progression. Focussing on ocular changes in AD, studies have shown the major hallmarks of AD, e.g β Amyloid (Aβ) deposits in retinal micro vascular walls of tgAPP/Ps1 mice. Still, there is not much known about the structural and functional changes that retinal blood vessels undergo in AD.

Methods/Results: Therefore, we investigated the vasculature in the tgAPPswe/PS1ΔE9 model of familiar Alzheimer's disease. Although gross anatomy revealed functionally comparable vascular structure, fluorescence angiograms revealed reduced peripheral retinal perfusion. Aβ positive immuno-staining present in inner retinal vessels was accompanied by para-vascular astrocyte degeneration. At 5 months of age, transgenic mice showed paravascular astrocyte degeneration. Astrocyte end feet are detached from the microvascular basal membranes. This is known to cause reduced potassium clearance from neuronal tissue, finally leading to osmotic imbalance. At 12 months, electroretinography revealed mild scotopic and photopic alterations.

Conclusions: Therefore, retinal vascular pathology is likely an early finding in AD. The easy accessibility of the retinal vascular tissue could therefore make it an efficient tool to monitor AD progression.

gms | German Medical Science

23. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

24.09. - 25.09.2010, Freiburg

Retinovaskuläre Pathologie in einem Modell der familiären Alzheimererkrankung

Kongressabstract

  • R. Michael Dutescu - Charité-Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Augenklinik, Campus Virchow-Klinikum
  • M. Baier - Robert Koch-Institut, Berlin
  • I. Semkova - Charité-Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Augenklinik, Campus Virchow-Klinikum
  • S. Skosyrski - Charité-Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Augenklinik, Campus Virchow-Klinikum
  • N. Kociok - Charité-Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Augenklinik, Campus Virchow-Klinikum
  • K.W. Rüther - Charité-Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Augenklinik, Campus Virchow-Klinikum

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 23. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Freiburg i. Br., 24.-25.09.2010. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2010. Doc10rg55

doi: 10.3205/10rg55, urn:nbn:de:0183-10rg559

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2010/10rg55.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 21. September 2010

© 2010 Dutescu et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Mutationen des Presenilin und des Amyloid Vorläuferprotein Gens sind als Ursache der Familiären Alzheimererkrankung (FAD) beschrieben worden. Tiermodelle, welche diese Mutationen exprimieren sind entwickelt worden. Diese zeigen die histopathologischen Charakteristika, Amyloid Plaque Bildung, Neurofibrillen und Verlust von Neuronen, welche die Alzheimererkrankung (AE) auszeichnen. Zusätzlich ist eine im Krankheitsverlauf früh auftretende Vaskulopathie beschrieben worden. Bezogen auf das Auge haben sich neben den charakteristischen histopathologischen Veränderungen auch Ablagerungen von beta Amyloid (Aβ) in mikrovaskulären Wänden von tgAPP/Ps1 Mäusen gezeigt. Dennoch ist wenig bekannt über die funktionellen und strukturellen Veränderungen von retinalen Gefäßen von Alzheimer-Patienten.

Methoden/Ergebnisse: Daher haben wir die retinalen Gefäße in dem tgAPPswe/PS1ΔE9 Alzheimermausmodell untersucht. Obwohl die Gefäße strukturell bei grober Betrachtung regelrecht erscheinen, zeigte sich in der Fluoreszenzangiographie eine reduzierte Perfusion der retinalen Peripherie. Aβ-Immunfärbung war um Gefäße der inneren Netzhaut nachweisbar. Dies war begleitet von Verlust an para-vaskulären Astozyten. Bereits im Alter von 5 Monaten zeigte sich eine para-vaskuläre Astrozytendegeneration mit Verlust von Astozyten End-Füßen um mikrovaskuläre Basalmembranen. Bekanntermaßen führt dies zu einer reduzierten Kaliumclearence aus neuronalem Gewebe sowie osmotischen Imbalance. Mit 12 Monaten zeigten sich frühe skotopische und photopische elektroretinographische Veränderungen.

Schlussfolgerungen: Daher ist anzunehmen, dass eine retinovaskuläre Pathology ein Frühzeichen der Alzheimererkrankung ist. Aus der einfachen Erreichbarkeit retinaler Gefäße könnte ein Instrument abgeleitet werden, um eine Progression der Alzheimererkrankung zu Monitoren.