gms | German Medical Science

23rd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

24.09. - 25.09.2010, Freiburg

Retinal microglia in the mouse model of oxygen-induced retinopathy

Meeting Abstract

Search Medline for

  • Franziska Fischer - University Eye Clinic Freiburg i. Br.
  • G. Martin - University Eye Clinic Freiburg i. Br.
  • H. Agostini - University Eye Clinic Freiburg i. Br.

German Retina Society. 23rd Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Freiburg i. Br., 24.-25.09.2010. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2010. Doc10rg44

doi: 10.3205/10rg44, urn:nbn:de:0183-10rg441

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2010/10rg44.shtml

Published: September 21, 2010

© 2010 Fischer et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Background and Purpose: Retinal neovascularization has been intensively investigated in the mouse model of oxygen-induced retinopathy (OIR). But the role of microglial cells (MC) in oxygen induced retinopathy with cell loss and recative angiogenesis has not yet been clarified.

Methods: Mice with the Cx3cr1 gene replaced by GFP were used to identify MC. They were kept in 75% oxygen from post-natal day 7 (P7) to P12. After return to normal room air, retinal flat-mounts or cryosections were stained with lectin and investigated by fluorescence microscopy.

Results: MC are not activated in the fully developed, healthy retina. In the OIR model, activated microglia were observed twice: during the hyperoxic phase (P10) and during neovasularisation (P17). The density of resting MC in the deep layer decreases significantly after return to normal room air.

Conclusions: Using Cx3cr1-deficient GFP-positive mice, it is possible to study the role of MC in vascular remodeling. Activated MC may be involved in the formation of the central avascular zone as well as in retinal revascularisation.

gms | German Medical Science

23. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

24.09. - 25.09.2010, Freiburg

Retinale Mikrogliazellen im Mausmodell der Sauerstoff-induzierten Retinopathie

Kongressabstract

Suche in Medline nach

  • Franziska Fischer - Universitäts-Augenklinik Freiburg i. Br.
  • G. Martin - Universitäts-Augenklinik Freiburg i. Br.
  • H. Agostini - Universitäts-Augenklinik Freiburg i. Br.

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 23. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Freiburg i. Br., 24.-25.09.2010. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2010. Doc10rg44

doi: 10.3205/10rg44, urn:nbn:de:0183-10rg441

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2010/10rg44.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 21. September 2010

© 2010 Fischer et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Im OIR-Mausmodell (oxygen-induced retinopathy) wurden Gefäßuntergang und Neovaskularisation in der Retina bereits ausführlich untersucht. Über die Rolle der Mikrogliazellen bei diesen Prozessen ist bisher noch wenig bekannt.

Methoden: Um die Mikrogliazellen zu detektieren, wurden Mäuse verwendet, die unter Kontrolle des Mikroglia-spezifischen Promotors von Cx3Cr1 das Grün-fluoreszierende Protein (GFP) exprimieren. Die Mäuse wurden von P7 (postnatal day 7) bis P12 in 75% Sauerstoff gehalten. Nach Rückkehr in die normale Raumluft wurden Retina-Flachpräparate und Kryoschnitte mit Lectin gefärbt und am Fluoreszenzmikroskop untersucht.

Ergebnisse: Mikrogliazellen kommen in der gesunden und normal entwickelten Retina nicht im aktivierten Zustand vor. Im OIR-Modell konnten aktivierte Mikrogliazellen zu zwei Zeitpunkten beobachtet werden: während der Hyperoxie-Phase (P10) und während der Neovaskularisation (P17). Die Dichte der ruhenden Mikrogliazellen im tiefen Netz der Retina fiel nach Rückkehr in die normale Raumluft signifikant ab.

Schlussfolgerungen: Die GFP-positiven Mäuse eignen sich sehr gut um die Rolle der Mikrogliazellen bei Gefäßuntergang und -neubildung zu untersuchen. Aktivierte Mikrogliazellen könnten sowohl bei der Bildung der zentralen avaskulären Zone als auch bei der Neovaskularisierung beteiligt sein.