gms | German Medical Science

23rd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

24.09. - 25.09.2010, Freiburg

Potentials of anti-VEGF therapy in neovascular glaucoma

Meeting Abstract

Search Medline for

  • Andreas Lipski - University Eye Clinic Essen
  • N. Bornfeld - University Eye Clinic Essen
  • B. Jurklies - University Eye Clinic Essen

German Retina Society. 23rd Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Freiburg i. Br., 24.-25.09.2010. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2010. Doc10rg43

doi: 10.3205/10rg43, urn:nbn:de:0183-10rg432

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2010/10rg43.shtml

Published: September 21, 2010

© 2010 Lipski et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Background: Causal therapeutic approaches to neovascular glaucome e.g. in diabetic retinopathy include destructive laser- and kryotechniques of both the retina and ciliary body. Although anti-VEGF therapy widens the therapeutic spectrum, its efficacy remains unproven.

Methods: Case presentations, review of the literature.

Results: An uncomparable potential to temporarily resolve neovascular vessels following intraocular phamacotherapy using Avastin justifies rapid and lasting introduction into the therapeutic catalogue in neovascular glaucoma; an irreplaceable time advantage in the long term therapy of the disease may result.

Conclusion: As the pathogenesis of neovascular glaucoma is not influenced causally or longer-lasting by intraocular Avastin, adjunctive and prompt application of the aforementioned established treatment modalities may help to approve or refund anti-VEGF therapy in neovascular glaucoma.

gms | German Medical Science

23. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

24.09. - 25.09.2010, Freiburg

Chancen der anti-VEGF-Therapie beim Neovaskularisationsglaukom

Kongressabstract

Suche in Medline nach

  • Andreas Lipski - Universitäts-Augenklinik Essen
  • N. Bornfeld - Universitäts-Augenklinik Essen
  • B. Jurklies - Universitäts-Augenklinik Essen

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 23. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Freiburg i. Br., 24.-25.09.2010. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2010. Doc10rg43

DOI: 10.3205/10rg43, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-10rg432

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2010/10rg43.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 21. September 2010

© 2010 Lipski et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Kausale Therapieoptionen zur Behandlung des Neovaskularisationsglaukoms z.B. bei diabetischer Retinopathie beinhalten destruktive Laser- und Kälteverfahren sowohl der Netzhaut als auch des Ciliarkörpers. Mit der anti-VEGF-Therapie ergibt sich eine Erweiterung der Behandlungsmöglichkeit mit fraglicher Effektivität.

Methoden: Falldarstellungen, Literaturdaten.

Ergebnisse: Die unvergleichliche Schnelligkeit der Auflösung der Neovaskularisationsgefäße durch Avastin rechtfertigt grundsätzlich eine zügige und dauerhafte Aufnahme in den Katalog der Therapieverfahren beim Neovaskularisationsglaukom, da sich hierdurch ein unersetzlicher Zeitvorteil in der Langzeittherapie der Erkrankung ergeben kann.

Schlussfolgerungen: Da die Pathogenese der Erkrankung durch intraokuläres Avastin nicht ursächlich und langfristig beeinflusst wird, könnte z.B. die Ergänzung bzw. zeitnahe Ausschöpfung der etablierten und oben erwähnten Therapieverfahren beim Neovaskularisationsglaukom hilfreich für die Zulassung bzw. Kostenübernahme der Behandlung sein.