gms | German Medical Science

23rd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

24.09. - 25.09.2010, Freiburg

Choroidal neovascularization recurrence after autologous transplantation of retinal pigment epithelium and choroid in neovascular age-related macular degeneration

Meeting Abstract

  • Albert Caramoy - University Eye Clinic Cologne
  • S. Liakopoulos - University Eye Clinic Cologne
  • B. Kirchhof - University Eye Clinic Cologne

German Retina Society. 23rd Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Freiburg i. Br., 24.-25.09.2010. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2010. Doc10rg41

DOI: 10.3205/10rg41, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-10rg419

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2010/10rg41.shtml

Published: September 21, 2010

© 2010 Caramoy et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Introduction: Autologous transplantation of retinal pigment epithelium (RPE) and choroid was a therapy option for exudative age-related macular degeneration (AMD) before the anti vascular endothelial growth factor (anti-VEGF) era. Until now no choroidal neovascularization (CNV) recurrence in the center of the graft was ever reported.

Methods: A case report of a patient with recurrent CNV in the center of the autologous graft of RPE and choroid. Fluorescein, indocyanine green angiography, and optical coherence tomography (OCT) were done.

Results: After an autologous transplantation of RPE and choroid for neovascular AMD on the year 2004 visual acuity gain from 20/100 preoperatively to 20/25 postoperatively was seen, which remains stable up to 5 years. Five years and nine months after the transplantation visual acuity deterioration was noted. The fluorescein angiography shows a leakage in the center of the graft. In OCT a hyperreflective subretinal tissue with disruption of the RPE band was seen. Intravitreal bevacizumab was given.

Discussion: The transplantation of RPE, Bruch’s membrane and choroid from the periphery might improve and stabilize visual acuity in selected cases of neovascular AMD. However over time the graft might not withstand the metabolical need of the macula, inducing the CNV recurrence.

gms | German Medical Science

23. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

24.09. - 25.09.2010, Freiburg

Rezidiv einer choroidalen Neovaskularisation nach autologer Transplantation von retinalem Pigmentepithel und Aderhaut bei neovaskulärer AMD

Kongressabstract

Suche in Medline nach

  • Albert Caramoy - Universitäts-Augenklinik Köln
  • S. Liakopoulos - Universitäts-Augenklinik Köln
  • B. Kirchhof - Universitäts-Augenklinik Köln

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 23. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Freiburg i. Br., 24.-25.09.2010. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2010. Doc10rg41

doi: 10.3205/10rg41, urn:nbn:de:0183-10rg419

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2010/10rg41.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 21. September 2010

© 2010 Caramoy et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Die autologe Transplantation von retinalem Pigmentepithel (RPE) und Aderhaut war eine Therapieoption bei exsudativer AMD vor der anti-VEGF Ära. Bisher wurde noch kein Rezidiv einer choroidalen Neovaskularisation (CNV) inmitten des Transplantats beschrieben.

Methode: Ein Fallbericht von einer Patientin mit CNV-Rezidiv inmitten des Transplantats aus RPE und Aderhaut. Fluorescein- und Indocyanin-Grün-Angiographie, sowie Aufnahmen mit der optischen Kohärenztomographie (OCT) wurden durchgeführt.

Ergebnisse: Nach autologer Transplantation von RPE und Aderhaut bei neu aufgetretener neovaskulärer AMD im Jahr 2004 stieg die Sehschärfe der Patientin von 20/100 präoperativ auf 20/25 an und blieb über 5 Jahre stabil. Fünf Jahre und 9 Monate nach der Transplantation klagte die Patientin über eine Verminderung der Sehschärfe. Die Fluoreszein Angiographie zeigte eine neu aufgetretene Leckage inmitten des Transplantats. Das OCT zeigte hyperreflektives subretinales Gewebe sowie eine Unterbrechung des RPE Bandes. Eine intravitreale Injektion mit Bevacizumab wurde durchgeführt.

Schlussfolgerung: Ein Transplantat aus RPE, Bruch’scher Membran und Aderhaut aus der Peripherie kann die Sehkraft bei Patienten mit neovaskulärer AMD in Einzelfällen über eine gewisse Zeit verbessern und stabilisieren. Über die Zeit jedoch scheint das Transplantat der Peripherie nicht immer den hohen Anforderungen der Makula standzuhalten, so dass sich auch im Zentrum des Transplantates ein CNV-Rezidiv entwickeln kann.