gms | German Medical Science

23rd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

24.09. - 25.09.2010, Freiburg

Serum Survivin levels in patients with uveal melanoma – a promising biomarker?

Meeting Abstract

  • Inna Georgieva - Charité, University School of Medicine Berlin, University Eye Clinic, Campus Virchow Clinic and Campus Benjamin Franklin, Berlin
  • G. Willerding - Charité, University School of Medicine Berlin, University Eye Clinic, Campus Virchow Clinic and Campus Benjamin Franklin, Berlin
  • M. H. Foerster - DRK Hospitals Berlin Westend, Berlin
  • A. M. Joussen - Charité, University School of Medicine Berlin, University Eye Clinic, Campus Virchow Clinic and Campus Benjamin Franklin, Berlin

German Retina Society. 23rd Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Freiburg i. Br., 24.-25.09.2010. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2010. Doc10rg39

doi: 10.3205/10rg39, urn:nbn:de:0183-10rg392

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2010/10rg39.shtml

Published: September 21, 2010

© 2010 Georgieva et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Background: Survivin is a member of the “Inhibitor of Apoptosis Proteins” (IAP) family, with a bifunctional role in mitosis and apoptosis.The present study was focused on detection of survivin in the serum of patients with uveal melanoma and to evaluate its potential diagnostic role.The aim of the study was to establish a method by which the serum levels of survivin can be used as a predictive value in the treatment outcome of patient with uveal melanoma.

Methods: The serum samples were obtained from patients with uveal melanoma (n=24) and healthy volunteers (n=23) at the Eye Hospital of Campus Benjamin Franklin of Charité-Universitätsmedizin Berlin after previously given informed consent to this pilot study. Most of the patients suffered from newly diagnosed uveal melanoma. The mean tumor prominence was 7,93mm (range 3.4–11.7mm). Five patients had Metastatic disease and received chemotherapy. The mean age of patients with uveal melanoma was 67.46 years (range 36–81). Survivin serum levels were determined using enzyme-linked immunoabsorbent assay (ELISA).

Results: There was an increase of the survivin protein serum levels in patients with uveal melanoma compared to the healthy controls, but it did not reach statistical significance (t-test p= 0.06). The serum levels tend to be high higher in patients with a greater tumor burden or metastasis.

Conclusion: This is the first study to quantify survivin protein levels in patients with uveal melanoma. The preliminary data from this small study should be evaluated in future clinical trials in order to define its potential diagnostic and prognostic use.

gms | German Medical Science

23. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

24.09. - 25.09.2010, Freiburg

Survivin Protein im Serum von Patienten mit Aderhautmelanom – ein viel versprechender Tumormarker?

Kongressabstract

  • Inna Georgieva - Charité-Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Augenklinik, Campus Virchow-Klinikum und Campus Benjamin Franklin
  • G. Willerding - Charité-Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Augenklinik, Campus Virchow-Klinikum und Campus Benjamin Franklin
  • M. H. Foerster - Augenzentrum, DRK Kliniken Berlin Westend
  • A. M. Joussen - Charité-Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Augenklinik, Campus Virchow-Klinikum und Campus Benjamin Franklin

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 23. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Freiburg i. Br., 24.-25.09.2010. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2010. Doc10rg39

doi: 10.3205/10rg39, urn:nbn:de:0183-10rg392

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2010/10rg39.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 21. September 2010

© 2010 Georgieva et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Survivin gehört zur Proteingruppe von Inhibitoren der Apoptose und hat darüber hinaus eine bifunktionale Rolle bei Mitose und Apoptose, die mit der Aggressivität von Tumoren verknüpft ist. Unser Ziel war die Etablierung einer Methode, mit der der Serumspiegel von Survivin als prädiktiver Marker für Diagnostik und Therapie von Aderhautmelanomen genutzt werden kann.

Methoden: Serumproben von Patienten mit Aderhautmelanom (n=24) und von gesunden Kontrollpersonen (n=20) wurden an der Augenklinik des Campus Benjamin Franklin der Charité gesammelt. Alle Patienten gaben ihr Einverständnis zu dieser Pilotstudie. Bei der Mehrzahl der Patienten wurde ein Aderhautmelanom diagnostiziert. Die mittlere Prominenz der Tumore betrug 7,93 mm. Bei 5 Patienten wurden Metastasen nachgewiesen. Anschließend erfolgte eine Chemotherapie. Das Alter der Patienten betrug im Median 67,46 Jahre (36–81 Jahre). Zum Nachweis der Survivin Serumspiegel wurde ein ELISA -Test benutzt und die Ergebnisse statistisch ausgewertet.

Ergebnis: Im Vergleich zu gesunden Kontrollpersonen zeigte sich ein Anstieg der Survivin Serumspiegel bei Patenten mit Aderhautmelanom (p=0.06), wobei die statistische Signifikanz nicht erreicht wurde. Jedoch wurde die Tendenz zu einem höheren Survivin Serumspiegel bei Patienten mit einer großen Tumorlast nachgewiesen.

Schlussfolgerung: Dies ist die erste Studie, die Survivin Serumspiegel bei Patienten mit Aderhautmelanom quantifiziert. Die Ergebnisse dieser kleinen Pilotstudie sollten in weiteren klinischen Studien evaluiert werden, um den Stellenwert der Survivin Serumspiegel zu diagnostischen Zwecken und als prädiktiver Marker des Therapieerfolges zu erkennen.