gms | German Medical Science

23rd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

24.09. - 25.09.2010, Freiburg

Treatment of the exudative retinal detachment after brachytherapy of uveal melanomas: Triamcinolone acetonide vs pars plana Vitrectomy

Meeting Abstract

  • Theodora Gkika - University Eye Clinic Essen
  • B. Jurklies - University Eye Clinic Essen
  • M. Gök - University Eye Clinic Essen
  • M. Freistühler - University Eye Clinic Essen
  • D. Flühs - University Eye Clinic Essen
  • W. Sauerwein - University Eye Clinic Essen
  • N. Bornfeld - University Eye Clinic Essen

German Retina Society. 23rd Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Freiburg i. Br., 24.-25.09.2010. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2010. Doc10rg37

doi: 10.3205/10rg37, urn:nbn:de:0183-10rg374

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2010/10rg37.shtml

Published: September 21, 2010

© 2010 Gkika et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Purpose: An acute complication occuring after brachytherapy is the so called “toxic tumor syndrome”. Large uveal melanomas disintergrade often very quickly during and directly after irradiation. This is often leading to an intraocular inflammatory reaction, uveal detachment, and an increasing exudative retinal detachment. The effect of intravitreal injection or injection applied to the sub-Tenon space was compared to the results after pars plana Vitrectomy with silicon oil tamponade.

Methods: A total of 60 patients was treated with triamcinolone injections. In 29 patients the medication was applied in the vitreous cavity and in 31 patients in the sub-Tenon space. In 50 cases the injection was given within a month after brachytherapy and in 10 eyes later on. 20 eyes with a persistent retinal detachment underwent a pars plana Vitrectomy 6,6 months after plaque removal.

Results: 49 patients treated with triamcinolone, presented a complete resorption of the exudative retinal detachment. These patients were divided in 3 groups. In group A (n=38) only 1 injection was applied within a month after brachytherapy. In group B (n=5) the medication was applied after at least one month after brachytherapy and in group C (n=6) there were 2 injections necessary. In group A the exudative retinal detachment resorbed within 4,15 months, in group B after 13,2 months and in group C within 5,95 months after brachytherapy. The resorption of the exudative retinal detachment occured after a mean of 4,1 months after intravitreal application of the medication and after 4,2 months after the injection in the sub-Tenon space. From the 20 patients in the vitrectomy group, 6 patients underwent removal of the silicon oil combined with phacoemulsification and IOL-implantation, 2 eyes underwent 2 more additional vitrectomies due to a recurrent retinal detachment. Primary and final visual acuity were comparable in both groups (triamcinolone vs vitrectomy). No tumor recurrence was noticed.

Conclusions: For an optimal treatment of the exudative retinal detachment, an injection of triamcinolone is recommended in combination with the plaque removal. A pars plana Vitrectomy is an invasive treatment modality with a higher complications rate compared to an intravitreal injection. In cases of persistent retinal detachment or retinal detachment with rhegmatogenous components a pars plana Vitrectomy is the treatment of choice.

gms | German Medical Science

23. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

24.09. - 25.09.2010, Freiburg

Therapie der exsudativen Ablatio retinae nach Brachytherapie des Aderhautmelanoms: Triamcinolonacetonid vs pars plana Vitrektomie

Kongressabstract

  • Theodora Gkika - Universitäts-Augenklinik Essen
  • B. Jurklies - Universitäts-Augenklinik Essen
  • M. Gök - Universitäts-Augenklinik Essen
  • M. Freistühler - Universitäts-Augenklinik Essen
  • D. Flühs - Universitäts-Augenklinik Essen
  • W. Sauerwein - Universitäts-Augenklinik Essen
  • N. Bornfeld - Universitäts-Augenklinik Essen

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 23. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Freiburg i. Br., 24.-25.09.2010. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2010. Doc10rg37

DOI: 10.3205/10rg37, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-10rg374

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2010/10rg37.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 21. September 2010

© 2010 Gkika et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Eine akute Komplikation der Brachytherapie ist das „toxic tumor syndrome“. Prominente Aderhautmelanome zerfallen oft sehr schnell während und nach der Bestrahlung. Dies führt zu einer intraokulären inflammatorischen Reaktion, Aderhautamotio und Zunahme der exsudativen Ablatio retinae. Untersucht wurde der Effekt von intravitreal oder subtenonal applizierter Triamcinolonacetonid-Kristallsuspension (Off-Label-Therapie), verglichen mit der Durchführung einer pars plana Vitrektomie mit Silikonöltamponade bei der Ablatio retinae.

Methoden: Insgesamt wurden 60 Patienten mit Triamcinolonacetonid Injektionen behandelt. Bei 29 Patienten wurde das Medikament intravitreal und bei 31 Patienten subtenonal appliziert. Bei 50 Patienten wurde die Injektion innerhalb eines Monats nach der Brachytherapie und bei 10 Patienten zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt verabreicht. 20 Patienten mit einer persistierenden Ablatio retinae wurden im Mittel 6,6 Monate nach der Entfernung des Applikators mit eine Vitrektomie und Silikonöltamponade behandelt.

Ergebnisse: 49 Patienten, die mit Triamcinolon behandelt worden sind, zeigten eine vollständige Resorption der exsudativen Ablatio retinae. Diese Patienten wurden in 3 Gruppen eingeteilt. In der Gruppe A (n=38) wurde 1 Injektion innerhalb eines Monats nach der Brachytherapie durchgeführt. In der Gruppe B (n=5) wurde das Medikament nach mindestens 1 Monat injiziert und in der Gruppe C (n=6) waren 2 Injektionen erforderlich. In Gruppe A hat sich die exsudative Ablatio retinae innerhalb von 4,15 Monaten, in Gruppe B nach 13,2 Monaten und in Gruppe C innerhalb von 5,94 Monaten nach der Entfernung des Applikators resorbiert. Die Resorptionszeit betrug im Mittel 4,1 Monate nach intravitrealer Applikation und 4,2 Monate nach subtenonaler Applikation. Von den 20 Patienten in der Vitrektomie-Gruppe, wurde bei 6 Patienten die Silikonölentfernung mit einer Phakoemulsifikation und IOL-Implantation kombiniert. Bei 2 Patienten wurde zusätzlich zweimal eine Vitrektomie durchgeführt bei re-Ablatio. Primärer und End- Visus waren in beiden Gruppen (Triamcinolon vs Vitrektomie) vergleichbar. Es wurde kein Rezidiv festgestellt.

Schlussfolgerungen: Um die exsudative Ablatio retinae optimal zu behandeln ist eine frühzeitige Injektion von Triamcinolonacetonid, am besten intraoperativ bei der Entfernung des Applikators, anzustreben. Die pars plana Vitrektomie ist ein invasives Verfahren mit einer hoheren Komplikationsrate, verglichen mit Triamcinolon Injektionen. Bei einer persistierenden Ablatio retinae oder bei einer Ablatio mit rhegmatogenen Komponenten ist die Vitrektomie eine sinnvolle Therapieoption.