gms | German Medical Science

23rd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

24.09. - 25.09.2010, Freiburg

Retrospective analysis to evaluate risk factors for radiation retinopathy in patients received proton beam radiation as a treatment for choroidal melanoma

Meeting Abstract

  • Vinodh Kakkassery - Charité, University School of Medicine Berlin, University Eye Clinic, Campus Virchow Clinic and Campus Benjamin Franklin, Berlin
  • G. Willerding - Charité, University School of Medicine Berlin, University Eye Clinic, Campus Virchow Clinic and Campus Benjamin Franklin, Berlin
  • D. Cordini - Charité, University School of Medicine Berlin, BerlinProtonen centre for eye tumors at the Helmholtz centre, Berlin
  • S. Winterhalter - Charité, University School of Medicine Berlin, University Eye Clinic, Campus Virchow Clinic and Campus Benjamin Franklin, Berlin
  • J. Heufelder - Charité, University School of Medicine Berlin, BerlinProtonen centre for eye tumors at the Helmholtz centre, Berlin
  • A.M. Joussen - Charité, University School of Medicine Berlin, University Eye Clinic, Campus Virchow Clinic and Campus Benjamin Franklin, Berlin

German Retina Society. 23rd Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Freiburg i. Br., 24.-25.09.2010. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2010. Doc10rg29

DOI: 10.3205/10rg29, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-10rg297

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2010/10rg29.shtml

Published: September 21, 2010

© 2010 Kakkassery et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Introduction: Radiation retinopathy, a complication of choroidal melanoma radiation, compromise the visual acuity two to three years after therapy and may lead in severe cases to rubeosis and neovascular glaucoma. Aim of this retrospective study, is to evaluate risk factors for developing radiation retinopathy.

Methods: Data for this retrospective study were obtained from the register of the BerlinProtonen, centre for eye tumors (http://www.berlinprotonen.de/) at Charité in Berlin. Analysis of data were done by Gaussian and Non-Gaussian statistical tests. Patients were classified in no radiation retinopathy or radiation retinopathy. Category radiation retinopathy included patients with a radiation retinopathy stadium I to IV according to the classification of Paul T Finger (New York/ USA). Results were rechecked for statistical significance in cooperation with the department for medical statistics at Charité in Berlin.

Results: Data of 584 patients have been registered from 1998 to 2005. 563 patients developed at least a mild form of radiation retinopathy. Statistical analysis demonstrate a significant higher age, total dose of radiation and fovea dose of radiation. No significant differences were seen for gender, papillary dose and ciliary body dose.

Conclusion: Results for proton beam radiation are conforming findings in ophthalmic plaque therapy. Patients with risk factors for radiation retinopathy like age, total dose und fovea dose should visit an ophthalmologist on a regular basis. Standard therapies have to be established and differences between laser therapy and intravitreal therapy have to be evaluated.

gms | German Medical Science

23. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

24.09. - 25.09.2010, Freiburg

Retrospektive Untersuchung zur Evaluation von Risikofaktoren der Strahlenretinopathie nach Protonenbehandlung von choriodalen Melanomen

Kongressabstract

  • Vinodh Kakkassery - Charité-Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Augenklinik, Campus Virchow-Klinikum und Campus Benjamin Franklin
  • G. Willerding - Charité-Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Augenklinik, Campus Virchow-Klinikum und Campus Benjamin Franklin
  • D. Cordini - Charité-Universitätsmedizin Berlin, BerlinProtonen am Helmholtz-Zentrum
  • S. Winterhalter - Charité-Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Augenklinik, Campus Virchow-Klinikum und Campus Benjamin Franklin
  • J. Heufelder - Charité-Universitätsmedizin Berlin, BerlinProtonen am Helmholtz-Zentrum
  • A.M. Joussen - Charité-Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Augenklinik, Campus Virchow-Klinikum und Campus Benjamin Franklin

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 23. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Freiburg i. Br., 24.-25.09.2010. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2010. Doc10rg29

doi: 10.3205/10rg29, urn:nbn:de:0183-10rg297

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2010/10rg29.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 21. September 2010

© 2010 Kakkassery et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Einleitung: Die Strahlenretinopathie, eine Spätfolge der Bestrahlungstherapie beim Aderhautmelanom, gefährdet eine evtl. guten Visus im Verlauf von 2-3 Jahren nach der Therapie und kann in schwerwiegenden Fällen zu einem Neovaskularisationsglaukom führen. Ziel dieser retrospektiven Studie ist die Evaluation von Risikofaktoren der Strahlenretinopathie,

Methoden: Die retrospektive Studie erfolgte durch Daten aus dem Register von BerlinProtonen, dem Kompetenzzentrum für Augentumoren (http://www.berlinprotonen.de/) an der Charité in Berlin. Auswertungen der Daten erfolgte mit Normalverteilung oder Nicht-Normalverteilung unterliegenden Statistiktests. Das Patientenkollektiv wurde den Kategorien keine oder eine Strahlenretinopathie zugeordnet. Die Kategorie eine Strahlenretinopathie beinhaltete hierbei Patienten mit einem Stadium I bis IV Strahlenretinopathie nach der Klassifikation von Paul T Finger (New York/ USA). Die Ergebnisse wurden hinsichtlich der statistischen Aussagen mit der Medizinischen Statistik der Charite in Berlin gemeinsam überprüft.

Ergebnisse: Insgesamt sind Daten von 584 Patienten im Zeitraum von 1998 bis 2005 erfasst worden. 563 Patienten entwickelten im Beobachtungszeitraum eine zumindest milde Form der Strahlenretinopathie. Die statistische Analyse beider Gruppen zeigte bei Patienten mit einer Strahlenretinopathie ein signifikant höheres Alter, eine signifikant größere Gesamtdosis und eine signifikant größere Dosis der Fovea. Keine signifikanten Unterschiede konnten hinsichtlich des Geschlechts, der Papillendosis und der Ziliarkörperdosis gesehen werden.

Schlussfolgerungen: Diese Ergebnisse entsprechen zum Teil denen nach der Behandlung mit einem Strahlenapplikator. Patienten mit entsprechenden Risikofaktoren wie Alter, hohe Gesamtdosis und Foveadosis sind engmaschig augenärztlich zu kontrollieren. Standardtherapieverfahren müssen etabliert und Unterschiede zwischen der Lasertherapie und intravitreale Verfahren erarbeitet werden.