gms | German Medical Science

23rd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

24.09. - 25.09.2010, Freiburg

Retina.net – retinological network for clinical trials

Meeting Abstract

Search Medline for

  • Claudia Weiß - Clinical Trials Center Cologne (CTC Cologne), for retina.net
  • E. Limburg - Clinical Trials Center Cologne (CTC Cologne), for retina.net

German Retina Society. 23rd Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Freiburg i. Br., 24.-25.09.2010. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2010. Doc10rg27

doi: 10.3205/10rg27, urn:nbn:de:0183-10rg270

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2010/10rg27.shtml

Published: September 21, 2010

© 2010 Weiß et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Purpose: retina.net was initiated to generate evidence for diagnostic and therapeutic procedures in retinology by performing clinical trials. Its focus is long-term assurance of quality and patient security according to ICH-GCP.

Methods: The creation of retina.net aims at establishing a professional infrastructure for performing multicenter clinical trials. The coordination center at the CTC Cologne serves as base of a national research network. This yields in acceleration of the transfer of scientific evidence to clinical practice and therefore in amelioration of patient care.Main function of the coordination center is to serve with advice in the context of clinical trials such as study conception, regulatory affairs and quality assurance, as well as competent assistance in acquiring third-party funds (Financial planning, applications) and performing clinical trials.

Results: Based on a two years funding (Jackstaedt-Stiftung, together with RG and DOG) rhe coordination center at the CTC Cologne has been implemented and a charter is present. Structures and processes have become effective. Advice has been povided successfully for multiple projects in terms of Conception and Planning.

Conclusions: retina.net stands for scientific excellence and GCP in clinical research in federation of strong scientific partners as an active network associating methodological, regulatory and clinical expertise.

gms | German Medical Science

23. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

24.09. - 25.09.2010, Freiburg

Retina.net – Retinologisches Netzwerk für klinische Studien

Kongressabstract

Suche in Medline nach

  • Claudia Weiß - Zentrum für Klinische Studien Köln, für retina.net
  • E. Limburg - Zentrum für Klinische Studien Köln, für retina.net

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 23. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Freiburg i. Br., 24.-25.09.2010. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2010. Doc10rg27

doi: 10.3205/10rg27, urn:nbn:de:0183-10rg270

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2010/10rg27.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 21. September 2010

© 2010 Weiß et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Das retina.net wurde initiiert, um Evidenz von diagnostischen und therapeutischen Verfahren in der Retinologie durch die Durchführung klinischer Studien zu generieren. Die nachhaltige Sicherstellung der Qualität und Patientensicherheit entsprechend ICH-GCP steht dabei im Zentrum.

Methoden: Die Einrichtung von retina.net hat zum Ziel, eine professionelle Infrastruktur für multizentrische klinische Studien zu schaffen. Als Basis eines nationalen Forschungsnetzwerkes dient die Koordinierungszentrale im ZKS Köln. Die resultierende Netzwerkbildung soll die Beschleunigung des Transfers wissenschaftlicher Ergebnisse in die klinische Anwendung und damit die Verbesserung der Versorgungssituation der betroffenen Patienten bewirken.Hauptaufgabe der Koordinierungszentrale ist die Beratung zu klinischen Studien (Studienkonzeption, Regularien, Qualitässicherung etc.), sowie die kompetente Unterstützung bei der Einwerbung von Drittmitteln (Finanzplanung, Antragstellung, Verhandlungen) und der Durchführung von Klinischen Studien.

Ergebnisse: Auf Basis der zweijährigen Finanzierung (Jackstaedt-Stiftung, Beteiligung RG und DOG) hat die Koordinierungszentrale im ZKS Köln ihre Arbeit aufgenommen, eine Satzung liegt vor. Strukturen wurden geschaffen, Prozesse konzipiert und in die Abläufe des ZKS Köln integriert. Vielfältige Beratungen zu Projektkonzeptionen wurden bereits erfolgreich durchgeführt.

Schlussfolgerungen: Als Zusammenschluss von methodischer, regulatorischer und klinischer Expertise stehen wir als starke wissenschaftliche Partner in einem aktiven Netzwerk für wissenschaftliche Excellenz und GCP in der klinischen Forschung.