gms | German Medical Science

23rd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

24.09. - 25.09.2010, Freiburg

CMV Retinitis: A review of treatment procedures between 1996 and 2009

Meeting Abstract

Search Medline for

  • Claudia Metz - University Eye Clinic Essen
  • N. Bornfeld - University Eye Clinic Essen

German Retina Society. 23rd Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Freiburg i. Br., 24.-25.09.2010. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2010. Doc10rg25

doi: 10.3205/10rg25, urn:nbn:de:0183-10rg252

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2010/10rg25.shtml

Published: September 21, 2010

© 2010 Metz et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Background: We compared different treatments of CMV-retinitis in immunocompromised, immunocompetent and HIV-infected individuals.

Methods: In a non-randomised, retrospective, interventional, non-comparative case series patients with CMV-retinitis were reviewed. Between 1996 and 2009 a cohort of 7 patients/9 eyes received intravitreal ganciclovir (3 mg/0.1 ml) and 8 patients/10 eyes received a ganciclovir implant.

Results: Follow-up ranged between 3 and 124 months (mean 20.47). An average number of 6.6 injections of ganciclovir (between 2 and 28) were necessary to treat CMV-retinitis. The mean visual acuity dropped by 8 lines from logmar 0.54 to logmar 1.3056 at final visit. In the injection group 4 of 9 eyes showed retinal detachment in the course of the disease and two eyes developed amaurosis.None of 10 eyes of the ganciclovir implant group showed retinal detachment, but 1 of 10 eyes must be treated due to vitreous bleeding, 1 of 10 eyes had to be enucleated and 1 out of 10 eyes were operated due to macular pucker. 2 out of 10 eyes developed amaurosis. In the group of patients treated with ganciclovir implants only 1 patient needed more than one implant. Mean visual acuity dropped by 8 lines from logmar 0.34 to logmar 1.1 at final visit.

Conclusion: No treatment was more favourable than the other. Just in two cases, one in the implant and one in the injection group, visual acuity improved. The main complication in this disease is retinal detachment. We advise prompt diagnosis and treatment of the disease with frequent controls even after inflammation stopped.

gms | German Medical Science

23. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

24.09. - 25.09.2010, Freiburg

CMV Retinitis: Eine Zusammenfassung der unterschiedlichen Behandlungsmethoden zwischen 1996 und 2009

Kongressabstract

Suche in Medline nach

  • Claudia Metz - Universitäts-Augenklinik Essen
  • N. Bornfeld - Universitäts-Augenklinik Essen

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 23. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Freiburg i. Br., 24.-25.09.2010. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2010. Doc10rg25

DOI: 10.3205/10rg25, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-10rg252

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2010/10rg25.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 21. September 2010

© 2010 Metz et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Die verschiedenen Behandlungsarten der CMV- Retinitis bei immunkompetenten und immungeschwächten, sowie HIV-infizierten Patienten wurden miteinander verglichen.

Methoden: In einer nicht randomisierten, retrospektiven, nicht vergleichenden Fallserie wurden Patienten mit CMV Retinitis beurteilt. In dem Zeitraum von 1996 bis 2009 wurde eine Gruppe von 7 Patienten/ 9 Augen mit intravitrealen Ganciclovirinjektionen (0,3 mg/0,1 ml) bzw. 8 Patienten/10 Augen mit einem Ganciclovirimplantat behandelt.

Ergebnisse: Der Beobachtungszeitraum lag zwischen 3 bis 124 Monaten (im Durchschnitt 20,47). Eine durchschnittliche Anzahl von 6,6 Injektionen war notwendig, um eine CMV Retinitisinfektion zu behandeln. Die mittlere Sehschärfe fiel um 8 Zeilen von logmar 0,54 auf 1,3056 bei letzter Vorstellung in der Injektionsgruppe. Als Komplikation trat in 4 von 9 Augen eine Netzhautablösung im Verlauf der Erkrankung auf und zwei der Augen entwickelten eine Amaurose.Keine der Augen in der Implantatgruppe entwickelten eine Netzhautablösung, jedoch wurde jeweils eines der Augen im Laufe der Erkrankung vitrektomiert aufgrund einer Glaskörperblutung oder eines Macula pucker. Zwei der Augen entwickelten eine Amaurose und eines der Augen musste enukleiert werden. Die mittlere Sehschärfe fiel um 8 Zeilen von logmar 0,34 auf 1,1 bei letzter Vorstellung des Patienten. Lediglich eines der Augen bedurfte mehr als ein Implantat.

Schlussfolgerungen: In unserer retrospektiven Fallserie zeigte keine der beiden Behandlungsmethoden bessere Resultate. Nur in jeweils einem der Augen konnte durch die Therapie eine Sehschärfenverbesserung erreicht werden. Hauptkomplikation dieser Erkrankung ist eine Netzhautablösung. Eine zügige Diagnose und Behandlung dieser Erkrankung bzw. ihrer Komplikationen ist essentiell, auch wenn die akute Entzündung bereits abgeklungen ist.