gms | German Medical Science

23rd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

24.09. - 25.09.2010, Freiburg

Comparison of three devices for macular imaging in patients with chronic intermediate uveitis: Stratus OCT, Spectralis OCT and HRT retina modul

Meeting Abstract

  • Friederike Mackensen - Interdisciplinary Uveitis Center, University Eye Clinic Heidelberg
  • E. Jakob - Interdisciplinary Uveitis Center, University Eye Clinic Heidelberg
  • S. Schulz - Heidelberg Engineering GmbH, Heidelberg
  • A. F. Scheuerle - Interdisciplinary Uveitis Center, University Eye Clinic Heidelberg

German Retina Society. 23rd Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Freiburg i. Br., 24.-25.09.2010. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2010. Doc10rg24

doi: 10.3205/10rg24, urn:nbn:de:0183-10rg247

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2010/10rg24.shtml

Published: September 21, 2010

© 2010 Mackensen et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Purpose: Intermediate uveitis is often accompanied by morphologic changes in the central retina. Chronic ME threatens visual acuity and is used as a common indicator to evaluate the efficacy of treatment. Fluorescein angiography has widely been replaced by non-invasive and faster imaging methods. In general imaging techniques should provide fast, precise and reliable information. This study was conducted to investigate which device is the most suitable to detect macular pathologies in clinical practice with respect to inter-observer-variability.

Methods: We chose 17 patients with intermediate uveitis who at a point had suffered or were still suffering from uveitic macular edema and other retinal morphologic changes. They were examined on the same day with all three methods: Stratus OCT (Zeiss), HRT Retina Modul and Spectralis OCT (both Heidelberg Engineering). For further evaluation 5 healthy controls were mixed in. Images were blinded and then evaluated by two independant observers in 5 separate steps, in the first 4 only showing partial results, eg a single horizonatl scan or the 9 zones thickness maps only. In the 5th and last complete data obtained with the three methods of each subject was shown. Kappa Values for inter-observer variability were calculated.

Results: A total number of 44 eyes were examined. The comparison of the five different data sets showed that the images containing only partial information like a single horizontal scan or thickness maps were associated with a higher inter-observer variability. Regarding the correct recognition of healthy volunteers inter-observer agreement was excellent for both types of OCTs in steps 2, 3 and 5 and inter-observer agreement was still good for the HRT Retina Module in step 4. Inter-observer-agreement was generally higher detecting macular edema compared to epiretinal membrane. For both the pathologies the Spectralis OCT proved the best values for inter-observer-agreement.

Conclusion: Looking at detailed pathologies both OCT machines gave better inter-observer agreement, with the highest agreement in the Spectralis. OCT was shown to be superior to HRT, but laser scanning technology is a good screening tool detecting pathologic from normal. Evaluating all scans leads to better detection of abnormalities and inter-observer agreement. Especially thickness maps may be misleading if looked at alone.

gms | German Medical Science

23. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

24.09. - 25.09.2010, Freiburg

Vergleich dreier Methoden zur Bildgebung bei Makulaveränderungen bei Uveitispatienten: Stratus OCT, Spectralis OCT and HRT retina modul

Kongressabstract

  • Friederike Mackensen - Interdisziplinäres Uveitiszentrum, Universitäts-Augenklinik Heidelberg
  • E. Jakob - Interdisziplinäres Uveitiszentrum, Universitäts-Augenklinik Heidelberg
  • S. Schulz - Heidelberg Engineering GmbH, Heidelberg
  • A. F. Scheuerle - Interdisziplinäres Uveitiszentrum, Universitäts-Augenklinik Heidelberg

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 23. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Freiburg i. Br., 24.-25.09.2010. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2010. Doc10rg24

doi: 10.3205/10rg24, urn:nbn:de:0183-10rg247

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2010/10rg24.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 21. September 2010

© 2010 Mackensen et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Im Verlauf der intermediäre Uveitis sind Makulaödem oder epiretinale Gliose häufige visusbedrohende Komplikationen. Daher sind sie wesentliche Indikatoren um ein Therapieansprechen zu überprüfen. Die Fluoreszenzangiographie ist heutzutage weitgehend durch nicht-invasive und schnellere bildgebende Verfahren ersetzt worden. Prinzipiell sollten bildgebende Verfahren schnelle, exakte und verlässliche Information bieten. Daher führten wir diese Studie durch um zu sehen welches der uns zur Verfügung stehenden Verfahren in der klinischen Praxis am besten, d.h. an Hand der Übereinstimmung zwischen zwei unabhängigen Untersuchern, Makulapatholgien aufzeigte.

Methoden: Wir schlossen 17 Patienten mit intermediärer Uveitis ein, die in der Vergangenheit oder auch zum gegenwärtigen Zeitpunkt ein Makulaödem und andere Makulaveränderungen aufgezeigt hatten. Sie wurden am selben Tag mit allen drei Geräten untersucht: Stratus OCT (Zeiss), HRT Retina Modul und Spectralis OCT (beide Heidelberg Engineering). Zusätzlich wurden 5 Normalprobanden untersucht. Die Bilder wurden verblindet und dann von zwei unabhängigen Beobachtern in 5 Schritten beurteilt, zunächst wurden nur Teilergebnisse gezeigt, z.B. ein einzelner horizontaler Scan, im letzten 5. Schritt dann der komplette Datensatz. Wir berechneten Kappa Werte für den Grad der Übereinstimmung der Untersucher.

Ergebnisse: 44 Augen wurden untersucht. Der Vergleich der 5 Untersuchungsschritte zeigte dass es bei Bildern die nur partielle Information zeigten, wie einen horizontalen Einzelschnitt oder die Dickenkarte, zu einer der Untersucher kam. Die korrekte Unterscheidung zwischen normal und erkrankt war gut für beide OCT Geräte in Schritt 2, 3, und 5 der Studie, allerdings schlecht bei den reinen Dickenkarten in Schritt 4. Hier zeigte sich das HRT Retina Modul jedoch gut. Die Untersucherübereinstimmung war besser bezüglich der Diagnose Makulaödem im Vergleich zu geringeren Übereinstimmung epiretinaler Gliose. In beiden Patholgien zeigten sich beim Spectralis bessere Übereinstimmung bei den Untersuchern.

Schlussfolgerung: In Bezug auf detallierte Pathologieerkennung zeigten sich die beiden OCT Geräte dem HRT überlegen , die höchste Übereinstimmung bei den Untersuchern fand sich im Spectralis. Allerdings zeigte sich das HRT als gutes Verfahren um normal von patholgisch zu unterscheiden. Prinzipiell ist es empfehlenswert alle Schnitte zu evaluieren um nicht wertvolle Informationen zu verpassen. Vor allem die Dickenkarte der OCT Geräte kann zu einer fehlerhaften Einschätzung führen wenn sie losgelöst betrachtet wird.