gms | German Medical Science

23rd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

24.09. - 25.09.2010, Freiburg

New software tool for quantification of atrophy progression in patients with geographic atrophy due to AMD

Meeting Abstract

  • Christian K. Brinkmann - University Eye Clinic Bonn
  • F. Alten - University Eye Clinic Bonn
  • M. Fleckenstein - University Eye Clinic Bonn
  • A. P. Göbel - University Eye Clinic Bonn
  • P. Herrmann - University Eye Clinic Bonn
  • N. Stratmann - University Eye Clinic Bonn
  • S. Schmitz-Valckenberg - University Eye Clinic Bonn
  • F. G. Holz - University Eye Clinic Bonn

German Retina Society. 23rd Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Freiburg i. Br., 24.-25.09.2010. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2010. Doc10rg07

doi: 10.3205/10rg07, urn:nbn:de:0183-10rg071

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2010/10rg07.shtml

Published: September 21, 2010

© 2010 Brinkmann et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Background: A novel semi-automated software enables the monitoring of the increment of geographic atrophy (GA) due to age-related macular degeneration (AMD) by fundus-autofluorescence (FAF) imaging. This study investigates interobserver variability and reliability of longitudinal examinations of the software that was developed according to FDA-criteria for interventional multicenter trials.

Methods: FAF images were obtained from 366 eyes (230 patients) following a standardised protocol using Spectralis/Heidelberg Retina Angiograph (Heidelberg Engineering) and read by the GRADE Reading Center. The GA area was measured by two independent groups of readers with the new software (RegionFinder, Heidelberg Engineering). Grading results were then compared. Further evaluation of longitudinal GA-Quantification was performed.

Results: The RegionFinder allows for export of FAF-images from the data bank, semi-automated detection of atrophic areas by marking of seeding points, shadow correction and vessel detection. Measurements are directly exported and graphically displayed in a grading report. Mean size of atrophy was 7.92 mm2 ± 5.12 (Range 0.08–25.13). Mean difference between observers (interobserver variability was –0,09 mm2 (95% KI [–0.15 bis –0.03]). Longitudinal changes could readily be observed after six months. Measurement deviations result from confluent atrophy around the optic nerve head, discrimination between drusen and GA-satellites, or between absorption form macular pigment and foveal atropy.

Conclusions: The RegionFinder offers an accurate, reproducible and time-efficient quantification of atrophy and progression rates. Major components of the software are automated according to FADA-regulations. The RegionFinder facilitates therapy monitoring in interventional trials as well as determination and documentation of atrophy increment in clinical settings.

gms | German Medical Science

23. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

24.09. - 25.09.2010, Freiburg

Ein neues Softwaretool zur Quantifikation der Atrophieprogression bei geographischer Atrophie infolge AMD

Kongressabstract

  • Christian K. Brinkmann - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • F. Alten - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • M. Fleckenstein - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • A. P. Göbel - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • P. Herrmann - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • N. Stratmann - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • S. Schmitz-Valckenberg - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • F. G. Holz - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 23. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Freiburg i. Br., 24.-25.09.2010. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2010. Doc10rg07

DOI: 10.3205/10rg07, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-10rg071

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2010/10rg07.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 21. September 2010

© 2010 Brinkmann et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Eine neue semi-automatisierte Software wurde für die Verlaufsbeobachtung des Wachstums von Arealen geographischer Atrophie (GA) bei altersabhängigen Makuladegeneration (AMD) anhand von Fundusautofluoreszenz (FAF)-Aufnahmen entwickelt. Hier wurden die Interobserver-Variablität und die Reliabilität von longitudinalen Untersuchungen untersucht als Grundlage für die Anwendung auch in multizentrischen, interventionellen GA-Studien nach FDA-Kriterien.

Methoden: Nach standardisiertem Protokoll erstellte FAF-Aufnahmen (Spectralis/Heidelberg Retina Angiograph, Heidelberg Engineering) von 366 Augen (230 Patienten) wurden in einem Reading Center (GRADE) ausgewertet. Die Flächengröße der GA wurde von zwei unabhängigen Readergruppen mit der neuen Software (RegionFinder, Heidelberg Engineering) bestimmt. Anschließend wurde die Übereinstimmung beider Gruppen evaluiert. Zusätzlich wurde die Möglichkeit der longitudinalen GA-Quantifzierung untersucht.

Ergebnisse: Der RegionFinder ermöglicht Exportieren der FAF-Aufnahmen aus der Datenbank, semi-automatische Erkennung von Atropieflächen nach Bestimmung von Saatpunkten, Schattenkorrektur und Gefäßerkennung. Messwerte werden automatisch exportiert und ein Grading-Report erstellt. Dieser zeigt Progressionen graphisch an. Die durchschnittliche Gesamtatrophiegröße aller Augen betrug 7,92 mm2 ± 5.12 (Range 0,08–25,13). Die mittlere Differenz zwischen den Untersuchern (interobserver Variabiltät) war –0,09 mm2 (95% KI [–0,15 bis –0,03]). Im longitudinalen Verlauf zeigten sich nach sechs Monaten bei den Augen bereits graphisch darstellbare GA-Zunahmen. Messabweichungen beruhen auf konfluierenden, peripapillären Atrophiezonen, auf der Unterscheidung großer Drusen und kleiner GA-Satelliten oder Absorption des makulären Pigments und fovealer Atrophie.

Schlussfolgerungen: Der RegionFinder ermöglicht eine genaue, gut reproduzierbare und zeitsparendeQuantifizierung von Atrophiearealen und deren Progression. FDA-konform werden wesentliche Arbeitsschritte automatisch durchgeführt. Der RegionFinder eignet sich zum Therapiemonitoring im Rahmen von interventionellen Studien, aber auch im Klinik- und Praxisalltag zur Bestimmung und Dokumentation der Atrophiezunahme.