gms | German Medical Science

23rd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

24.09. - 25.09.2010, Freiburg

High-risk Fundus Autofluorescence Phenotype in Aeographic Atrophy – Spectral domain OCT characteristics

Meeting Abstract

  • Monika Fleckenstein - University Eye Clinic Bonn
  • S. Schmitz-Valckenberg - University Eye Clinic Bonn
  • S. Kosanetzky - University Eye Clinic Bonn
  • C. Martens - University Eye Clinic Bonn
  • C. K. Brinkmann - University Eye Clinic Bonn
  • F. G. Holz - University Eye Clinic Bonn

German Retina Society. 23rd Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Freiburg i. Br., 24.-25.09.2010. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2010. Doc10rg06

doi: 10.3205/10rg06, urn:nbn:de:0183-10rg065

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2010/10rg06.shtml

Published: September 21, 2010

© 2010 Fleckenstein et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Background: Patterns of abnormal fundus autofluorescence (FAF) in the perilesional zone of geographic atrophy (GA) in AMD serve as predictors for individual disease progression. The "diffuse-trickling" phenotype thereby shows the highest progression rate (Holz et al. AJO 143:463-72, 2007). In this study, morphological alterations of thei high-risk phenotype are analysed by spectral domain (SD)-OCT.

Methods: Thirty-six eyes of twenty patients (mean age 64.6±9.3 years) with the “diffuse-trickling” phenotype were examined by simultaneous SD-OCT and confocal scanninglaser ophthalmoscopy (Spectralis, Heidelberg Engineering). Progression rate of atrophy lesions was measure by semi-automated image processing. Morphological alterations in the perilesional zone, at the GA border, and eithin the atrophic lesion were quantitatively analysed.

Results: Eye with the “diffuse-trickling” phenotype, exhibited a ‘splitting’ of SD-OCT band 4 (retinal pigment epithelium [RPE]/Bruchs membrane [BM]), that was most obvious directly at the border but also in distance to the atrophic lesion. Within the atrophy, in extension of the inner part of band 4, there was a fine discontinues band, that faded with the distance to the border and with time, respectively. A splitting of band 4 was detected in a minority of eyes with other GA phenotypes, but, when seen this was less widespread and less pronounced.

Discussion: The characteristic finding in the “diffuse-trickling” phenotype – the splitting of OCT band 4 – may be due to excessive, widespread accumulation of sub-pigmentepithelial material. Possible morphological correlate are “basal laminar deposits” (BLamD) which could previously not be visualized in vivo. Their vertical extent may correlate with the degree of RPE- and photoreceptor degeneration and they may persist within the atrophic lesion. Excessive BLamD accumulation may induce aggressive GA progression with time and may therefore explain phenotypic characteristics of the “diffuse-trickling” phenotype.

gms | German Medical Science

23. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

24.09. - 25.09.2010, Freiburg

Hochrisiko-Autofluoreszenz-Phänotyp bei geographischer Atrophie – Spectral domain OCT Charakteristika

Kongressabstract

  • Monika Fleckenstein - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • S. Schmitz-Valckenberg - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • S. Kosanetzky - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • C. Martens - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • C. K. Brinkmann - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • F. G. Holz - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 23. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Freiburg i. Br., 24.-25.09.2010. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2010. Doc10rg06

doi: 10.3205/10rg06, urn:nbn:de:0183-10rg065

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2010/10rg06.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 21. September 2010

© 2010 Fleckenstein et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Muster abnormaler Fundusautofluoreszenz (FAF) in der periläsionalen Zone der geographischen Atrophie (GA) bei AMD dienen als Prädiktoren für die individuelle Krankheitsprogression. Der sog. „diffus-trickling“-Phänotyp geht mit der höchsten Wachstumsrate einher (median 3.02 mm²/Jahr), die signifikant über der der übrigen diffusen Phänotypen liegt (1.67 mm²/Jahr, p=0,001) (Holz et al. AJO 143:463-72, 2007). Hier wurden die morphologischen Merkmale dieses Hochrisikophänotyps mittels Spectral-Domain (SD)-OCT bestimmt.

Methoden: 36 Augen von 20 Patienten (Alter 64,6±9,3 Jahre) mit „diffus-trickling“-Phänotyp wurden mittels simultaner konfokaler Scanninglaser Ophthalmoskopie und SD-OCT untersucht (Spectralis HRA+OCT, Heidelberg Engineering). Ausdehnungsgeschwindigkeit der atrophischen Areale wurde mittel semi-automatischer Bildanalyse-Software ermittelt. Morphologische Veränderungen in der periläsionalen Zone, am GA-Rand und innerhalb der Atrophie wurden qualitativ analysiert.

Ergebnisse: Augen mit dem „diffus-trickling“ Phänotyp zeigten am hinteren Augenpol eine sichtbare Aufspaltung der OCT-Bande 4 (Pigmentepithel [RPE]/Bruch’sche Membran [BM]), die sich deutlich am GA-Rand und bereits in gewisser Distanz zur eigentlichen Atrophie manifestierte. Innerhalb der Atrophie zeigte sich in Verlängerung des inneren Anteils der Bande 4 eine zarte diskontinuierliche Bande, die sich mit zunehmendem Abstand zum GA-Rand bzw. mit der Zeit verjüngte. Eine Aufspaltung der Bande 4 konnte vereinzelt in Augen mit anderen GA-Phänotypen beobachtet werden, war dann jedoch deutlich geringer ausgeprägt oder nur begrenzt auf einzelne Randabschnitte.

Diskussion: Die für den „diffus-trickling“-Phänotyp charakteristische Aufspaltung der OCT Bande 4 wird offensichtlich durch exzessive, flächige sub-pigmentepitheliale Ablagerungen hervorgerufen. Morphologisches Korrelat sind am ehesten sog. "basal lamiar deposits" (BLamD), die bislang in vivo noch nicht fassbar waren. Deren vertikale Ausdehnung kann mit dem Grad der RPE- und Photorezeptor-Degeneration korrelieren und sie können innerhalb der atrophischen Areale persistieren. Die exzessive Ablagerung von BLamD könnte ein aggressiveres GA-Wachstum mit der Zeit begünstigen und damit phänotypische Merkmale des „diffus-trickling“-Phänotyps erklären.