gms | German Medical Science

23rd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

24.09. - 25.09.2010, Freiburg

Small dense particles within the neurosensory retinal layers observable by Spectral Domain Optical Coherence Tomography in Age-related macular Degeneration

Meeting Abstract

  • Carsten Framme - University Eye Clinic Inselspital Bern
  • S. Wolf - University Eye Clinic Inselspital Bern
  • U. Wolf-Schnurrbusch - University Eye Clinic Inselspital Bern

German Retina Society. 23rd Annual Conference of the German Retina Society. Freiburg i. Br., 24.-25.09.2010. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2010. Doc10rg03

DOI: 10.3205/10rg03, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-10rg037

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2010/10rg03.shtml

Published: September 21, 2010

© 2010 Framme et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Purpose: To observe detailed changes of neurosensory retinal structure after Anti-VEGF upload in age-related macular degeneration (AMD) using spectral domain optical coherence tomography (SD-OCT).

Material and methods: The retinal structure was observed in 61 patients using the Spectralis-OCT (Heidelberg engineering, Germany) before and one months after third Ranibizumab injection (upload phase). The main focus of attention was subjectively laid on the amount and behaviour of the numerous small dense particles (SDP) frequently observable within the outer and inner neurosensory layers in eyes suffering from neovascular AMD. For statistical analysis the Spearmans Rho correlations were used (SPSS for Windows 16.0).

Results: In all eyes SDPs of various amounts were seen within the neurosensory layer of the foveal and parafoveal area. In 54% the amount of SDP became significantly less after therapy (stable 41%, more 5%). The SDP reduction was positively correlated with the reduction of retinal pathology in the OCT (p=0.000), with central foveal thickness (p=0.040) and with the increase of best corrected visual acuity (BCVA; p=0.006). The baseline amount of SDPs was also positively correlated with the increase of BCVA (p=0.005).

Conclusion: The origin of SDP observable in SD-OCT is unknown but might represent migrating RPE cells or leucocytes indicating a certain status of retinal inflammation. SDP amount is predominantly reduced after Ranibizumab upload therapy and positively correlated to BCVA. Moreover, an initial larger number of SDPs might indicate a higher grade of inflammation but better results of Ranibizumab therapy were achieved. Thus, the amount of SDPs before treatment might be a predictive factor for therapy outcome.

gms | German Medical Science

23. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

24.09. - 25.09.2010, Freiburg

Spectral-domain OCT sichtbare “Small dense particles – SDPs” bei neovaskulärer AMD

Kongressabstract

Suche in Medline nach

  • Carsten Framme - Universitäts-Augenklinik Inselspital Bern
  • S. Wolf - Universitäts-Augenklinik Inselspital Bern
  • U. Wolf-Schnurrbusch - Universitäts-Augenklinik Inselspital Bern

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 23. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Freiburg i. Br., 24.-25.09.2010. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2010. Doc10rg03

doi: 10.3205/10rg03, urn:nbn:de:0183-10rg037

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2010/10rg03.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 21. September 2010

© 2010 Framme et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Ziel: Evaluation von “Small dense particles – SDPs”, kleiner dichter Partikel im Spectralis-OCT (SD-OCT) bei neovaskulärer AMD und deren Änderung durch Anti-VEGF-Behandlung.

Methoden: Ein SD-OCT (Heidelberg engineering, Heidelberg) wurde in 61 Patienten vor und einen Monat nach 3maliger Injektion von Lucentis (Upload-Phase) durchgeführt. Die Menge und Ausprägung der vorhandenen SDPs in den inneren und äusseren Netzhautschichten wurde zu beiden Zeitpunkten evaluiert. Statistisch wurde dieses mit der Ausprägung subretinaler Flüssigkeit und der Zentralen Fovealen Dicke (CFT) sowie mit dem bestkorrigierten Visus (BCVA) korreliert (SPSS for Windows 16.0).

Ergebnisse: In allen Augen waren SDPs unterschiedlicher Ausprägung in der neurosensorischen Netzhaut foveal und parafoveal erkennbar. In 54% nahm die SDP-Menge nach Behandlung signifikant ab (stabil: 41%, vermehrt: 5%). Diese Abnahme korrelierte mit der Reduktion subretinaler Flüssigkeit (p=0,000), der CFT (p=0,040), und einem BCVA-Anstieg (p=0,006). Die SDP-Menge zu Beginn korrelierte ebenfalls mit einem BCVA-Anstieg (p=0,005).

Schlussfolgerungen: Die Menge von SDPs bei neovaskulärer AMD lässt sich durch Ranibizumab-Behandlung reduzieren. SDPs können migrierende RPE-Zellen oder aber auch Leukozyten repräsentieren, die eine retinale Entzündung anzeigen. Eine initial höhere Menge an SDPs scheint zu besseren Visus-Ergebnissen nach Anti-VEGF-Behandlung führen zu können. Daher könnten SDPs einen prädiktiven Faktor für das Therapie-Outcome darstellen.