gms | German Medical Science

22nd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

26.06. - 27.06.2009, Berlin

Screening for retinal angiomatosis and VHL disease in relatives of ophthalmologic VHL patients

Meeting Abstract

  • Klaus-Martin Kreusel - DRK Clinics of Berlin Westend, Eye Centre
  • L. Krause - Eye Clinic of Dessau
  • L. Graul-Neumann - Charité University Clinic of Berlin, Human Genetics, Campus Virchow Clinic
  • H. P. H. Neumann - University Clinic of Freiburg, Internal Medicine
  • N. E. Bechrakis - University Eye Clinic of Innsbruck
  • M. H. Foerster - Charité University Eye Clinic of Berlin, Campus Benjamin Franklin

German Retina Society. 22nd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society. Berlin, 26.-27.06.2009. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2009. DocRG2009-50

DOI: 10.3205/09rg51, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-09rg510

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2009/09rg51.shtml

Published: June 29, 2009

© 2009 Kreusel et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Background: To characterize the results of a screening for von Hippel-LIndau disease (VHL), retinal angiomatosis (RA) and further VHL lesions in relatives at-risk of ophthalmologic VHL index patients.

Methods: A retrospective analysis of 20 VHL index patients identified by the presence of angiomatosis retinae (AR) and a mutation of the VHL gene. To all available relatives at risk a molecular genetic test for a VHL mutation and funduscopy was offered. In case of a positive test result, repeated screening for AR and further VHL lesions was suggested.

Results: Fifty-one out of 86 first and second degree relatives were screened, and 73% showed a VHL mutation. At first presentation, asymptomatic AR was present in 55%, at the end of the study in 72% of gene carriers. In contrast to the index patients, angiomas were small and could be treatd without functional loss. During the study 4 eyes of index patients developed blindness, whereas in the affected relatives no such event occurred Affected relatives developed further VHL lesions to the same number and extent as index patients.

Conclusions: This study demonstrates the necessity of a screening of relatives at risk of patients with AR and VHL. Moleculargenetic screening allows an early identification of affected relatives. Early and regular screening allows detection of small retinal angiomas and treatment without functional loss.

gms | German Medical Science

22. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

26.06. - 27.06.2009, Berlin

Familienuntersuchungen bei Patienten mit Angiomatosis retinae

Kongressabstract

  • Klaus-Martin Kreusel - DRK Kliniken Berlin Westend, Augenzentrum
  • L. Krause - Städtisches Klinikum Dessau, Augenklinik
  • L. Graul-Neumann - Charité-Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Humangenetik, Campus Virchow-Klinikum
  • H. P. H. Neumann - Universitätsklinikum Freiburg, Innere Medizin
  • N. E. Bechrakis - Universitäts-Augenklinik Innsbruck
  • M. H. Foerster - Charité-Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Augenklinik, Campus Benjamin Franklin

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 22. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Berlin, 26.-27.06.2009. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2009. DocRG2009-50

DOI: 10.3205/09rg51, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-09rg510

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2009/09rg51.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 29. Juni 2009

© 2009 Kreusel et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Charakterisierung der Ergebnisse systematischer Screeninguntersuchungen nach einem von Hippel-Lindau Syndrom (VHL), einer Angiomatosis retinae (AR) und anderer Organläsionen eines VHL bei Verwandten von ophthalmologischen VHL- Indexpatienten.

Methode: Retrospektive Auswertung einer konsekutiven Serie von 20 VHL Indexpatienten die aufgrund einer Angiomatosis retinae identifiziert und behandelt wurden. Allen verfügbaren Risikoverwandten wurde ein molekulargenetischer Test auf das Vorliegen eines VHL angeboten. Bei positivem Testergebnis wurden wiederholte Untersuchungen auf das Vorliegen einer AR sowie weiterer VHL-Läsionen vorgeschlagen.

Ergebnisse: 51 von 86 Verwandten 1. und 2. Grades wurden untersucht. Bei 73% der Untersuchten wurde eine Mutation des VHL-Gens gefunden. Bei Erstuntersuchung fand sich bei 55%, bei Studienende bei 72% der Mutationsträger eine RA. Die bei den Genträgern gefundenen Angiome waren im Gegensatz zu den Indexpatienten immer asymptomatisch und klein, so daß die Behandlung zu keinem Funktionsverlust führte. Während im Verlauf bei 4 weiteren Augen von indexpatienten eine Erblindung eintrat, war dies bei den betroffenen Verwandten nicht der Fall. Betroffene Verwandte wiesen im Verlauf im gleichen Umfang weitere VHL-Läsionen auf wie Indexpatienten.

Schlussfolgerungen: Die Studie belegt die Notwendigkeit der Mituntersuchung von Familienangehörigen von Patienten mit AR bei VHL. Die molekulargenetische Diagnostik ermöglicht eine frühzeitige Identifizierung betroffener Angehöriger. Ein regelmäßiges Screening ermöglicht eine frühzeitige Detektion und funktionserhaltende Behandlung retinaler Angiome als auch anderer VHL-Läsionen.