gms | German Medical Science

22nd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

26.06. - 27.06.2009, Berlin

Light in vitreoretinal surgery

Meeting Abstract

  • Stefan Dithmar - University Eye Clinic of Heidelberg
  • A. E. Höh - University Eye Clinic of Heidelberg
  • R. Amberger - Kirchhoff Institute for Physics, Heidelberg
  • M. Ruppenstein - University Eye Clinic of Heidelberg
  • T. Ach - University Eye Clinic of Heidelberg

German Retina Society. 22nd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society. Berlin, 26.-27.06.2009. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2009. DocRG2009-40

DOI: 10.3205/09rg41, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-09rg412

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2009/09rg41.shtml

Published: June 29, 2009

© 2009 Dithmar et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Background: The new generation of light sources for vitreoretinal surgery allows excellent intraoperative visualization. However, the risk of induced light toxicity is often not exactly known by surgeons. The aim of this study is to summarize relevant factors for photochemical light damage and to examine commercially available light sources and endoilluminators regarding these factors.

Methods: We examined six different light sources (Accurus, Xenotron II, Megatron S3, Bright Star, Photon 1 und Photon 2) and associated light fibers (20ga, 23ga, focused and wide-field endoilluminators). Wavelength spectra and radiant power were measured. Maximal irradiances for different working distances to the retina were determined. Maximally tolerable operating times were calculated.

Results: Wavelenght spectra differ significantly among the examined light sources, even within the blue light zone. Additive filters eliminate short wavelenghts effectively, but can also reduce the intraoperative visualization of retinal details. There are considerable differences in maximal irradiances between light sources (up to factor 30). Calculated maximally tolerable operating times for 5 mm working distance vary from 0,7 minutes to 4 hours.

Conclusion: Commercially available light sources for vitreoretinal surgery offer excellent intraoperative visualization. However, the physical characteristics of the devices differ substantially. In order to avoid retinal light damage the user should have detailed knowledge about the properties of his light source and endoilluminators. Wavelenght spectrum, irradiance, type of endoilluminator, working distance and operating time are important factors for the risc of light toxicity.

gms | German Medical Science

22. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

26.06. - 27.06.2009, Berlin

Licht in der vitreoretinalen Chirurgie

Kongressabstract

  • Stefan Dithmar - Universitäts-Augenklinik Heidelberg
  • A. E. Höh - Universitäts-Augenklinik Heidelberg
  • R. Amberger - Kirchhoff-Institut für Physik, Heidelberg
  • M. Ruppenstein - Universitäts-Augenklinik Heidelberg
  • T. Ach - Universitäts-Augenklinik Heidelberg

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 22. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Berlin, 26.-27.06.2009. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2009. DocRG2009-40

doi: 10.3205/09rg41, urn:nbn:de:0183-09rg412

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2009/09rg41.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 29. Juni 2009

© 2009 Dithmar et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Zielsetzung: Die neue Generation von Beleuchtungsgeräten für die vitreoretinale Chirurgie ermöglicht durch leistungsstarke Lichtquellen und Kombination verschiedener Lichtsonden sehr gute intraoperative Sichtverhältnisse. Das Risiko für induzierte Lichtschäden ist dem Anwender jedoch meist nicht genau bekannt. Ziel dieses Beitrages ist es, die für Lichttoxizität relevanten Parameter aufzuzeigen und handelsübliche vitreoretinale Lichtsysteme diesbezüglich zu untersuchen.

Methode: Bei sechs Beleuchtungsgeräten (Accurus, Xenotron II, Megatron S3, Bright Star, Photon 1 und Photon 2) mit den dazugehörigen verschiedenen Lichtsonden (20ga, 23ga, Eng- und Weitwinkelsonden) wurden Wellenlängenspektren und Strahlungsleistungen gemessen. Maximale Bestrahlungsstärken wurden für verschiedene Arbeitsabstände zur Netzhaut ermittelt. Die maximal tolerablen Operationszeiten wurden kalkuliert.

Ergebnis: Die Wellenlängenspektren der Lichtquellen unterscheiden sich z.T. erheblich voneinander, auch in dem für die Lichttoxizität relevanten Blaulichtbereich. Zuschaltbare Filter eliminieren effektiv kurzwellige Lichtanteile, können aber die intraoperative Visualisierung von Netzhautdetails erschweren. Bei der maximalen Bestrahlungsstärke bestehen große Unterschiede zwischen den Geräten, die Werte differieren um den Faktor 30. Die errechneten maximal tolerablen Operationszeiten für einen Arbeitsabstand von 5 mm schwankten bei den untersuchten Geräten von 0,7 min bis zu 4 Stunden.

Schlussfolgerung: Mit kommerziell verfügbaren Lichtsystemen ist eine sehr gute intraoperative Ausleuchtung möglich ist. Die Beleuchtungsgeräte unterscheiden sich z.T. aber erheblich in ihren physikalischen Parametern. Um Lichtschäden zu vermeiden, muss der Anwender über die Eigenschaften seines Gerätes genau informiert sein. Wellenlängenspektren, Bestrahlungsstärke, Wahl der Lichtsonde, intraoperativer Arbeitsabstand und Operationsdauer sind wichtige Aspekte für die Lichttoxizität.