gms | German Medical Science

22nd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

26.06. - 27.06.2009, Berlin

PuriProtect® – a new neuroprotective irrigation solution for vitrectomy?

Meeting Abstract

  • Maximilian Schultheiss - University Eye Clinic of Tuebingen
  • H. Ruschenburg - University Eye Clinic of Tuebingen
  • M. S. Spitzer - University Eye Clinic of Tuebingen
  • K. Januschowski - University Eye Clinic of Tuebingen
  • M. Warga - University Eye Clinic of Tuebingen
  • K. U. Bartz-Schmidt - University Eye Clinic of Tuebingen
  • P. Szurman - University Eye Clinic of Tuebingen

German Retina Society. 22nd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society. Berlin, 26.-27.06.2009. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2009. DocRG2009-36

doi: 10.3205/09rg37, urn:nbn:de:0183-09rg378

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2009/09rg37.shtml

Published: June 29, 2009

© 2009 Schultheiss et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Objective: Retinal damage can be induced iatrogenically during vitreoretinal surgery. Risk factors are light-toxicity by endoillumination, chemical-toxicity by the irrigation-solution and mechanical damage by intraoperative alterations of the retina. PuriProtect® is a new irrigation solution, which will be introduced to the market this year. Its composition is basically the same like Balanced Salt Solution (BSS®, Alcon) except that of 3mM taurine is added. Up to now no investigations have been performed whether PuriProtect® in comparison to BSS® is neuroprotective or not.

Methods: We investigated the effect of BSS® and PruriProtect® on the function and survival of retinal ganglion cells (RGC-5) in cell-culture (incubation for 2h with the irrigation solutions) and in whole-mount-preparations of bovine eyes (incubation for 3h with the irrigation solutions). For additional stress induction 12mM (cell-culture) or 250µM glutamate (whole-mount) was added during the incubation. To evaluate mitochondrial function and survival of RGCs MTT-test and Live/Dead staining was used.

Results: Without the addition of glutamate there was no difference in mitochondrial activity of RGC-5 cells when irrigated with BSS® or PuriProtect®. However, after induction of additional stress with 12mM glutamate a highly significant difference in mitochondrial activity was observed. In the whole-mount-preparations Puriprotect® showed a significant protective effect without and with the addition of 250µM glutamate.

Conclusions: PuriProtect® irrigation solution has neuroprotective properties, especially in blocking glutamate induced excitotoxicity. Elevated glutamate-level can be encountered during hypoxia, in retinal detachment, during endoillumination or other conditions. Therefore PuriProtect® may prevent iatrogenically induced death of retinal ganglion cells during vitrectomy.

gms | German Medical Science

22. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

26.06. - 27.06.2009, Berlin

PuriProtect® – eine neue neuroprotektive Spüllösung in der vitreoretinalen Chirurgie?

Kongressabstract

  • Maximilian Schultheiss - Universitäts-Augenklinik Tübingen
  • H. Ruschenburg - Universitäts-Augenklinik Tübingen
  • M. S. Spitzer - Universitäts-Augenklinik Tübingen
  • K. Januschowski - Universitäts-Augenklinik Tübingen
  • M. Warga - Universitäts-Augenklinik Tübingen
  • K. U. Bartz-Schmidt - Universitäts-Augenklinik Tübingen
  • P. Szurman - Universitäts-Augenklinik Tübingen

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 22. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Berlin, 26.-27.06.2009. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2009. DocRG2009-36

doi: 10.3205/09rg37, urn:nbn:de:0183-09rg378

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2009/09rg37.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 29. Juni 2009

© 2009 Schultheiss et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Während der vitreoretinalen Chirurgie kann es zu einer iatrogenen Schädigung der Netzhaut kommen. Risikofaktoren hierfür sind u.a. die hohe Lichtintensität der Endoilluminatoren, der große Flüssigkeitsdurchsatz durch das Auge und die mechanische Alteration der Netzhaut bei der Operation. PuriProtect®, eine neue Spüllösung für die vitreoretinale Chirurgie wird dieses Jahr kommerziell erhältlich sein. Die Grundzusammensetzung entspricht der von Balanced Salt Solution (BSS®, Alcon) mit dem Zusatz von 3mM Taurin. Ob PuriProtect® im Vergleich zu herkömmlichen Spüllösungen wie BSS® neuroprotektiv ist, wurde bisher aber noch nicht untersucht.

Methode: Sowohl in Zellkulturversuchen mit retinalen Ganglienzellen (RGC-5) (2-stündige Inkubation mit den Spüllösungen), als auch in Whole-Mount-Präparationen aus Rinderaugen (3-stündige Inkubation mit den Spüllösungen) wurde die Wirkung von BSS® und PuriProtect® auf das Überleben und die Funktion der retinale Ganglienzellen getestet. Zudem wurden Versuche unter Glutamatstress von 12mM (Zellkultur) bzw. 250µM (Whole-Mount) durchgeführt. Die Evaluation erfolgte mittels MTT-Test bzw. Live/Dead-Färbung®.

Ergebnisse: In den Zellkulturversuchen konnte ohne zusätzlichen Glutamatstress kein Unterschied in der mitochondrialen Aktivität mit dem MTT-Reagenz festgestellt werden. Unter Glutamatstress zeigte sich aber eine hochsignifikant bessere mitochondriale Aktivität unter PuriProtect®. Bei den Whole-Mounts-Versuchen konnte eine hochsignifikant protektive Wirkung von PuriProtect® bei der alleinigen Inkubation der Whole-Mounts als auch unter Glutamatstress in den entsprechenden Spüllösungen festgestellt werden.

Schlussfolgerungen: PuriProtect® hat neuroprotektive Eigenschaften, insbesondere bei einem gesteigertem Glutamatstress, welcher in vielen pathologischen Situationen an der Netzhaut wie bei Hypoxie, Netzhautablösung oder auch bei Endoillumination besteht. Daher könnte PuriProtect insbesondere bei vorgeschädigter Netzhaut oder langen Operationen einen zusätzlichen Schutz für die Retina bieten.