gms | German Medical Science

22nd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

26.06. - 27.06.2009, Berlin

Incontinentia pigmenti: 11 patients with ocular involvement

Meeting Abstract

  • Miriam Doblhofer - Charité University Eye Clinic of Berlin, Campus Benjamin Franklin
  • G. Willerding - Charité University Eye Clinic of Berlin, Campus Benjamin Franklin
  • D. Ottenberg - Charité University Eye Clinic of Berlin, Campus Benjamin Franklin
  • N. E. Bechrakis - University Eye Clinic of Innsbruck
  • C. Jandeck - Artemis Laser Clinic, Frankfurt / Main
  • M.H. Foerster - Charité University Eye Clinic of Berlin, Campus Benjamin Franklin

German Retina Society. 22nd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society. Berlin, 26.-27.06.2009. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2009. DocRG2009-35

doi: 10.3205/09rg36, urn:nbn:de:0183-09rg366

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2009/09rg36.shtml

Published: June 29, 2009

© 2009 Doblhofer et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Background: Incontinentia pigmenti (IP or Bloch-Sulzberger-Syndrom) is a rare x linked dominant multisystem disorder involving the eye. Dermatological findings are most often the first observed, a skin biopsy can lead to the diagnosis and molecular genetic examination is possible. Up to 77% of the patients show ocular involvement with retinal vascular occlusions and pigment epithelial changes with risk of visual loss.

Method: We report on 11 female patients, who presented to our clinic between 1996 and 2009. In 7 eyes (4 patients) treatment was necessary: 4 obtained lasercoagulation, 3 a vitrectomy and one a lensectomy. In 7 patients Bloch-Sulzberger-Syndrom was diagnosed but no ocular treatment was necessary.

Result: Three patients developed retinal detachment, 2 of them after Vitrectomy. Eyes which obtained laser coagulation were stable afterwards without any further complications. In 4 patients strabismus was present, visual testing was only possible in one patient during follow up, due to short follow up periods or mental retardation. 5 patients had a positive family history for IP.

Conclusion: Incontinentia pigmenti is most often diagnosed by dermatologist or neurologist due to the bullous and desquamating skin lesions or cerebral strokes. Ocular complications can be severe. Differential diagnoses should include ROP, Norrie’s disease and familiar exsudative vitreoretinopathy.

gms | German Medical Science

22. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

26.06. - 27.06.2009, Berlin

11 Patientinnen mit Augenbeteiligung bei Incontinentia pigmenti

Kongressabstract

  • Miriam Doblhofer - Charité-Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Augenklinik, Campus Benjamin Franklin
  • G. Willerding - Charité-Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Augenklinik, Campus Benjamin Franklin
  • D. Ottenberg - Charité-Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Augenklinik, Campus Benjamin Franklin
  • N. E. Bechrakis - Universitäts-Augenklinik Innsbruck
  • C. Jandeck - Artemis Laserklinik, Frankfurt / Main
  • M.H. Foerster - Charité-Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Augenklinik, Campus Benjamin Franklin

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 22. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Berlin, 26.-27.06.2009. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2009. DocRG2009-35

DOI: 10.3205/09rg36, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-09rg366

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2009/09rg36.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 29. Juni 2009

© 2009 Doblhofer et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Incontinentia pigmenti (Bloch-Sulzberger-Syndrom) ist eine seltene X-chromosomal dominante Multiorganerkrankung mit häufiger okulärer Beteiligung. Hautveränderungen fallen meist zuerst auf, eine Biopsie kann diagnostisch wegweisend sein, eine molekulargenetische Analyse ist möglich. Bis zu 77% der Patienten weisen eine Augenbeteiligung mit retinalen Gefäßverschlüssen und Pigmentveränderungen auf, die unbehandelt zur Erblindung führen kann.

Methoden: Wir berichten über 11 Patientinnen, die zwischen 1996 und 2009 in unserer Klinik untersucht wurden, bei 7 Augen (4 Patientinnen) erfolgte eine Behandlung: 4 Augen mittels Laserkoagulation, 3 Augen mittels Vitrektomie, sowie eine Lentektomie. Bei 7 Patientinnen war ein Bloch-Sulzberger Syndrom bekannt, jedoch ohne behandlungsbedürftige okuläre Komplikationen.

Ergebnis: Drei Patientinnen entwickelten eine einseitige Ablatio non sanata, 2 davon nach Vitrektomie. Die laserkoagulierten Augen waren stabil und wiesen keine weiteren Komplikationen auf. Vier Patientinnen wiesen einen Strabismus auf, eine Visusprüfung war im Verlauf nur bei 1 Patientin möglich, auf Grund entweder eines kurzen Follow-up oder geistiger Behinderung. Eine positive familiäre Anamnese bestand bei 5 Patientinnen. Bei 6 Patientinnen war eine Neumutation vorhanden.

Schlussfolgerung: Die Incontinentia Pigmenti wird auf Grund der Erstsymptome (auffällige Hauteffloreszenzen oder cerebrale Mikroinfarkte) meist durch die Dermatologen oder Neurologen diagnostiziert, seltener durch den Augenarzt. Die ophthalmologischen Komplikationen sind jedoch potentiell gravierend. Differentialdiagnostisch muss an die Frühgeborenenretinopathie, Norrie Erkrankung und die familiäre exsudative Vitreoretinopathie gedacht werden.