gms | German Medical Science

22nd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

26.06. - 27.06.2009, Berlin

ROP-Screening Results Cologne 2001–2008

Meeting Abstract

  • Philipp S. Muether - University Eye Clinic of Cologne
  • J. Schumacher - University Eye Clinic of Cologne
  • B. Kirchhof - University Eye Clinic of Cologne
  • S. Fauser - University Eye Clinic of Cologne

German Retina Society. 22nd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society. Berlin, 26.-27.06.2009. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2009. DocRG2009-34

doi: 10.3205/09rg35, urn:nbn:de:0183-09rg356

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2009/09rg35.shtml

Published: June 29, 2009

© 2009 Muether et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Purpose: This study aims to evaluate results of retinopathy of prematurity (ROP) screening at the University Hospital of Cologne from 2001 to 2008.

Methods: Screening was performed according to german guidelines: prematures born at gestational age (GA) less than 32 weeks or birth weight (BW) less than 1500 grams required screening. Extended guideline included prematures with GA 32–36 weeks and more than three days of oxygen treatment. Laser coagulation (LC) treatment was performed upon threshold criteria. Data was analyzed for incidence and stage of ROP and necessity of treatment.

Results: 657 patients required screening between 07/2001 and 12/2008. 584 (88.9%) of infants were diagnosed with either no ROP, stage I or II. Retrospective analysis did not allow subclassification of stages 0-II. Sub-threshold stage III developed in 25 (3.8%). Average GA was 28.0 (+/-2.7) weeks, average BW was 1045 (+/-371) grams. LC became necessary in 48 (7.3%). 3 patients required re-LC. Average GA and BW of treated patients was 24.7 (+/-1.6) weeks and 621 (+/-205) grams, respectively.

Conclusions: In this cohort, all patients requiring treatment were detected in time with regard to german guidelines, and were treated sufficiently with LC. Relative risk of treatment necessity correlated significantly with lower GA and BW. Treatment was not indicated in any premature GA more than 29 weeks, or BW more than 1300 grams.

gms | German Medical Science

22. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

26.06. - 27.06.2009, Berlin

ROP-Screening Ergebnisse Köln 2001–2008

Kongressabstract

  • Philipp S. Muether - Universitäts-Augenklinik Köln
  • J. Schumacher - Universitäts-Augenklinik Köln
  • B. Kirchhof - Universitäts-Augenklinik Köln
  • S. Fauser - Universitäts-Augenklinik Köln

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 22. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Berlin, 26.-27.06.2009. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2009. DocRG2009-34

DOI: 10.3205/09rg35, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-09rg356

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2009/09rg35.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 29. Juni 2009

© 2009 Muether et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Diese Studie wertet die Ergebnisse des Retinopathia praematurorum (ROP) Screenings an der Universitätsklinik Köln in den Jahren 2001–2008 aus.

Methoden: Das Screening erfolgte anhand der deutschen Leitlinien: Frühgeborene eines Gestationsalters (GA) von weniger als 32 Wochen, oder bei unsicherem GA mit einem Geburtsgewicht (GG) von weniger als 1500 Gramm wurden gescreent. Anhand der erweiterten Leitlinien wurden Frühgeborene mit einem GA von 32–36 Wochen bei Sauerstoff-Bedarf von mehr als 3 Tagen gescreent. Bei Vorliegen der Schwellenkriterien erfolgte die Laserkoagulation (LK). Die Daten wurden im Hinblick auf Inzidenz der ROP-Stadien und Behandlungsbedarf ausgewertet.

Ergebnisse: Zwischen 07/2001 und 12/2008 wurden 657 Patienten gescreent. 584 (88,9%) der Frühgeborenen entwickelten entweder keine ROP, oder Stadium I oder II. Die retrospekive Analyse erlaubte keine Subklassifikation der Stadien 0–II. 25 (3,8%) entwickelten Stadium III ohne Therapiebedarf. Das durchschnittliche GA lag bei 28,0 (+/-2,7) Wochen, das durchschnittliche GG bei 1045 (+/-371) Gramm. LK war bei 48 (7,3%) erforderlich. 3 Patienten mussten rekoaguliert werden. Durchschnittliches GA und GG der therapierten Patienten lag bei 24,7 (+/-1,6) Wochen bzw. 621 (+/-205) Gramm.

Schlussfolgerungen: In dieser Patientengruppe wurden alle behandlungsbedürftigen Patienten durch Umsetzung der deutschen Leitlinien zeitgerecht erfasst. Alle Fälle konnten mit LK beherrscht werden. Das relative Risiko einer Therapie-Notwendigkeit korrelierte signifikant mit niedrigem GA und BB. Kein Kind über 29 Wochen GA bzw. über 1300 Gramm BW musste behandelt werden.