gms | German Medical Science

22nd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

26.06. - 27.06.2009, Berlin

Heavy silicone oil tamponade in patients with persistent macular holes or recurrent epiretinal membrane formation

Meeting Abstract

  • Lars-Olof Hattenbach - Eye Clinic of Ludwigshafen
  • F. Höhn - Eye Clinic of Ludwigshafen
  • G. Shishkova - Eye Clinic of Ludwigshafen
  • A. Mirshahi - Eye Clinic of Ludwigshafen

German Retina Society. 22nd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society. Berlin, 26.-27.06.2009. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2009. DocRG2009-31

DOI: 10.3205/09rg32, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-09rg325

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2009/09rg32.shtml

Published: June 29, 2009

© 2009 Hattenbach et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Background: To date, the surgical repair of eyes with persistent macular holes or recurrent epiretinal membrane formation remains a therapeutic challenge. However, there is increasing evidence that heavy silicone oil may be an effective alternative to conventional gas tamponade in such patients.

Methods: Four patients with persistent full-thickness macular holes and one patient with recurrent epiretinal membrane formation after previous surgical treatment underwent repair including vitrectomy, extended dye-assisted peel of the inner limiting membrane and heavy silicone oil fill (Densiron 68) of the vitreous cavity. Silicone oil was removed 8 to 12 weeks later in a second operative procedure. All patients underwent full ophthalmologic evaluation including fundus photography, fluorescein angiography and high-definition optical coherence tomography (HD-OCT) prior to surgery and after silicone oil removal. Furthermore, we documented intraoperative and postoperative course.

Results: After removal of heavy silicone oil, all eyes exhibited macular hole closure or flattening of the retina, respectively, with visual stabilization or improvement. These findings were confirmed by HD-OCT.

Conclusion: Our findings support the hypothesis that heavy silicone oil has the potential to improve the prognosis for patients who require repeat macular surgery for persistent macular holes or recurrent epiretinal membrane formation.

gms | German Medical Science

22. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

26.06. - 27.06.2009, Berlin

Endotamponade mit schwerem Silikonöl bei persistierendem Makulaforamen oder Rezidiv einer epiretinalen Gliose

Kongressabstract

  • Lars-Olof Hattenbach - Klinikum der Stadt Ludwigshafen, Augenklinik
  • F. Höhn - Klinikum der Stadt Ludwigshafen, Augenklinik
  • G. Shishkova - Klinikum der Stadt Ludwigshafen, Augenklinik
  • A. Mirshahi - Klinikum der Stadt Ludwigshafen, Augenklinik

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 22. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Berlin, 26.-27.06.2009. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2009. DocRG2009-31

doi: 10.3205/09rg32, urn:nbn:de:0183-09rg325

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2009/09rg32.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 29. Juni 2009

© 2009 Hattenbach et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Die operative Behandlung bei persistierendem Makulaforamen oder Rezidiv einer epiretinalen Gliose bleibt eine therapeutische Herausforderung. Jüngere Studien weisen darauf hin, daß schweres Silikonöl in solchen Fällen eine sinnvolle Alternative zur herkömmlichen Gas-Endotamponade darstellen kann.

Methoden: Bei vier Patienten mit persistierendem Makulaforamen und einem Patienten mit Rezidiv einer epiretinalen Gliose nach vorangegangener vitreoretinalchirurgischer Behandlung wurde eine Re-Vitrektomie mit erweitertem Farbstoff-assistiertem Peeling der Membrana limitans interna und Endotamponade mit schwerem Silikonöl (Densiron 68) durchgeführt. Die Entfernung des Silikonöls erfolgte nach 8–12 Wochen. Bei allen Patienten wurde vor dem Eingriff und nach Entfernung des Silikonöls eine vollständige Untersuchung einschließlich Fundusfotografie, Fluoreszenzangiografie und hochauflösender optischer Kohärenztomografie (HD-OCT) vorgenommen. Dokumentiert wurden außerdem intra- und postoperativer Befund und Verlauf.

Ergebnisse: In allen Fällen wurde nach Entfernung des schweren Silikonöls ein Verschluß des Makulaforamens bzw. eine Glättung der Netzhaut beobachtet, bei gleichzeitiger Stabilisierung oder Verbesserung der zentralen Sehschärfe und Reduktion der Metamorphopsien. Diese Beobachtungen wurden durch den mittels HD-OCT erhobenen Befund bestätigt.

Schlussfolgerungen: Unsere Ergebnisse stützen die Hypothese, daß schweres Silikonöl bei Patienten mit persistierendem Makulaforamen oder Rezidiv einer epiretinalen Gliose die Prognose nach chirurgischer Intervention verbessern kann.