gms | German Medical Science

22nd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

26.06. - 27.06.2009, Berlin

Development of the visual acuity after ILM-peeling for epiretinal gliosis with and without staining with indocyanine green

Meeting Abstract

Search Medline for

  • Andreas Schüler - Eye Clinic Universitaetsallee, Bremen
  • S. Bopp - Eye Clinic Universitaetsallee, Bremen
  • K. Lucke - Eye Clinic Universitaetsallee, Bremen

German Retina Society. 22nd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society. Berlin, 26.-27.06.2009. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2009. DocRG2009-27

doi: 10.3205/09rg28, urn:nbn:de:0183-09rg285

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2009/09rg28.shtml

Published: June 29, 2009

© 2009 Schüler et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Indocyanine-green (ICG) assisted peeling of the internal limiting membrane (ILM) is, despite the ongoing debate about the toxicity of this dye, still widely used. This retrospective case control study analyzed the effect of the staining of the ILM with ICG on the postoperative development of the visual acuity in eyes with epiretinal gliosis.

Methods: The visual outcome of surgeries, performed in 2001 without using of a dye were compared with surgeries performed in 2007 with ICG-assisted ILM-peeling. All eyes were treated with a combined phakoemulsification with IOL-implantation and a vitrectomy with membrane- and ILM-peeling.

Results: Preoperative LogMar-visual acuity was in the group without staining (n=75) 0,46±0,21 and in the group with ICG-assisted ILM-peeling (n=78) 0,37±0,23. Six weeks after surgery was the increase of LogMar-visual acuity in the group without ILM-staining –0,1±0,16 compared to –0,035±0,23 in the group treated with ICG-staining (p=0,05). Long term increase of visual acuity was in the group without ILM-staining after a mean follow-up of 13,7 months –0,17±0,23 and in the group with ICG-assisted ILM-peeling after a mean follow-up of 10,2 months –0,10±0,22 (p=0,009).

Summary: Intraoperative staining of the ILM with ICG during vitrectomy for epiretinal gliosis resulted in a slower recovery and a significant lower long-term increase of the postoperative visual acuity. This study showed a clinically measurable effect of ICG on the visual outcome and emphasizes the relevance of the discussion about the toxic effect of the used dyes.

gms | German Medical Science

22. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

26.06. - 27.06.2009, Berlin

Visusverlauf nach ILM-Peeling bei epiretinaler Gliose mit und ohne Anfärbung mit Indocyanin-Grün

Kongressabstract

Suche in Medline nach

  • Andreas Schüler - Augenklinik Universitätsallee, Bremen
  • S. Bopp - Augenklinik Universitätsallee, Bremen
  • K. Lucke - Augenklinik Universitätsallee, Bremen

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 22. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Berlin, 26.-27.06.2009. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2009. DocRG2009-27

doi: 10.3205/09rg28, urn:nbn:de:0183-09rg285

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2009/09rg28.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 29. Juni 2009

© 2009 Schüler et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Indocyaningrün-assistiertes Peeling der ILM wird, trotz der nicht endgültig entschiedenen Toxizitätsdebatte um diesen Farbstoff, klinisch noch häufig verwendet. Diese retrospektive Fall-Kontrollstudie untersucht, ob die intraoperative Anfärbung der ILM im Rahmen der Vitrektomie bei epiretinaler Gliose einen messbaren Effekt auf die postoperative Visusentwicklung hat.

Methode: Verglichen wurden Visusverläufe nach Vitrektomien im Jahre 2001, die ohne Verwendung von Farbstoffen erfolgten, mit Vitrektomien im Jahr 2007 bei denen eine Anfärbung der ILM mit Indocyangrün (ICG) erfolgte. Bei allen Augen wurde ein kombinierter Eingriff mit Phakoemulsifikation, Kunstlinseneinpflanzung, Vitrektomie mit Membran- und ILM-Peeling durchgeführt.

Ergebnisse: Der präoperative LogMar-Visus lag in der Gruppe ohne ILM-Anfärbung (n=75) bei 0,46±0,21 und in der Gruppe mit ICG-Anfärbung (n=78) bei 0,37±0,23. Sechs Wochen postoperativ lag in der Gruppe ohne ILM-Anfärbung der LogMar-Visusanstieg bei –0,1±0,16 während mit ICG-Anfärbung der Visusanstieg bei –0,035±0,23 lag (p=0,05). Langfristig war der Log-Mar-Visusanstieg in der Gruppe ohne ILM-Anfärbung nach einem mittleren Follow-up von 13,7 Monate mit –0,17±0,23 signifikant höher (p=0,009) als in der Gruppe mit ICG-Anfärbung die nach einem mittleren Follow-up von 10,2 Monaten um –0,10±0,22 anstieg.

Schlußfolgerung: Die Anfärbung der ILM mit ICG zur Behandlung der epiretinalen Gliose führte postoperativ zu einer langsameren Visuserholung und zu einer letztendlich signifikant geringeren Visusbesserung. Der klinisch eindeutig messbare negative Effekt von ICG auf die Visusentwicklung unterstreicht die Relevanz der diskutierten Toxizität der derzeit verwendeten Farbstoffe.