gms | German Medical Science

22nd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

26.06. - 27.06.2009, Berlin

Flat mounted internal limiting membrane preparation

Meeting Abstract

  • Ricarda G. Schumann - University Eye Clinic of Munich
  • R. Scheler - University Eye Clinic of Munich
  • M. M. Schaumberger - University Eye Clinic of Munich
  • C. Haritoglou - University Eye Clinic of Munich
  • A. Kampik - University Eye Clinic of Munich
  • A. Gandorfer - University Eye Clinic of Munich

German Retina Society. 22nd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society. Berlin, 26.-27.06.2009. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2009. DocRG2009-26

doi: 10.3205/09rg27, urn:nbn:de:0183-09rg274

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2009/09rg27.shtml

Published: June 29, 2009

© 2009 Schumann et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Purpose: In conventional microscopy, internal limiting membrane (ILM) specimens are usually prepared by series cross sectioning. Thus, analyses of cell density and cell distribution are limited. We used a new preparation technique with flat mounted ILM specimens of idiopathic macular holes (IMH) that allowed an evaluation of the whole membrane.

Methods: Fourty surgical specimens of the ILM were obtained from 40 eyes during pars plana vitrectomy for IMH. Specimens were placed into 2% paraformaldehyde and 0.1% glutaraldehyde for fixation and were prepared as wholemounts on glass slides for interference microscopy. The mounting medium 4’,6-diamidino-2-phenylindole (DAPI) was used to stain the cell nuclei.

Results: By flat mounted membrane specimens the total area of removed ILM was shown ranging from 3.2 mm2 to 22.6 mm2 with a mean of 12.0 mm2. Cell proliferation was found in all ILM specimens. The total number of cells ranged from 18 to 6914 with a mean of 1663. Cell distribution patterns varied between homogenous and inhomogenous with cell clusters. Cell density in specimens with homogenous cell distribution was 95 cells/mm2 compared to 365 cells/mm2 in cell clusters.

Conclusion: Preparation of flat mounted ILM specimens shows the whole membrane en face. The new preparation technique is suited for analyses of cell quantification and distribution. We first report on cell proliferation in 100% of all evaluated eyes with IMH. Cell differentiation and definite allocation of cell proliferation to the vitreal side or the retinal side of the ILM is not possible without further investigation.

gms | German Medical Science

22. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

26.06. - 27.06.2009, Berlin

Die Flachpräparation der inneren Grenzmembran

Kongressabstract

  • Ricarda G. Schumann - Universitäts-Augenklinik München
  • R. Scheler - Universitäts-Augenklinik München
  • M. M. Schaumberger - Universitäts-Augenklinik München
  • C. Haritoglou - Universitäts-Augenklinik München
  • A. Kampik - Universitäts-Augenklinik München
  • A. Gandorfer - Universitäts-Augenklinik München

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 22. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Berlin, 26.-27.06.2009. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2009. DocRG2009-26

doi: 10.3205/09rg27, urn:nbn:de:0183-09rg274

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2009/09rg27.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 29. Juni 2009

© 2009 Schumann et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: In der konventionellen Lichtmikroskopie werden Präparate der inneren Grenzmembran (ILM) als Serienschnitte aufbereitet. Damit sind nur begrenzte Aussagen über Zelldichte und Zellverteilung möglich. Anhand von idiopathischen Makulaforamina (IMF) wird die Flachpräparation der ILM als neue Präparationsmethode vorgestellt, die eine Beurteilung der gesamten Membran erlaubt.

Methoden: Dazu wurden vierzig Präparate der ILM chirurgisch von 40 Augen mit IMF durch Standardvitrektomie gewonnen. Die Präparate wurden in 2% Paraformaldehyd und 0,1% Glutaraldehyd fixiert. Die Membranen wurden auf Glasobjektträger aufgezogen und für die Interferenzmikroskopie flach ausgebreitet. Die Kernfärbung erfolgte mit 4’,6-diamidino-2-Phenylindol (DAPI).

Ergebnisse: Die Aufbereitung der ILM als Flachpräparat zeigte eine Aufsicht auf die gesamte entfernte Fläche der ILM. Die mittlere Fläche der entfernten ILM betrug 12,0 mm2 (3,2 mm2 bis 22,6 mm2). Zelluläre Proliferationen wurden in allen Präparaten der ILM gefunden. Die mittlere Zellzahl betrug 1663 Zellen (18 bis 6914 Zellen). In der Zellverteilung wurde zwischen homogen und inhomogen mit Zellhaufen unterschieden. Die Zelldichte betrug in Präparaten mit homogener Zellverteilung 95 Zellen/mm2 und in Präparaten mit Zellhaufen 365 Zellen/mm2. Eine Differenzierung der dargestellten Zellen und eine eindeutige Zuordnung von zellulärer Proliferation zu vitrealer oder retinaler Seite der ILM ist ohne zusätzliche Untersuchung nicht möglich.

Schlussfolgerung: Die Flachpräparation der ILM erlaubt die Darstellung der gesamten Membran in der Aufsicht. Damit konnte erstmals das Vorkommen zellulärer Proliferationen an der ILM in 100% aller IMF gezeigt werden. Das neue Präparationsverfahren eignet sich insbesondere für Untersuchungen zur Zellquantifizierung und Zellverteilung. Weitere Studien müssen die Möglichkeit einer Zelldifferenzierung im ILM Flachpräparat klären.