gms | German Medical Science

22nd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

26.06. - 27.06.2009, Berlin

Nanofibrillar Vs. Smooth: Influence Of Surface Characteristics On Cultured Human RPE Behavior

Meeting Abstract

  • Boris V. Stanzel - University Eye Clinic of Bonn
  • F. Thieltges - University Eye Clinic of Bonn
  • M. Englander - Stanford University, Department of Ophthalmology, USA
  • D. J. Strick - Stanford University, Department of Genetics, USA
  • S. Binder - Ludwig Boltzmann Institute for Retinology and Biomicroscopic Lasersurgery, Vienna
  • F. G. Holz - University Eye Clinic of Bonn
  • M. F. Marmor - Stanford University, Department of Ophthalmology, USA

German Retina Society. 22nd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society. Berlin, 26.-27.06.2009. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2009. DocRG2009-24

DOI: 10.3205/09rg25, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-09rg250

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2009/09rg25.shtml

Published: June 29, 2009

© 2009 Stanzel et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Purpose: To explore two biocompatible substrates as candidates for Bruch’s membrane prosthetics. Common cell culture substrates are smooth surfaces. Nanofibers mimic native basement membranes. We compared the influence of these surface variants on cultured RPE behavior.

Methods: Human RPE cells from fetuses, a 23, 78 and 90 year old donor were cultured in Hu & Bok medium on either polystyrene (PS), a smooth surface, or electrospun polyamide nanofibers (EPN), a fibrillar surface. Cell cycle synchronized cells were plated at 10E4 cells/cm2 to obtain growth curves and fractions. S-phase lengths were studied using EdU/ Click it®. Floater passage cells seeded at >5x10E4 cells/cm2 were differentiated for 4+ weeks and protein expression studied with immunostaining and blotting.

Results: Cell division on EPN started earlier in all donor ages. Proliferation rates of adult cells during early log phase were increased on EPN, while growth fractions were comparable on both substrates. In fetal cultures, short pulses yielded more EdU positive cells on EPN than on PS. Aged RPE showed uniform hexagonal differentiation with development of fluid transporting capacity on EPN in contrast to PS beyond 4 wks post confluence. All longterm cultures had positive immunofluorescence for Pancytokeratin and ZO-1 on EPN. Preliminary data suggest preferential expression of RPE65 on EPN in aged cultures.

Conclusions: A nanofibrillar surface stimulates a faster S-phase progression. Aged RPE achieve differentiation nearly comparable to young donors. The nanofibrillar surface topology thus appears to rejuvenate adult RPE, making it a promising component for BM prosthetics. Further studies are underway.

gms | German Medical Science

22. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

26.06. - 27.06.2009, Berlin

Faserig vs. glatt: Der Einfluss von Oberflächenbeschaffenheit auf das Verhalten von kultiviertem RPE

Kongressabstract

  • Boris V. Stanzel - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • F. Thieltges - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • M. Englander - Stanford University, Department of Ophthalmology, USA
  • D. J. Strick - Stanford University, Department of Genetics, USA
  • S. Binder - Ludwig-Boltzmann-Institut fuer Retinologie und Biomikroskopische Laserchirurgie, Wien
  • F. G. Holz - Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
  • M. F. Marmor - Stanford University, Department of Ophthalmology, USA

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 22. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Berlin, 26.-27.06.2009. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2009. DocRG2009-24

DOI: 10.3205/09rg25, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-09rg250

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2009/09rg25.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 29. Juni 2009

© 2009 Stanzel et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Es wurden zwei biokompatible Substrate hinsichtlich Eignung als Bruch’sche Membran (BM) Prothese untersucht. Gewöhnliche Zellkultur Substrate sind glatte Oberflächen. Nanofasern ähneln nativen Basal Membranen. Wir verglichen den Einfluss diese Oberflächenvarianten auf das Verhalten von kultiviertem RPE.

Methode: Humanes RPE von Föten, eines 23, 78& 90-jährigen Spenders wurden in Hu& Bok Medium auf Polystyren, einer glatten Oberfläche, und auf elektrogesponnenen Nanofasern, einer faserigen Oberfläche, kultiviert. Zell-Zyklus synchronisierte Zellen wurden mit 10E4 Zellen/cm2 ausgesäht um Wachstumskurven und Fraktionen zu erhalten. S-Phase Längen wurden mit EdU/ click it® untersucht. Floater Passage Zellen wurden mit >5x10E4 Zellen/ cm2 für 4+ Wochen differenziert und deren Proteinexpression mit Immunfärbung und Blot analysiert.

Ergebnisse: Zellteilung begann früher auf EPN in allen Spendern. Wachstumsraten waren in adulten Zellen während der frühen Log Phase auf EPN höher, wobei die Wachstumfraktion auf beiden Substraten etwa vergleichbar war. In fetalen Kulturen lieferten kurze EdU Pulse mehr positive Zellen auf EPN. Senile RPE zeigten uniforme hexagonale Differenzierung mit Fluid-Transport auf EPN im Gegensatz zu PS nach 4 Wochen. Alle Langzeitkulturen exprimierten Pancytokeratin und ZO-1 auf EPN. Vorläufige Daten zeigen RPE65 bevorzugt auf EPN.

Schlussfolgerungen: Eine faserige Oberfläche stimuliert eine schnellere S-Phase. Senile RPE erreichen vergleichbare Differenzierung wie juvenile Zellen. Nanofaserige Oberflächen erscheinen somit senile Zellen zu verjüngen, womit diese eine hoffnungsvolle Komponente für BM Prothesen darstellen. Weitere Studien laufen.