gms | German Medical Science

22nd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

26.06. - 27.06.2009, Berlin

PEDF-based, non-viral gene therapy for retinal degeneration

Meeting Abstract

Search Medline for

  • Sandra Johnen - University Eye Clinic of Aachen
  • C. Maltusch - University Eye Clinic of Aachen
  • G. Thumann - University Eye Clinic of Aachen

German Retina Society. 22nd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society. Berlin, 26.-27.06.2009. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2009. DocRG2009-23

doi: 10.3205/09rg24, urn:nbn:de:0183-09rg248

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2009/09rg24.shtml

Published: June 29, 2009

© 2009 Johnen et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Background: Previous studies have shown that transplanted autologous pigment epithelial cells in suspension are well tolerated, but do not result in significant functional improvement and several growth factors prevent or delay photoreceptor degeneration. We postulate that to achieve vision improvement in retinal degenerations, such as AMD, it will be necessary to transplant cells that can continuously deliver appropriate biological modifiers and are existent as a preformed monolayer. As the first step we have genetically modified RPE cells to stably produce and secrete the neurotrophic and anti-angiogenic factor PEDF using non-viral transfection protocols.

Methods: Using nucleofection primary pigment epithelial cells were transfected with plasmids encoding recombinant PEDF. The purified, secreted PEDF fusion proteins were identified by immunoblotting and their biological activity was determined by examining their effect on the up-regulation of ZIP2 mRNA expression using Real-Time PCR.

Results: Primary pigment epithelial cells were successfully transfected with efficiencies greater than 70%. The PEDF fusion proteins were secreted for the four month the cultures were followed as well as after 5 passages. The proteins were biologically active as evidenced by mRNA up-regulation of the zinc transporter protein ZIP2 in cultured ARPE-19 cells.

Conclusions: We have shown that using nucleofection it is possible to insert the PEDF gene in pigment epithelial cells with efficiencies of approximately 80%. At this time the transfected cells have secreted biologically active PEDF for extended four months and after 5 passages, suggesting integration of the transfected gene into the host cell genome.

gms | German Medical Science

22. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

26.06. - 27.06.2009, Berlin

PEDF-basierte, nicht-virale Gentherapie zur Behandlung von Netzhautdegenerationen

Kongressabstract

Suche in Medline nach

  • Sandra Johnen - Universitäts-Augenklinik Aachen
  • C. Maltusch - Universitäts-Augenklinik Aachen
  • G. Thumann - Universitäts-Augenklinik Aachen

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 22. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Berlin, 26.-27.06.2009. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2009. DocRG2009-23

doi: 10.3205/09rg24, urn:nbn:de:0183-09rg248

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2009/09rg24.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 29. Juni 2009

© 2009 Johnen et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: In vorangehenden Studien konnte gezeigt werden, dass die Transplantation von autologen Pigmentepithelzellen technisch möglich ist, jedoch nicht zu einer signifikanten funktionellen Verbesserung führt. Des Weiteren ist bekannt, dass verschiedene Wachstumsfaktoren die Degeneration von Photorezeptorzellen verhindern bzw. verzögern. Aus diesem Grund stellt der Ersatz degenerierter Pigmentepithelzellen sowie die Bereitstellung eines oder mehrerer neurotropher Faktoren, die mittels Transplantation von Monolayern aus genetisch modifizierten Pigmentepithelzellen in den subretinalen Raum eingebracht werden, eine vielversprechende Möglichkeit zur Behandlung der AMD dar. Der Einsatz viraler Vektoren wird durch eine mögliche Virusausbreitung sowie ernsthafte Immunreaktionen erschwert. Wir untersuchten daher die Methode der nicht-viralen Transfektion, um das für PEDF kodierende Gen in Pigmentepithelzellen einzubringen.

Methoden: Primäre Pigmentepithelzellen wurden mit Plasmiden, die rekombinantes humanes PEDF kodieren, transfiziert. Die aufgereinigten PEDF Fusionsproteine wurden durch Immunoblots nachgewiesen und ihre biologische Aktivität mittels Real-Time PCR bestimmt.

Ergebnisse: Primäre Pigmentepithelzellen wurden erfolgreich mit Effizienzen größer als 70% transfiziert. Die PEDF Fusionsproteine, die von den Zellen exprimiert und ins Zellkulturmedium sezerniert werden, konnten über einen Zeitraum von vier Monaten bzw. fünf Passagen nachgewiesen werden und waren biologisch aktiv, was durch die Hochregulation der ZIP2 mRNA Expression in kultivierten ARPE-19 Zellen nachgewiesen wurde.

Schlussfolgerungen: Pigmentepithelzellen können mit hohen Effizienzen nicht-viral mit dem für humanes PEDF kodierenden Gen transfiziert werden. Transfizierte Pigmentepithelzellen sezernieren das biologisch aktive PEDF über mehrere Monate bzw. über 5 Passagen, was auf eine Integration des transfizierten Gens in das Genom schließen lässt.