gms | German Medical Science

22nd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

26.06. - 27.06.2009, Berlin

Nanotechnology in the treatment of choroidal neovascularization secondary to AMD: First in vitro results using laser-activated gold-nanoparticles

Meeting Abstract

  • Nicole Eter - Department of Ophthalmology, University of Bonn
  • I. Hahn - Department of Ophthalmology, University of Bonn
  • F. Levold - Institute of Molecular Medicine, University of Bonn
  • J. Groll - DWI, RWTH Aachen
  • H. Keul - DWI, RWTH Aachen
  • G. Huettmann - Institute for Biomedical Optics, University of Luebeck
  • E. Endl - Institute of Molecular Medicine, University of Bonn

German Retina Society. 22nd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society. Berlin, 26.-27.06.2009. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2009. DocRG2009-21

DOI: 10.3205/09rg22, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-09rg223

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2009/09rg22.shtml

Published: June 29, 2009

© 2009 Eter et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Purpose: To establish a new treatment modality for choroidal neovascularization (CNV) in age-related macular degeneration using laser-activated gold nanoparticles.

Methods: Gold nanorods were synthesized and biofunctionalized for specific targeting of neovascular endothelial cells. Primary retinal endothelial cells and retinal pigment epithelial cells (ARPE-19) were incubated in vitro with gold nanorods and afterwards treated by laser irradiation of a specific wavelength thereby creating extremely focused heat shocks within a closely defined area. Particle uptake was investigated using light and electron microscopy, cell death and apoptosis were studied by Hoechst and cPARP staining. Systemic pattern distribution of gold nanoparticles following intravenous application in a mouse model was studied histologically.

Results: Light microscopy and electron microscopy demonstrated extracellular binding and intracellular uptake of coated nanoparticles. Cell necrosis could be found immediately after laser irradiation. Furthermore, an additive delayed effect could be induced, as seen in apoptosis measurements 24h after irradiation. In both cases, cell damage was limited to nanorod targeted cells. Laser treatment modalities alone showed no effect on viability of either retinal endothelial cells or pigment epithelial cells. Pharmacokinetic studies in vivo demonstrated that funcionalization with PEG was crucial to bypass filter organs and to achieve accumulation of nanoparticles in the target tissue.

gms | German Medical Science

22. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

26.06. - 27.06.2009, Berlin

Nanotechnologie zur Behandlung choroidaler Neovaskularisationen bei AMD: Erste in vitro Ergebnisse mit laseraktivierten Goldnanopartikeln

Kongressabstract

  • Nicole Eter - Universitäts-Augenklinik, Universitätsklinikum Bonn
  • I. Hahn - Universitäts-Augenklinik, Universitätsklinikum Bonn
  • F. Levold - Institut für Molekulare Medizin, Universitätsklinikum Bonn
  • J. Groll - DWI, RWTH Aachen
  • H. Keul - DWI, RWTH Aachen
  • G. Huettmann - Institut für biomedizinische Optik, Universität Lübeck
  • E. Endl - Institut für Molekulare Medizin, Universitätsklinikum Bonn

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 22. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Berlin, 26.-27.06.2009. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2009. DocRG2009-21

DOI: 10.3205/09rg22, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-09rg223

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2009/09rg22.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 29. Juni 2009

© 2009 Eter et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Etablierung einer neuen Behandlungsmöglichkeit der choroidalen Neovaskularisation bei altersabhängiger Makuladegeneration mittels laseraktivierter Goldnanopartikel.

Methoden: Goldnanostäbchen wurden synthetisiert und biofunktionalisiert, um eine spezifische Adressierung der Partikel an neovaskuläre Endothelzellen zur erreichen. Primäre retinale Endothelzellen und retinale Pigmentepithelzellen (ARPE-19) wurden in vitro mit Goldnanostäbchen inkubiert und anschließend durch Laserbestrahlung spezifischer Wellenlänge angeregt, wodurch eine stark fokussierte Hitzeentwicklung innerhalb eines eng definierten Areals erreicht wird. Die Partikelaufnahme wurde mittels Licht- und Elektronenmikroskopie dokumentiert, Zelltod und Apoptose wurden durch Hoechst- und cPARP-Färbung nachgewiesen. Das systemische Verteilungsmuster der Goldnanopartikel nach intravenöser Applikation im Mausmodell wurde histologisch untersucht.

Ergebnisse: Durch Licht- und Elektronenmikroskopie konnte gezeigt werden, dass die beschichteten Nanopartikel gebunden und intrazellulär aufgenommen werden. Unmittelbar nach der Laserbestrahlung wurde eine Nekrose der Zellen festgestellt, zudem konnte ein additiver, zeitlich verzögerter Einfluss auf die Zellen in Form von Apoptose 24 Stunden nach der Bestrahlung nachgewiesen werden. Eine Schädigung der Zellen konnte in beiden Fällen ausschließlich in mit Nanostäbchen markierten Zellen erreicht werden. Laserbestrahlung ohne den Einsatz von Nanopartikeln hatte keinerlei Einfluss auf die Vitalität der retinalen Endothel- und Pigmentepithelzellen. Pharmakokinetische Studien in vivo zeigten, dass eine Funktionalisierung der Nanopartikel mit PEG vonnöten ist, um eine Aufnahme der Partikel durch die Filterorgane zu verhindern sowie eine Akkumulation der Nanopartikel im Zielgewebe zu erreichen.

Schlussfolgerungen: Retinale Endothelzellen können durch biofunktionalisierte Goldnanopartikel markiert werden. Durch eine anschließende Laserbestrahlung, die zu einer Anregung der inkorporierten Nanostäbchen führt, kann der spezifische Zelltod dieser markierten Zellen erreicht werden. Weiterführende Studien im Tiermodell werden derzeit durchgeführt.