gms | German Medical Science

22nd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

26.06. - 27.06.2009, Berlin

Effect of intravitreal bevacizumab on retinal pigment epithelium detachment due to occult choroidal neovascularisation

Meeting Abstract

  • Thomas Ach - University Eye Clinic of Heidelberg
  • M. Ruppenstein - University Eye Clinic of Heidelberg
  • A. E. Höh - University Eye Clinic of Heidelberg
  • R. Amberger - Kirchhoff Institute for Physics, Heidelberg
  • S. Dithmar - University Eye Clinic of Heidelberg

German Retina Society. 22nd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society. Berlin, 26.-27.06.2009. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2009. DocRG2009-19

doi: 10.3205/09rg20, urn:nbn:de:0183-09rg205

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2009/09rg20.shtml

Published: June 29, 2009

© 2009 Ach et al.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Purpose: To determine the effect of intravitreal bevacizumab on pigment epithelium detachment (PED) due to occult choroidal neovascularisation (CNV) in age-related macular degeneration (AMD).

Methods: 71 eyes with PED and additional intra- and/or subretinal fluid (IRF) due to occult CNV received 1.25 mg bevacizumab intravitreally. Baseline and follow-up visits included visual acuity (VA), ophthalmologic and Stratus-OCT examination. Re-injections were performed if IRF persisted, PED increased or VA decreased (>1 line on EDTRS charts). Changes in PED height were measured with computer assisted software.

Results: 71 eyes of 67 patients (75.8±6.4 years) received 3±1.8 injections during 39.4±26.6 weeks follow-up. At last visit, VA was stabilized (0.53±0.28 vs. 0.54±0.45 logMAR; p=0.864) while PED height decreased slightly (303±183 vs. 260±185 µm; p=0.055). In 54% PED height decreased (group 1), while in 46% PED height remained stable or increased (group 2). At baseline, group 1 had a significant worse VA (0.60±0.26 vs. 0.44±0.26 logMAR; p=0.008) and a significant larger PED height (356±180 vs. 241±170 µm; p=0.003). In four eyes (5.6%) PED flattened completely.

Conclusions: Half of the patients benefit of PED flattening during treatment period. In particular distinct PED respond to intravitreal bevacizumab. Intravitreal bevacizumab might stabilize visual acuity in occult CNV and PED, but PED flattening does not correlate with increase of VA automatically.

gms | German Medical Science

22. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

26.06. - 27.06.2009, Berlin

Effekt von intravitrealem Bevacizumab auf die RPE-Abhebung bei okkulter choroidaler Neovaskularisation

Kongressabstract

  • Thomas Ach - Universitäts-Augenklinik Heidelberg
  • M. Ruppenstein - Universitäts-Augenklinik Heidelberg
  • A. E. Höh - Universitäts-Augenklinik Heidelberg
  • R. Amberger - Kirchhoff-Institut für Physik, Heidelberg
  • S. Dithmar - Universitäts-Augenklinik Heidelberg

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 22. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Berlin, 26.-27.06.2009. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2009. DocRG2009-19

DOI: 10.3205/09rg20, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-09rg205

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2009/09rg20.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 29. Juni 2009

© 2009 Ach et al.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Ziel war die Beurteilung des therapeutischen Effekts von intravitreal appliziertem Bevacizumab auf die RPE-Abhebung (PED) bei okkulter choroidaler Neovaskularisation (CNV) im Rahmen der altersbedingten Makuladegeneration (AMD).

Methoden: In 71 Augen mit PED und begleitender intra-/subretinaler Flüssigkeit (IRF) bei occulter CNV wurden 1,25 mg Bevacizumab intravitreal appliziert. Grund- und Folgeuntersuchungen (6–8 Wochen) umfassten Visusbestimmung (EDTRS), ophthalmologische und Stratus-OCT-Untersuchung. Re-injektionen wurden bei persistierender IRF, Zunahme der PED oder Visusverlust (>1 Zeile) durchgeführt. Änderungen der Höhe der PED wurden mit einer computergestützten Software bestimmt.

Ergebnisse: 71 Augen von 67 Patienten (75,8±6,4 Jahre) erhielten 3±1.8 Injektionen innerhalb von 39.4±26.6 Wochen. Bei der letzten Vorstellung war bei stabilem Visus (0.53±0.28 vs. 0.54±0.45 logMAR; p=0.864) die Höhe der PED im Mittel leicht reduziert (303±183 vs. 260±185 µm; p=0,055). 54% wiesen eine Reduktion der Abhebungshöhe auf (Gruppe 1), während in 46% diese gleich blieb oder anstieg (Gruppe 2). Gruppe 1 hatte bei Erstuntersuchung einen signifikant schlechteren Visus (0.60±0.26 vs. 0.44±0.26 logMAR; p=0.008) und eine signifikant höhere PED (356±180 vs. 241±170 µm; p=0.003). In vier Augen (5,6%) flachte die PED komplett ab.

Schlussfolgerung: Bei ca. der Hälfte der Patienten kommt es im Therapieverlauf zu einer PED-Abflachung. Insbesondere ausgeprägte PED sprechen auf die Bevacizumab-Therapie an. Mit intravitrealen Bevacizumab-Injektionen kann der Visus bei okkulter CNV und PED stabilisiert werden, der PED-Rückgang allein ist aber nicht mit einem Visusanstieg korreliert.