gms | German Medical Science

22nd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society

German Retina Society

26.06. - 27.06.2009, Berlin

Importance of Macular Pigment and its Modifications after Supplementation and Nutrition in Patients with Age-Related Maculopathy

Meeting Abstract

Search Medline for

  • Ute E. K. Wolf-Schnurrbusch - University Eye Clinic of Bern

German Retina Society. 22nd Annual Meeting of the German Retina Society. Berlin, 26.-27.06.2009. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2009. DocRG2009-02

doi: 10.3205/09rg02, urn:nbn:de:0183-09rg029

This is the translated version of the article.
The original version can be found at: http://www.egms.de/de/meetings/rg2009/09rg02.shtml

Published: June 29, 2009

© 2009 Wolf-Schnurrbusch.
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en). You are free: to Share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work, provided the original author and source are credited.


Outline

Text

Background: Macular pigment (MP) is believed to have a protective role in the development and progression of age-related maculopathy (ARM). MP consists of the two hydroxycarotenoids, lutein and zeaxanthin, reaching the greatest concentration in the photoreceptor axons of the foveola. The protective properties of MP are due to its antioxidative function and the filtering effect for blue light, which causes photo-oxidative injury to the neurosensory retina. Mammalian are not able to synthesize carotenoids by themselves but have to take them in by nutrition.

Contents: Studies showed a significant association between MP optical density and dietary intake of carotenoids, either by dietary modification or by supplementation. Therefore, supplementation with lutein and zeaxanthin could be a therapeutic option for the treatment of ARM. We need to give good answers regarding this topic to our patients.Recently, various methods for quantitative assessment of MP density have been developed. These methods will be discussed with respect of their applications, possibilities, and limitations. Especially, the measurement of MP density with imaging techniques will be discussed in detail. These techniques allow not only the assessment of macular pigment density in the fovea, but provide data on spatial macular pigment distribution in the macula. Current studies on MP density measurements will be summarized and their clinical relevance discussed. Additional factors like live style age, gender, various ethical phenotypes, ocular and systemic diseases will be explored and discussed.

gms | German Medical Science

22. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Retinologischen Gesellschaft

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Retinologie

26.06. - 27.06.2009, Berlin

Bedeutung des makulären Pigmentes und dessen Beeinflussbarkeit durch Supplementation und ausgewogene Ernährung bei altersabhängigen Netzhauterkrankungen

Kongressabstract

Suche in Medline nach

  • Ute E. K. Wolf-Schnurrbusch - Universitäts-Augenklinik Inselspital Bern

Retinologische Gesellschaft. 22. Jahrestagung der Retinologischen Gesellschaft. Berlin, 26.-27.06.2009. Düsseldorf: German Medical Science GMS Publishing House; 2009. DocRG2009-02

DOI: 10.3205/09rg02, URN: urn:nbn:de:0183-09rg029

Dieses ist die Originalversion des Artikels.
Die übersetzte Version finden Sie unter: http://www.egms.de/en/meetings/rg2009/09rg02.shtml

Veröffentlicht: 29. Juni 2009

© 2009 Wolf-Schnurrbusch.
Dieser Artikel ist ein Open Access-Artikel und steht unter den Creative Commons Lizenzbedingungen (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.de). Er darf vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden, vorausgesetzt dass Autor und Quelle genannt werden.


Gliederung

Text

Hintergrund: Dem makulären Pigment (MP) wird hinsichtlich der Genese und der Progression der altersabhängigen Makulopathie (ARM) eine protektive Rolle zugeschrieben. Hierbei spielen sowohl die antioxidativen Eigenschaften dieser Carotinoide, als auch die Filterwirkung des energiereichen blauen Licht eine Rolle. Da die MP Dichte durch die Aufnahme von Lutein und Zeaxanthin modifizierbar ist, könnten eine ausgewogene Ernährung und die Supplementation mit Lutein und Zeaxanthin ein möglicher therapeutischer Ansatz für eine Prophylaxe der ARM sein.

Inhalt: In den letzten Jahren wurde der Markt von Supplementen verschiedenster Art zur Prophylaxe der ARM (und auch des trockenen Auges) “überflutet” und von Augenärzten wird auch hierzu eine kompetente Auskunft erwartet. Die Bedeutung des MP in Bezug auf ARM Prophylaxe bleibt allerdings auch weiterhin unklar. Das Referat soll helfen Betroffenen alltagsrelevante Hinweise und Empfehlungen für das Gespräch mit Patienten zu geben.Wir wissen bislang nur, dass sich die Dichte der MP mit verschiedene Methoden unkompliziert gemessen werden kann. Mit vielen Methoden lässt sich nicht nur die Pigmentdichte in der Makula bestimmen, sondern auch die räumliche Verteilung des MP darstellen. Studien zu Dichtemessungen des makulären Pigmentes und zur räumlichen Verteilung werden hinsichtlich ihrer Relevanz kritisch diskutiert. Ebenso werden weiter modifizierende Faktoren, wie Omegafettsäuren, Lebensgewohnheiten, Alter, Geschlecht, ethnische Unterschiede, okuläre und systemische Erkrankungen erläutert und diskutiert.